We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveler rating
874
195
49
25
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
874
195
49
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horseback riding zip lining plunge pool costa rica beach club our honeymoon pura vida main restaurant san jose swim up bar howler monkeys liberia airport ara project ceviche golf course rainy season remote location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2019

We stayed for 5 nights in a Junior Suite with a spectacular view off of the lovely deck with hammock & jacuzzi! We loved having the Marriott service and amenities in an off-the-beaten-path, non-high-rise location. Our room was private, and with the unique set-up of the resort, it felt like it was the only one on the property! Staff at all levels were warm, helpful, outgoing and took pride in their service. We enjoyed the delightful breakfast each morning, but other meals were less impressive. Had two great dinners off-site at Kimbute and Don Ramiro. Especially enjoyed the food, atmosphere and interactions with Miguel at Don Ramiro (go there!). Took advantage of several of the on-site activities - loved the monkey hike, dusk hike and ziplining in particular. Also had delightful couples massage at the spa. We spent a relaxing afternoon in a beach cabana which was a nice way to end our stay before getting on the road to Monteverde & La Fortuna... thanks to the amazing staff for making our first stop in Costa Rica so enjoyable!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmptyNest0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Thanks so much for joining us as part of your Costa Rica discovery getaway. We are thrilled to showcase our country's unique charms and adventures. We are delighted that you chose to explore our surroundings fully. Our location and community have so many wonderful experiences to share. From food, to art in genuine, spontaneous hospitality. Please return very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 4 nights following a stay in Arenal. We enjoyed the room, as there was room for the four of us to spread out and relax after a long trip from Arenal. The private pool was also very fun. It was so hot that we used the pool many times per day. The beach was also lovely. We loved the buffet breakfast which had both typical costa Rican and more western choices. Service was very good. The gym was actually decent for a hotel. The local town had a fantastic restaurant (Don Ramiro) which we visited once and wish we had visited more.

Downsides included the incredible heat which made it difficult to enjoy activities. We also found the activities to be less valuable than the ones we had experienced in the Arenal area. It felt like the activities were there to justify the very high price of accommodations and meals. The meals and drinks were very expensive and only medium quality. For example, a salad at lunch cost $15 USD not including tax and service charges, despite being small and containing little lettuce.

The hotel is very isolated which makes it quiet but also allows them to charge exorbitant prices for everything. It also doesn't feel typically Costa Rican in many ways, which was disappointing.

In hindsight, I would have stayed a couple of nights to refresh and rest, then moved on to a less expensive and more authentic accommodation.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JeanDoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Greetings JeanDoots and thank you for exploring Costa Rica and its wonders. We have read your opinions with care and thank you for taking the time to express them. We regret that your stay coincided with a period of unusual heat. As you observe, weather situations can have an impact on the enjoyment of activities. Unfortunately this is out of our control. That said, we are glad that your party fully enjoyed your upscale accommodations and the private plunge pool. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed visiting the local community of Islita. Our long-standing relationship with the community is at the heart of the Hotel Punta Islita experience. We hope you took the time to visit their community art workshops and museum. Embracing Costa Rica's authentic, non-touristy experiences is the best way to travel. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

I agree with an earlier poster, who said that this resort is a fantastic value for Bonvoy points. My husband is platinum and I am gold and we reserved 2 rooms for 7 nights on points. We were not upgraded because it was spring break and thus one their busiest times of the year, but we had 2 well located rooms with amazing views. It's important to note that this is NOT a beachfront resort. You are situated high on a hill with astounding views of the cove below and the surrounding hillsides. It's a long walk down and back up, or the hotel will drive you down. We had a rental car so drove down each day. It is not a lush jungle as one might expect. This area is very dry but it has its own beauty. Breakfast was included and it was a very nice spread each day with enough variety for everyone. Rooms are not fancy and in fact are a bit dated and small, but each has a private patio with hammock and this more than makes up for what rooms lack. Also, the A/C works really well, which was important for those 90 degree days. The dining area is open air and very charming, and we spent several evenings as a family playing games in the "lounge" area adjacent to the dining room. More on this later. I cannot believe anyone has ever written anything negative about the beach. The beach is a very isolated public beach (all beaches in CR are public), but since the area is so isolated, it's mostly hotel guests hanging out at the beach club and a few very friendly locals. The beach itself is gorgeous. It is a more primitive and wild looking beach than some may be expecting but absolutely gorgeous. We were recently in Hawaii and I'd take this beach over Maui's beaches, hands down. The surf was perfect, calm enough at low tide to play in, but enough waves at high tide to surf and boogie board. The beach itself is lined with trees and so it was possible to be completely shaded while enjoying the beach. The beach club has a pool with swim up bar and a restaurant (Los Cocos) serving food and drinks throughout the day. We never had a hard time getting chairs--the resort just doesn't ever feel crowded, mostly because it is a small and intimate resort. We found all the staff that we encountered to be very friendly and helpful, with special shout outs to Randy, Kervin, and Felipe, who stood out to us, but really, everyone was very friendly. The only con I should mention is the food. It's been said before and it's true..the food is very average. Breakfast was, by far, the tastiest meal of the day. It's a shame because better food would make this place as close to perfect as it's possible to be. While it's not exorbitantly expensive, it was expensive enough, and we had a pretty large bill at the end of the week for food/drink for a family of 5. I will say that kids' drinks in particular, were reasonable at about $5 each--my kids must have had a dozen virgin Pina coladas each over the course of the week! Because the neighboring village is so tiny, you really have no choice but to eat at the restaurant (we did try one of the local restaurants, Kimbute, but found it to be very similar to the hotel in terms of food choices and price) and it's quite pricey for what it is. Towards the end of the week, we started eating dinner before 6 so that we could take advantage of the "snacks" menu by the upper pool (we hung out in the "lounge area") and found the quesadillas and other similar items to be tastier and a better value than the regular dinner menu. We also did a couple of the specialty nights-one at the golf course and the other a BBQ at the beach. The one at the golf course featured "tapas" plates, which were delicious but the carnitas was $12 for one street size taco, which is silly-we all love carnitas and didn't realize it was only one taco because of the price. It was a bummer to spend $60 on 5 small tacos. It was a fun night though, because some local children came and performed traditional dance for us, and that was adorable & very memorable. We also went to the BBQ night at the beach club one night, with tenderloin that was sliced and then grilled, served with a chimichurri sauce. Later that night, I woke up sick, but no one else in my family did, so I don't know that it was anything I ate.
In summary, If you are into white sand beaches lined with big hotels, this may not be the place for you, but if you are interesting in experiencing some of the famous Tico hospitality, off the beaten path, and enjoying a beautiful beach, check this place out! We hope to return some day.

Room tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of the ocean.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DenverRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Thanks for exploring this secluded corner of Costa Rica! We love to highlight authentic experiences that underscore a destination's unique charms, nature, and culture. We have read your helpful review with care and hope to address the shortcomings you describe. Muchas gracias for highlighting the cheerful hospitality embodied by our team. And please do return very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

Incredible place to stay! The friendly staff delivers a wonderful service full of details and personalized topics. The location is just awesome full of incredible natural landmarks. The hotel has wonderful and very well kept accommodations.
A definite “must-visit” jewel in the Nicoya Peninsula.

Room tip: Suites with private pool are awesome
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Creating a magical spot that highlights authentic nature, art, adventures, and friendship is our goal. Thanks for letting us know that we are doing a fantastic job. We want to dazzle our guests with wonderful experiences. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019

This is truly a vacation paradise. The property is amazing, the views stunning, the staff completely friendly and accommodating, everything about our stay was just perfect. We arranged transit to the property through the hotel, which was extremely easy since you can easily vacation here without a car. Our room was spacious, and the view unbeatable. We took advantage of many of the included activities, which are quite a plus for the property. We saw monkeys, macaws, deer right on and around the property. Food was quite good, with a good variety, and reasonably priced for a resort with a captive audience. Overall, a fantastic vacation in a natural paradise!!!!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MidtownerMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2019

Beautiful words from a beautiful soul! Thanks so mucho for finding us and for fully embracing the wonder of our unique destination. We are thrilled to showcase our surrounding's intense magic through included activities, adventures, and experiences that are meaningful and engaging. Please return very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews