We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gateway Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Land O' Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gateway Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Land O' Lakes
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rustic Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

My family has been going to the Gateway for over 30 years, which means I have been there atleast 20 times. It has the most amazing lobby with hands down the best fire place I have ever seen. You can literally walk into it. Grab a book a beer and enjoy conversation around the fire place. The bar is perfect, and the drinks are inexpensive. This lodge is the perfect winter wonderland getaway.

Room Tip: Some have been remodeled and some have not. Ask for their recommedation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredstravelingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
23
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here last summer and enjoyed our getaway immensly. Located just miles from the Headwaters of the Wisconsin River, Eagle River, and Bond Falls, the Gateway Lodge was great home-base for a few days. When we checked in, it was like stepping back into the grand old times of the Northwoods. Our front desk clerk (can't remember her name) was so sweet, and has been a fixture at the Gateway for many years. We were there 20 years ago, and she was working in the gift shop at that time. Our room was comfortable and decorated with kitchy northwoods items. The kitchen was perfect, we didn't really cook though (we're on vacation!). Loved talking with the bartender and the restaurant manager. Everyone was so friendly, I would recommend the Gateway Lodge if you need a place to stay on your way to or from Upper Michigan.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PackerBadgerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed at the Gateway Lodge for three nights in December. A beautiful, historic, northwoods lodge about 20 miles north of Eagle River. My wife and I had a very nice time and enjoyed our stay.

Lodge has a big lobby with huge fireplace, comfortable, over-sized furniture, and wii-fi. Dark wood, mounted animal heads, and a nice, free continental breakfast.

Rooms are big, clean, warm and comfortable. Our matress was a little hard. Our room was a small suite with refridgerator, stove and microwave. Bathroom was small but clean with plenty of hot water.

Lodge also has a nice indoor pool with jacuzzi and sauna. perefect for a long day of skiing or snowmobiling.

The lodge also has a very nice bar and restaurant. Service and food was excellent. Nice selection on the menu.

The quaint town of Land O Lakes is just a half mile down the road. Made for a nice afternoon walk. Found a couple nice gift shops, antique store and coffee house.

Overall we had a very comfortable, relaxing, northwoods getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed here on 10/13/11. It was 42 degrees outside and they did not have the heat on. Our room was freezing. We did ask the girl at the desk about it and she said there must be something wrong with the heat in that room and moved us to another room. This room had no heat either. The bed was so hard we would have been more comfortable sleeping a on a rock. We had planned on staying 3 nights but checked out the next day and another girl at the desk said "well of course your heat wasn't working, the furnace isn't on." I do have to say that the food was exceptional so if you get up that way just have dinner and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: another hotel is my best advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Land O' Lakes hotels

Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Native of the Northwoods. A visit to Land O Lakes made complete with a stay at this bit o history. Very clean, nice room, great staff and affordable. The restaurant serves the best food with wonderful service. Comfortable and quiet place to stay. We spent our evening in the lobby so we could visit with other guests. Check out their website for activities on site and surrounding area.

Room Tip: 2nd floor on toward the back was very quiet and close to parking. The wing we stayed in was all non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
361 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I grew up in Land O Lakes and have always loved this lodge. It has charm and yes it is old, but you can't go wrong here. Beautiful pool, suites, with frigs, flat screen TV's and lots of room, all for $80/night.! There is no better deal around. The complaint from the other guest is truly unfounded. If you are expecting the Hilton or any other impersonal hotel ,do not stay here. Land O lakes is a very small town around 300 people, and this lodge is like going home to family, friendly,comfortable,with all your basic amentities, in the beautiful North woods.

Room Tip: Get a suite on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We spent a couple days 30 years ago on our honeymoon and wanted to see if anything changed. Not really. Big beautiful stone fireplace greets you as you walk into the lodge with the medal logo of a mama bear with her two cubs above the mantle. They did remodel the rooms and they are very comfortable. Available in studios and suites. We stayed in a suite with and living area, table and chairs, kitchen area and a separate bedroom and bath. We ate at the restaurant located in the lodge. It was very good. Slow serves. There is also a bar at the lodge. Pool, hot tub and sauna available but closed for repair at the time we were there. Airport and trap shooting located at the lodge. Land o Lakes is a quiet small town away from the tourists area to the south. We forgot why we like it there and will be back again.

Room Tip: Calll the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamayoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O' Lakes
14.7 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
16.2 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
15.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
#3 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
17.0 mi away
Traveler's Inn
Traveler's Inn
#9 of 12 in Eagle River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lodge

Property: Gateway Lodge
Address: 4103 County Road B, Land O' Lakes, WI 54540-9636
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Land O' Lakes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Land O' Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic lodge built in 1938. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing