We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit was great!”
Review of Parkside Tavern

Parkside Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The restaurant, formerly known as the Bavarian Inn re-opened in May of 2013. Our restaurant setting has transformed into a beautiful environment where you will enjoy an exquisite food experience with multiple dining room options. Choose to sit on our porch with a unique view of Rest Lake and the park. During the cooler months, you may choose to enjoy dining near one of our two fireplaces. Driven by our desire to provide genuine hospitality, our full service bar offers pleasant company and your favorite before, during and after dinner cocktails. Let Executive Chef Tom, a graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, tantalize your taste buds!
Littleton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Second visit was great!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We visited when Parkside just opened last year. It was just ok. But this year it was much improved. The menu has expanded and our family loved it. I didn't think it was too FooFoo for the North Woods. I love that Manitowish Waters has diversity. Something for everyone is what will keep the town successful!!!

I am happy that this season seems to be a success for the new owners. It is a historical building for our town. It is nice to see someone adding value to Manitowish!

Thank you to the new owners. Running a restaurant is so much easier said than done! The dedication, love, time and money that it take to make it is something most people don't understand.

My only critique is to put up a divider to the kitchen door. It is very distracting to be next to that kitchen!

Best of luck, and see you soon

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Owner at Parkside Tavern, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your 2nd visit. Your critique to put up a divider to the kitchen door is appreciated and we agree. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    2
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Since this restaurant opened, I love this restaurant. A good variety of entrees are available; beef, seafood and pork. Each table gets a chefs nightly special appetizer with a variety of nibbles. I really enjoy the view of the lake and the dam. Great for families and friends. Go hungry.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Parkside Tavern, responded to this review, October 28, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We greatly appreciate it and look forward to serving you at Parkside Tavern again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, WI
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dining in the Northwoods of Wisconsin, part 1”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My brother and I stopped at the Parkside Tavern for dinner in early May, before the summer tourist season starts in northern Wisconsin. There weren't many people at the restaurant and the hour was late, but the proprietors were very friendly and receptive. The dinner included a snack tray with spreads and crackers/breads of different types; it was very good. The spinach and garden salads were basic but fresh and also good. My brother had filet mignon and I had the Salmon Wellington. Both entrees were done perfectly and tasted great. The wait staff was very friendly and the owner/chef came out to chat and check on our opinion. The prices are steep, but Manitowish Waters is on the costly side in the northwoods. Overall we were very pleased with our experience and recommend it unless high prices turn you away.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcosPrairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Parkside Tavern, responded to this review, October 28, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We greatly appreciate it and look forward to serving you at Parkside Tavern again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Too rich for our blood”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Been there once and wont go again. Way over priced for the Northwoods. White table cloth doesnt fit up there, and the foo foo food doesnt either. Bring back the old burgers of Rudy's Rest Haven... It won't last after initial trials are over.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the food here! Now serving breakfast with$2.00 blodymary's”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Snowmobile season is now under way, and Parkside is offering a limited breakfast including a great Eggs Benedict, and an added bloody Mary with shrimp for $2.00 more.So much food. Loved it!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank casaricci4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkside Tavern also viewed

 
Manitowish Waters, WI
 

Been to Parkside Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing