We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous!”

North Lakeland Discovery Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The North Lakeland Discovery Center is your connection to the Northwoods of Wisconsin. Nestled on 63-acres within the NH-AL State Forest the Discovery Center offers countless opportunities to explore the Northwoods. With our twelve miles of hiking, biking, groomed skiing, and snowshoe trails you can wander through large pine and maple forests, see bogs and lakes and even get stunning views of the beautiful Manitowish River.We have a Nature Nook where your entire family can touch, feel and experience many of the amazing resources of the area. Other drop-in activities include kayaking, canoeing and fishing on pristine Statehouse Lake. And with naturalists on staff, our programs offer learning adventures for adults, family and children. Visit our website for more details!
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“gorgeous!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

we love to stop at this gem and take a hike in the woods (mild). It has been restored and is absolutely gorgeous. A MUST visit!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank agray325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great way to get closer to nature”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Facilities and grounds were gorgeous. Looks like everything had had been recently redone. Loved the hiking. Lots of interesting programs going on. Can't wait to check them all out!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Naturally insi=oiring and enriching lives through the meaningful connections with nature, people and the community.”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I served on the DC board for 3 years and continue to volunteer whenever needed. We hike the trails in spring and fall and ski and snowshoe in the winter. Go on line for their schedule of programs and other info,
I hiked there yesterday with my dog. (leashed only)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful, interesting, informative.”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

There was a wedding on the lake with a reception. What a lovely place to marry. We took the boardwalk and it was long that we had anticipated. Guess I red map wrong. Just love it

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
325 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“North Woods Nature at its Best”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Wonderful trails, wonderful events and informed staff - this is a great venue for family events in the outdoors in all four seasons.

Helpful?
2 Thank ScoutMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Lakeland Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to North Lakeland Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing