We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic lunch all around.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beerntsen's

Beerntsen's
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Manitowoc
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“A fantastic lunch all around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Having enjoyed many lunches in the city of Manitowoc Beerntsen's is an unmached all around experience. Between the ambiance of the old building, fantastic food and warm welcoming service its a home run. Will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shooter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    41
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
294 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“A Sweet Place to Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Beerntsen's is a favorite stop of ours for lunch when passing through Manitowoc. It is a genuine Manitowoc landmark. The front half of Beerntsen's features an unbelievably wonderful assortment of handmade chocolates and other candies in glass cases. The back half has approximately 12 high-backed,old fashioned wood booths where you can enjoy such things as an ice cream, shake, sandwich, or soup. The prices are reasonable and the staff has always been friendly. It makes for a truly unique stop, especially if you have young children who have only been exposed to fast food restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
464 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great Candy, Excellent Service, Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Quaint shp with excellent candies and yummy sandwiches. We left with lovely candies gift wrapped with special care.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tlscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
“lived in manitowoc my whole life, this my favorite place in the whole city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

me and my friend go here all the time, in my opinion the best chocolate and ice cream anywhere! all handmade, great soups and HAVE THE OREO ICE CREAM! all the furniture is original. and i owe my life to this place, my grandparents had their first date here in the 40s. Manitowoc is the olny place i call home and Beernstiens is the only place i call the best

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColeE1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only in Wisc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Quaint place. Ice cream is all hand made in the facility and great candies of all types. Grest amposphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beerntsen's also viewed

 

Been to Beerntsen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing