We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown; Try to Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manitowoc
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manitowoc
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rundown; Try to Avoid”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

While the staff was perfectly nice, this hotel was very rundown and dated. The room was not pleasant and I tried to spend as little time as possible in it. The room was not cheap, either. If I return to the area I plan to stay in one of the neighboring towns.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    58
    36
    17
    13
See reviews for
37
29
12
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kalmazoo, mi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a Toastmasters state convention. After reading previous reviews before going, I was prepared for quite an average experience, but was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very attentive and aimed to please whatever our requests. The food in the restaurant was good and not at all expensive in my opinion. The environment was welcoming and lent itself to lots of networking and mingling. It was worth a little extra money to stay there.

During my two days' stay, I did notice that the convenience store was never open. Another guest said it was open for a few hours in the morning. However, there are many convenience store options within a short driving distance.

I will admit that I'm perplexed this hotel can get away with charging such high rates in Manitowoc. Nonetheless, I enjoyed my stay and would stay again as long as I could get a discounted rate.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Manitowoc is not a booming city and was shocked they could charge $139 a night for a hotel room here. We were attending a wedding at the hotel though so we stayed so we did not have to drive home late at night. For that rate, I expected the room to be very nice, a mini fridge and comfortable beds. The room was none of this. I believe the mattresses were still original to when the hotel was built. I could feel and hear springs popping in the mattress when I moved. The air conditioner in the room was LOUD and did not work very well. There was no mini fridge and the room was small. The room also had a musty smell. Overall I was very disappointed and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We booked a different hotel and were dissapointed. The room smelled aweful and it was tiny. So we called Holiday inn which was a little more and they got us in. The room was nice and clean and smelled clean. Everything was comfortable and the staff was nice. We ate breakfast (kids ate free!!!) and the waitress was super nice and the food was good. We'd definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Texastrippin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We were stopping for the evening with our 15 month old and needed a clean room for the evening. We got one. We even called ahead (at 1030p), and asked for a crib to be put in our room. They were so ready for us that we were able to get our son out of the car, up to our room, and into the crib in about 5 minutes and he didnt wake a bit.

The blackout curtains allowed all of us to sleep in, which was great for us parents.

There are plenty of breakfast options nearby, though the in-house coffee shop looked limited.

  • Liked — Proximity to interstate and helpful service
  • Disliked — Had to take elevator, rather than stairs, to second floor
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GFKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2008

I don't know when I've had such a pleasant stay in a hotel. The staff was personable, yet extremely efficient. The rooms were well kept. If I were going to be in the area again, I would stay there without question. I would gladly suggest it to my friends.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank MissouriWatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
220 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

I travel about 50% for business. Booking this online, looked okay.

Rate for a "king suite" (I presumed with a microwave and fridge), 145.00 for a weeknight.

Requested non-smoking.

When walking up to my room my eyes watered from the strong smoke smell throughout the hotel. As I entered my room, smoke smell was gone, but it smelled moldy, like there was water damage or something.

If you are a non-smoker, you will notice the film in the non-smoking room I had from years of smokers. It is stil lthere, on the ceiling tiles, everything! Gross.

Since it was late at night at checkin I decided to stay rather than go from hotel to hotel looking for a better room.

Luckily the windows opened up (35 degress out), so I opened them up all night to get fresh air, and replace the nasty mold smell.

I had room service, food was good.

Sofa in room is something left over from a college dorm room. And is a twin size pullout.

No water in the vending areas

No breakfast included, must go to their rest. if you would like to eat breakfast there.

Wireless internet service has good signal, but data flow is intermittent.

Total bill for this room with breakfast will be about 165.00, definately not worth it. It should be priced more like a super 8 or something. More like a 69.00 room.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Smoke smell everywhere
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ClickTheGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitowoc
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manitowoc Lakefront
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Manitowoc
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Manitowoc
Quality Inn Manitowoc
#5 of 6 in Manitowoc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
#1 of 4 in Two Rivers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 6 in Manitowoc
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
21.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manitowoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manitowoc

Property: Holiday Inn Manitowoc
Address: 4601 Calumet Ave, I-43 & Highway 151, Manitowoc, WI 54220-9205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Manitowoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manitowoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manitowoc 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the NEWLY REMODELED Holiday Inn - Manitowoc. Having completed a full property renovation of all guest rooms and public areas, the hotel is located at I-43 and US 151 (Exit 149), one mile from the beautiful Lake Michigan shore line and approximately 30 minutes from Green Bay and Sheboygan. Holiday Inn - Manitowoc Facilities: 204 newly renovated guest rooms and suites with some rooms overlooking an impressive atrium (pets are welcome); business center; conference center with over 20,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, and banquet space; complete conference services staff; complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service; fine dining and relaxation in the hotel's full service dining room and lounge; Starbucks coffee & snack shop; off-site catering services; state-of-the-art fitness center; indoor pool and whirlpool.In-house laundry facilities. Close to Corporate Businesses: Aurora, Burger Boat Co., Dowco Inc., Federal Mogul Powertrain Systems, GKN Sinter Metals, Holy Family Memorial, Industrial Distribution Group, Kaysun Tool and Engineering Corp., Koenig & Vits, Krueger International Inc., Lakeside Foods, Lowe s, The Manitowoc Company, Manitowoc Crane Group, Manitowoc Food Service Group, Manitowoc Ice Inc., Northern Labs Inc., Parker Hannifin Corp., Red Arrow Products, and Weyerhaeuser Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Manitowoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manitowoc Hotel Manitowoc
Manitowoc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing