We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is great! I suggest getting the deluxe suite that comes with it's own jacuzzi, hammock and ocean view. The room was in great condition and beautifully decorated. Fresh flowers on the bed each morning and comfortable robes provided. Things do shut down early here, but you get used to waking up early and by the end of they day you are tired and ready to fall asleep!

Note: This hotel can be difficult to get to. The signs are a bit sporadic so I recommend getting a GPS or an international data plan for your phone. There will most likely be a few cows in the road as well, so keep an eye for them! You will need a 4 wheel drive to get there. Lots of potholes and steep inclines. Once you arrive though, you will realize how worth it, it is. The food is delicious (not a lot of food options around). The drinks are delicious - pina coladas, best I've ever had. They around about $12 a pop though - NYC prices basically.

The infinity pool is great and has views of the ocean. You can walked down some stairs to the beach. Takes about 10 minutes. The beach itself is great. Desolate, black sand. The resort feels very exclusive and I hardly saw any other guests.

The staff - I can't tell you how great they are. They will ensure you are happy with your stay and help you with directions. Note that the town itself - Islita is TINY. They only have one restaurant and it's nothing fancy. We traveled north to Samara which was our favorite beach - only beach we found with beds and bars by the water. Playa de Corillo, Playa Bongo, and Playa de Coyote are all within an hours drive north or south and great to visit! It is about a 5 hour drive to San Juan so be prepared for that as well!

Have fun! PS there is lightening every night during the rainy season. Rain didn't affect us too much. It sprinkled for a few hours here and there, but the lightening is awesome to watch!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksonJ208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Jackson -Wonderful to read your detailed review of Hotel Punta Islita. Thank you so much for capturing the essence of the experience. If a traveler is seeking incomparable views, the authentic heart of Costa Rica's coastal culture, and uncrowded hospitality, Hotel Punta Islita is an ideal destination. Having a chance to witness a nighttime lightning display over the ocean horizon rivals the most elaborate fireworks. Glad you fully enjoyed the show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    146
    37
    20
    9
See reviews for
206
476
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week. We had a king suite with a plunge pool. Every evening we sat in our private plunge pool reminiscing about our day. As the sun went down the sounds of wildlife increased - birds, monkeys geckos. We'd wait for the fireflies to come out before heading in. The food was delicious and there were plenty of different things to choose from. Our favorite dishes were the fresh fish and pesto pasta. We ate at the only alternative restaurant in town one night. The Red Snapper was fresh and delicious. No "frills" at that restaurant but definitely worth going to for at least one meal. Our activities included zip line, horse back riding and kayaking -all super fun and the same guide, Bialis, went with us for each activity. We felt totally safe and taken care of throughout our entire stay. The concierge guys, Luis and Marvin, checked in with us regularly to ensure our comfort. We had two massages at the spa, one regular couples massage and one that included a bath and a glass of sparkling wine. Both massages were great, not sure the bath and wine were worth the extra fee but pleasant nonetheless. We had a private dinner on the beach scheduled for our last night but it rained so they moved it under cover at the beach club restaurant. From that experience, I would recommend canceling if it rained. Dining in the regular area was very pleasant without paying for extra. We loved Punta Islita! Beautiful views everywhere you look, super nice people, relaxing and fun. We feel so lucky to have spent time there. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Get a room with a plunge pool - totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkmom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Warmest greetings Pinkmom! Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful summary of your experience at Hotel Punta Islita. It was a pleasure to give you a week of paradise. Our impressive views certainly transport guests to an otherworldly state of mind.

We will give recognition to Bialis, Luis, and Marvin for their superb hospitality. Thanks for taking the time to mention them.

Visiting the local restaurant is not only a wonderful (and delicious) experience. It is also a great way to ensure that travel has positive economic impact on our neighboring communities.

Muchas gracias for your visit and friendship!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Punta Islita offered a relaxing atmosphere, awesome service, and the staff was very attentive. The food and service was fabulous. We could not have asked for a more beautiful location. The room was awesome, we had a couple of issues that were taken care of immediately. The Scarlet Macaws and Howler Monkeys were cool as were the iguana and the white nosed coati. All of these were very near our room. We played golf, zip lined and went fishing. We caught jack fish, black tuna and snapper. We took the fish to the chef at 1492 restaurant and had it for our evening meal. It was prepared perfectly. While cruising the Pacific Ocean we saw bottle nosed dolphin, lagerhead turtles and a coastline that phenomenal. Our hats off to the friendly, professional and accommodating staff. It was truly a trip to remember. Pura Vida!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan and Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Allan and Ann -Nothing short of excellent is exactly what we aim for. Taking the time to travel should be rewarded with amazing experiences. We are delighted that we fully succeeded in creating a welcoming space that allowed you to enjoy Costa Rica's impressive nature. Fun eco-adventures and superb hospitality are the ingredients of the Pura Vida! Please return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My family ( 2 boys; ages 10 and 7) were fortunate enough to spend several days here in July 2014. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel; the natural beauty of the surroundings, the staff; the food , the warm ocean water; etc etc
I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for some kick back time in a gorgeous setting
Hope to be back again soon

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowieDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hola Howie! Thank you for entrusting us to provide a memorable vacation for your family. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful and memorable time. Having a chance to to relax and bond with your loved ones is precious and we are honored that you chose Hotel Punta Islita. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

It all started when I'd received my regular Marriott Rewards news.

I was researching for a place to go and relax and get recharged again.
So when I read and saw the desicription of Punta Islita I was sold.
Booked it immediately and two days later after our 5 hours drive from San Jose thru the beautful countryside we arrived at Punta Islita and WOW it didn't disappoint us.

We were welcomed like King and Queen and every staff was very polite, kind and helpful.

After check in and our way to our room we were most delighty surprised in awe with the magnificent view of the bay.
The ifinity pool overlooking the property was also a gem.

Every morning I was greeted by the macows which came to feed just few feet away.
While being lazy in hammock was just an unforgetable experience.

While the menu was limited it wasn't bad at all, those shortcomings were covered by the all personell with their super service.
By the second day we've discovered that we could order or at least ask for food that we wanted to eat and so for most of the time they'd surprised us.

We went birdwatching something that we've never did before, Zip lining, Kayaking and horseback riding, which were all great experiences after all these activities we booked a couples relaxation massage which was so nice after all activites.


I cannot thank all the staff enough for making our stay such a memorable one.

Jadira & William

Room Tip: Wherever you stay it is great as long as you don't mind stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurTraveler1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear CurTraveler -We genuinely appreciate your thoughtful review! Total relaxation and cultivating a sense of place in full communion with our amazing natural surroundings is our heartfelt goal. Thank you for painting such a vivid picture of the experience, the unsurpassed ocean cove view, and the unique natural immersion experiences that single out Costa Rica and Hotel Punta Islita as must-visit destinations. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
218 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

not easy to find, no publicity along the roads as they fully focus on the hotel. We could get to the top of the hill for a nice lunch in this restaurant that offers an incredible nice view on the Pacific and the surrounding hills. Small but good menue. Food was not as exceptional as the view but totally OK.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kr1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
So glad you found us KR1069! 1492 Restaurant is a true gem and the view is intensely beautiful! As you note, it caters mainly to Hotel Punta Islita's guests but, like our beachfront Borrancho Restaurant it is open to non-guests subject to availability. We strongly recommend calling in first to make reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This place really made my husband and I feel like we were in the middle of heaven. Break-taking views, amazing service, beautiful rooms, delicious food. I can go on and on... You get the couzy touch of a boutique hotel with the amanities of a big chain like Marriott. Every member of the staff deserve recognition and they make guests feel at home. The bar tender in the beach club area, Miguel, is super nice and prepares excellent drinks! The hotel was built in the least intrusive way for the area and it is very environmentaly friendly, which is important to me. I highly recommend a walk from the beach to "Punta Islita" in the mornings with low tide: you can walk through the shore of the beach and cross some rocks during low tide; it is like a 30 min walk until you get there (but hurry up becuse the high tides in this beach are no joke!). The only thing we did not like was the drive, some of the gravel roads are in really bad condition and when we booked the room, we did not get any advise from Marriott to rent a SUV, which is frankly thing is a must to get there. We rented a normal car and almost got stuck... HOWEVER, I want to go back and spend a week there, it was totally worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FadiaB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Saludos Fadia! We are cheerfully grateful for your thoughtful review. What singles out Hotel Punta Islita as a must-visit destination in Costa Rica is its authentic character and long-standing commitment to a planet-friendly, people-positive model. Our recent affiliation to Marriott's Autograph Collection has allowed us to retain our independent character while benefiting from Marriott's premium quality standards. Thank you for highlighting the synergy of this relationship! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Islita
7.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Leyenda
Hotel Leyenda
#1 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
Address: Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is the only beach resort in Costa Rica to offer a full menu of complimentary tours, activities, and experiences. These include favorites like canopy zip-lining, horseback riding, monkey quests, and sea-turtle spotting. Plus unique experiences like creating art with local community artists, traditional cooking lessons, golf clinics, and more! Set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. Its award-winning planet-friendly, people-positive model offers a unique opportunity to fully engage in intense eco-adventures and authentic cultural experiences. The property features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted Private Villas. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE AVAILABLE FROM LIBERIA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT (LIR) PLEASE CONTACT US TO SCHEDULE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita
Hotel Punta Islita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing