We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taking a walk”

West of the Lake Gardens
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Manitowoc
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taking a walk”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My bf and I took a walk and decided to visit the gardens. Very beautiful and well manicured gardens. Even the gardeners were nice answering our questions

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MOM23wildb0ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    14
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a gem on Lake Michigan. I live in Manitowoc and can't believe I haven't come here sooner!
If you are a gardener it is truly inspiring. If not a gardener, you will want to become one. The garden is divided into different theme areas that you will enjoy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank manitowoclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Small Free Garden”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a small garden but well worth a visit. Admission is free. People working in the garden were very friendly and helpful.

As several other people mentioned, in mid June they had just planted many new annuals, it will be at its peak in July or August. But still well worth a visit. Its right along the Mariners walking trail near the traffic light. There is another home with a rose design gate that is not the garden, make sure you see the garden entrance sign before turning in!

Sit in the blue metal chairs by the fish pond, they are very comfortable!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Flatcoatfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox River Valley, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Special Garden Visit”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

West of the Lake Gardens is foundation supported, thus free to visit. The annuals had been planted, but in June they are not mature so we could not yet see the full effect of the gardens' several designs. We plan to visit again in July or August to see the flowers more at their peak. Beautiful glimpses of Lake Michigan, which is very close, right over the dunes from the gardens. Wear a jacket -- they don't call Manitowoc "Cool City" for nothing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KokoMontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a wonderful stop if you are going through Manitowoc. However, I went in mid May and all the sections of the garden had not yet been planted. It might be better to visit the gardens later in May or in June.

Definitely worth the stop if you are in town.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West of the Lake Gardens also viewed

 

Been to West of the Lake Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing