We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy & Sloooooow”
Review of 8th and York - CLOSED

8th and York
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A casual upscale dining experience located in historic downtown Manitowoc.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Noisy & Sloooooow”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Four of us went there at 12:15 p.m. on a weekday for lunch. The place was busy but not full. Because of the very high ceiling the room is extremely noisy. We ordered 2 American meals & 2 Thai. The food did not arrive at our table until 1:20 p.m. We agreed that the food was good but the kitchen is not equipped to serve in a timely fashion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Friday nights; amazing monthly Sunday brunch”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just had one of 8th and York's brunches (the restaurant holds them the last Sunday of the month) and were amazed at the value for the outstanding variety and quality. While this was our first brunch, we've been there many times, and enjoyed many meals and well-chosen wines. Although you don't have to eat Thai, it is their specialty and we never thought we'd enjoy Thai food so much! Friendly staff and a unique venue in an old bank lobby add to the experience. Even parking is convenient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinTravelDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tried twice and problems both times”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

First time we did take out. Order wasn't ready at the appointed time. Customer service was poor. Then we were charged a container charge which wasn't on the menu. Second time we ate in for lunch. Wrap was OK but potato salad and marinated veggie salad did not taste right. Won't go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank midwestmomtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, so-so food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I chose to eat here on a recent trip through Manitowoc. The restaurant is housed in an old bank building with soaring ceilings, exposed brick, and marble trim. It could be very noisy if the place were crowded but that wasn't a problem the night we visited.
We were met at the door by the owner and our server was attentive and polite.
Too bad the food didn't match up with the rest of the experience. The chef is Thai so maybe ordering one of the Thai inspired offerings is a better way to go. I had haddock with a seafood sauce which came to the table just past lukewarm. The taste didn't seem exactly fresh. My husband had the 'Norwegian' salmon. It was pretty good but nothing spectacular. We did try their carrot cake for dessert which finished our meal with a very nice surprise. It was moist, full of nuts and had a cinnamon cream cheese frosting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imoxymoronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rediculous”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just had to say that I am sorely disappointed in 8th and York. My wife and I have tried to love this restaurant at least a dozen times and have been let down more times than not. The food is great sometimes and really bad others. When the food is on, it ON but there is no consistency. And the service is laughable. We ordered hummus and got mustard. They did not even bat an eye for charging us for it after we complained. Today was the final straw when we walked in at 1 PM and waited ten minutes after we were seated without being asked for a drink order. Then they took the customers drink order that walked in 2 minutes ago before we walked out. Please do yourself a favor and take your significant other to a classy place that had good food and great wait staff, not some joke of a restaurant almost trying to be successful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 8th and York also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing