We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Invited back by the manager”
Review of The Horseshoes

The Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A Country pub set in the beautiful village of East Farleigh. Offering a relaxed dining experience with fresh pub food. Ales, beers, and cocktails all available, along with a wide selection of soft drinks. Outside dining in the summer months, real open fires in the winter. All welcome; including dogs.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I had posted a previous review saying how disappointed I was with the food last time I visited. The manager James asked me to call him to discuss my complaint which I did.He invited me back to give them another chance which I did. I have to say I was very impressed. This time there were 3 ales available and the food was very very good. I have since returned back again with another couple and have to say that the steak i ordered was up there with the best I have had. I will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Ben S

Thanks for taking the time to speak to me and I'm pleased you have came back and had a great experience with us after our conversation and also on another occasion as well

Look forward to seeing you again very soon

Thanks
James and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 449 of 603 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

I visited the Horseshoes with friends. Our meals were really good. I thoroughly enjoyed mine, the puddings were delicious too, the share platter of assorted puddings is a brilliant idea and a dream for pudding lovers. Good value for money too, as the meals were not overpriced, with a good variety of menu choices. The staff were really friendly and polite and there was a great atmosphere there, as well as the huge thunderstorm! Which we had a great view of over the weald.
Lovely place, we will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LJR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear LJR33

Thanks for your feedback and great to hear some amazing comments about our dessert sharers, and lovely to hear some great comments about our team of amazing staff and glad they were able to cater for your every needs

Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon
James and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We went here for my special birthday. Good here yes, special no. The service was good at the start. The meals were pretty and nice but nothing spectacular. I had the pork belly with two scallops ( they worked out at £ 2.00 each !) We ordered desserts and were still waiting 25 minutes later. With our taxi soon arriving we asked the waitress where they were. The next minute she went to the kitchen and five minutes later came with our requests. I can only presume she made them herself. A lack of kitchen staff I think. The cheese board was the best value on the menu. Glad I tried it, but would not rush back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fatcatj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear fatcatj

Thanks for taking the time to review the Horseshoes and I'm sorry for not making your day as special as you would have hoped for.

I will send you a direct message to try and work out what went wrong on the day and hope to welcome you back soon

Thanks
James and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Visited as we'd heard it was under new management and what a nice welcome we received. Only stopped for a drink but restaurant areas looked lovely and they were busy too. The staff we encountered including the new manager James were very friendly and efficient. Lots of food going out looked nice too. From what I hear the cask beer is always good and will definitely be back for more of that!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Hello Glenda M

Thanks for your great feedback and it is always lovely to hear we have new locals in the area.

Our cask ales are always served with a smile and are consistently changing to suit our guest needs

Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back soon
James and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

On a recent visit it was a bit of a mixed experience. Some food really good and tasty but the gammon steak was rather small and a companion had to return a meal as it was not presented how she expected it. The meal was quickly replaced with something else and the offer of a refund was made as well but this was declined, as the replacement meal was sufficient. Desserts were very nice indeed and arrived much quicker than the main course. Overall I would return.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear David S

Thanks for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear that your Gammon steak wasn't up to our usual high standards and I'm also glad to hear that your replacement meal was enjoyable for you too.

Our Desserts are very popular and we consistently get great feedback from our guests

Thanks again and hope to see you soon
James and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horseshoes also viewed

 

Been to The Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing