We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small gem near the car ferry” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fat Seagull

Fat Seagull
Ranked #29 of 105 Restaurants in Manitowoc
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“small gem near the car ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

guided to the Fat Seagull while checking in for the car ferry to cross Lake Michigan, I was not disappointed. A small but clean bar/restaurant at 807 Quay St. the waitress recommended the perch sandwich. I grew up on Lake Erie and have had a lot of great perch..this was my favorite sandwich yet. The perch was fresh, lightly seasoned . The roll was amazingly fresh and soft which really enhanced the small lunch.
I felt like I found a real treat. Just my hope so I wouldn't need to buy the fast food on the ferry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColleenZview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Little Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Located just off the main drag in downtown, the Fat Seagull is part restaurant, part bar. There are few tables set up towards the front of the restaurant, and the bar area (much larger) is towards the back. There is also a small outdoor seating off to the side. We stopped in for a drink around 4:30 pm, and there were a few patrons hanging out. There are daily drink specials, a beer of the month special, and plenty of beer on tap here. The usual Wisconsin offerings, such as a weekly meat raffle, are also offered.

Our bartender was friendly, and spent some time telling us about the local area and regular bar happenings. We did not eat, so can not speak to the food here, but enjoyed our brief stop.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great service, great prices & good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

While visiting Manitowoc for the first time we stopped for a sandwich at the Fat Seagull on the advise of another traveler.
I enjoyed a sandwich ( I can not remember the name) that was excellent-it was part brat/part burger . It happened to be an "open mike night" so we enjoyed some really fantastic acoustic music & sevice with our food & drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SaundraPlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarona, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“happened upon a benefit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

was in the area and heard loud music on Sat afternoon. The bar was helping with a benefit for someone who had cancer. We stopped in for a drink and went outside to listen to the band. The bar is large but the staff wasn't the friendliest that I've ever met. After the benefit was over we went back in for another drink when they weren't as busy - the staff still wasn't particularly friendly - don't know if we'd go back

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, good people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This place has real good perch and walleye. The tartar sauce is outstanding (especially when used as a dip for the fries). The folks running the place are very friendly and helpful for local attractions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Seagull also viewed

 

Been to Fat Seagull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing