We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cabinas Corozalito Lodge(Punta Islita)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Sueno Tropical(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leyenda(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Peace & Lodge(Playa Carrillo)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$358
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sol Samara(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$72
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,092)
Filter reviews
1,092 results
Traveler rating
830
186
42
24
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
830
186
42
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolcosta ricazip lininghorseback ridingbeach clubmain restaurantsan josepura vidaswim up barhowler monkeysliberia airportcevichegolf courserainy seasonremote locationhour drivethe pacific ocean
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 1,092 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

Best service we ever had. Kind employees and very clean. For sure I recommend this hotel. Also, good choice of activities on the resort. Pure fun and also very relaxing. Cannot wait to come back to this wonderful hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lowee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Our complimentary activities and tours are meant to be the highlight of a Costa Rica getaway. They let you sample the country's eco-adventures while establishing a strong connection to our culture and pura vida lifestyle. Thanks for celebrating your stay with this wow review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted at the door of our car by Cristina who whisked us away to the beautiful dining lounge overlooking the ocean. She planted drinks in our hands and welcomed us as she took care of the check in and activity selection process (activities such as zip lining, cooking classes, etc are included!). This intimate personalized attention was highly representative of the treatment we received throughout the rest of the stay.

As two SPG/Marriott Platinum members, we have seen our fair share of suite upgrades. We were delighted by Punta Islita's upgrade to a suite with a personal jacuzzi and private dining area.

We were so impressed by how friendly and welcoming all the staff and guides were (Marvin, Carlos, Marco, Edgar, and so many others), as well as the other guests - the hotel's small scale creates an intimate atmosphere in which it is easy to strike up a conversation at the pool or over a cocktail making class.

Other highlights included visiting the nearby Ara Project (a macaw conservation project on the hotel owner's grounds), horseback riding along the coast, lounging along the private beach and experiencing and seeing so much rainforest wildlife firsthand (we spotted monkeys, armadillos, and numerous other critters).

For those looking for a comfortable low-key outdoorsy getaway, Hotel Punta Islita is the place for you.

NOTE FOR RESERVATIONS: a bridge has been installed over the river that crosses the main road from Liberia airport. Older reviews stated you had to drive through a river... this is no longer the case. Easy access in rainy season.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share your amazing Costa Rica experiences at Hotel Punta Islita. Our staff is thrilled and eager to be ambassadors for our hospitality culture. Thanks for highlighting the construction of the Ora River bridge. We will review our Reservations' documents to ensure that they are all properly updated. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

This was my best vacation my wife and I ever had (20 year anniversary trip). There are some great reviews on here already that cover why and I basically agree with the other five-star reviews. So I'll try to answer a few questions I had before going.
1. We stayed during the rainy season (July 26 - Aug 2) and the rain really wasn't a problem. If you look at forecasts, it will tell you that it's going to rain everyday. We found the forecasts to be inaccurate. There were several days where it didn't rain at all, and when it did rain, it didn't rain all day. We were able to plan around it just fine.
2. The mosquitos aren't bad. I think I saw one the entire trip, even though we did the zip line in the jungle twice the horse back riding and the kayak tour (all of which are a lot of fun).
3. The tap water is perfectly safe to drink. Bring a water bottle to refill. The hotel has cold water jugs in a lot of places that makes it really convenient.
4. Do the dinners down at the beach club when they have them (it's not open every night). They were worth the price - especially the wine dinner. The sommelier made it very interesting.
5. There are now two restaurants in town - Kimbute is the more established one. I had the surf and turf there and it was amazing. We went to Don Ramiros too, which is only open Friday to Monday and we had to go back a second time. They do tapas sized plates, so you can try a few, which is fun. And the guy running the place is really fun.
6. Walk out to the point at low tide. There is a sheet at breakfast that will tell you when that is.
7. If you are Marriott Platinum, you are in for a treat. I'm sure they change the benefits from time to time, but free breakfast, a free cabana for one day, and free dessert on one evening were all very nice touches.
8. The last 10km into the hotel is dirt road. If you're comfortable driving a 4x4 then rent a car. If not, pay for the hotel shuttle.

I've spent twice as much on vacations to Bora Bora, Europe, Asia, etc. This was not only the best service, most beautiful views, most fun, but the best value as well.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thanks for such a thoughtful review! We especially appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences at the local restaurants. These micro-enterprises belong to our local friends and they offer an amazing opportunity to enjoy our surroundings. Miguel at Ramiro's is a bright soul! It was a pleasure to be part of your anniversary celebration. Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Stayed en famille five nights July 2017. Wonderful quiet spot about 5 hours' drive from San Jose airport. Villas are large and welcoming - large windows and effective aircon. Lots of stairs so probably not for the frail. Food not much better than average for Costa Rica but priced as though it is (i.e. don't come here for the food, hence I'd give it 4 rather than 5/5) but breakfasts are excellent.

If I say the hotel has an appealing, slightly ramshackle air this isn't meant as a criticism. Everything works, the rooms have wifi and the staff are delightful. It has character. Gym is smallish but at least it's there. Lots of animals; howler monkeys in the jungle next door to the hotel; scarlet macaws and iguanas on the terrace outside the breakfast buffet; an armadillo crossed our villa lawn most days at 4pm sharp. The children loved it. Worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Room 303 is apparently the best.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeorgeGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Wonderful to have provided a quiet spot to enjoy Costa Rica's intense beach hacienda lifestyles and adventures. Our rugged vibe conjures the charm of a traditional Costa Rican finca and we are delighted that it will draw you in for a return visit. Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Have been to CR 3 times - this is my one of my favorite places for a variety of reasons. The service is wonderful - Christina, Marvin, restaurant staff, housekeeping - all polite, warm & attentive. Our beautiful room overlooked the ocean with a drop-dead gorgeous view. I loved relaxing in the hammock and was visited by hummingbirds and a small iguana. The bed was fantastic. We did have some stairs to climb but not a problem and they delivered our luggage. The vans are always readily available to take you to the beach or town or even cheaper local restaurants. I highly recommend signing up for your activities as soon as arriving - even though it was rainy/low season, some had already filled up with large family groups. I thoroughly enjoyed the early AM Monkey walk - I wish I could recall the young guide's name - as he was SO enthusiastic, kind and patient. He hunted all over until locating them and then set up his viewing scope so everyone could get a turn. Then he carefully took close-up photos for every single person/kid who asked. Also enjoyed the Breadmaking tour - this was added as a late offering since the kayaking was cancelled (rain). Marvin accompanied us and he was a hoot. He patiently interpreted and answered so many questions while we sat around their table. Absolutely loved this trip as the women were warm, welcoming and so talented. The bread and coffee - wow - simply prepared but absolutely delicious. They also sell crafts that directly support the women and their families so if you are looking for souvenirs, please go there to spend your $$!!
**Here is one caveat: the roads are tough getting there during rainy season - and we've driven all over CR. My husband was driving back & forth daily to Nicoya for work in a 4x4. He was literally stopped in the middle of the road by a wildly waving local while returning (about 2/3 there). The local animatedly warned him not to proceed as the road was too dangerous from heavy rain and it was after dark. He had no choice though and said it was one of the most harrowing drives of his long life. We had to regretfully leave a day early as the weather report predicted more (not surprising) and he was unwilling to take the risk after dark one more time. We asked for a day's refund due to the extenuating circumstances but was told that was against policy and the hotel was not responsible for road upkeep off property. So, while we thoroughly loved Hotel Punta Islita, our departure was "difficult". I would do my best to avoid the transport to/from after dark - especially during rainy season.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
2  Thank doctorbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

It was a pleasure to be your hosts. Knowing that we were able to provide many wonderful experiences that accentuate Costa Rica's charms is highly motivating. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews