We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not go back!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #83 of 105 Restaurants in Manitowoc
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dover
Level Contributor
130 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Will not go back!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is the second time I went to an Applebee's this year and both times I have been disappointed. I ordered the spinach salad with berries, pecans, blue cheese pieces and chicken. There was an ample amount of chicken but not even a thimble of pecans and maybe a teaspoon of berries. And, the blue cheese pieces were missing in action. The spinach was also scanty. I also considered ordering their tomato soup but after I looked at the ingredients I decided no. The waitress, Wendy, was great. Earlier, this year, my wife and I had ordered fish at a different Applebees's and it felt and tasted like fried shoe leather. Nope, I'm not going back, period.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoverJungleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    13
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK as chains go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had to wait quite a while for my take out order, but the bartender was very hospitable while I waited. Unfortunately, I didn't check my order before taking back to my hotel room and, upon opening the container, found that half of my steak & shrimp order was missing. It was very difficult to find their phone number (via the hotel or on the internet), but when I did get through, the manager on duty apologized and offered to send a gift card for a free item. The gift card never arrived.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADISON
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This restaurant was in walking distance from my hotel. I enjoyed a bowl of soup and a chicken & strawberry salad. The waitress (Karla) had an excellent attitude and a great sense of humor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLARKE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love Applebee's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The waiter was excellent! He kept are drinks full without us asking and even recommended dishes that were excellent as well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ou_tigress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where has the customer service gone???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was there with my sisters and mother celebrating my sisters 46th birthday. Our server told us what a bad day she was having and kept apologizing even before she took our orders. She left our drinks sit as we watched her smoking outside, didn't bring out the soup til our meal was finished and still charged us. We tried ordering bread sticks she said we couldn't. Let our dirty plates sit there! I asked for the manager that was worse yet! She said "well she really is having a bad day". All she did was take the soup, and 2 drinks off the bill. What a joke!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goofygary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing