We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My trip across America”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lancaster Welcome Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stopped at this hotel on a trip from Ohio to South Dakota. Overall experience was okay. The gentleman that checked me in was nice and the room was clean and the price was decent for a town without many choices. You have to park on the street but that wasn't a problem. If I was going through again I wouldn't have any problem staying there again. I was travelling alone and felt safe in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallieb321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed here many times over the past 20+ years. In Grant county, this is about the best place to stay. It is clean and the people are friendly. Dad and I stay here every year when we come for our family reunion. Church and eating places are wtihin walking distance, even for a senior citizen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a simple little hotel. Old, Ma and Pa owned but well kept. It was clean and comfortable and very friendly staff. Places to stay in Lancaster are scarce and this is the best one. Rite around the corner from a great little pub and grill called Doolittles. If you have time to travel a little Dubuque and two casinos with more hotels are only 35 minutes away.

Room Tip: Half the rooms are residential rentals so you are pretty limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Of course everyone will say it's average. It's a Best Western Motel in a small town. For 65 bucks a night you're not talking Ritz Carlton. The room was spotless, the Manager was cool, and continental breakfeast was thrown in. This is what I expect in a Motel. This was a good economical choice to sleep for a night and it's 12 miles from Potosi, the southern start of the Wisconsin Great River Road ride. There is a grocery store, post office, 3 bars, and a bowling alley all within a couple of blocks. The crowd at Russ' was cool. If you want a cheap night in a clean room located in a small town with character, the Best Western is fine.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beercan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

I must admit, I was a little afraid to stay in a 22 room hotel in a small town. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is on a side street and doesn't have much parking. The front desk clerk, which I think was also the owner, was very pleasant and helpful. The furnishings, bedding, and carpet in our room looked new and clean. We had a microwave, refrig, and coffeemaker in our room. They also had a very good continental breakfast in the morning with a wide variety of choices. Alot more then I've seen at larger hotels. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but there is a bar and grill around the corner that had really good food. Not a fancy hotel on the outside, but a good value and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Louisville, KY
14
Reviewed April 19, 2004

I was in Lancaster in the middle of a very nasty winter. My stay at Best Western was about as average as you can get. There are apartments on the 2nd floor, and also in a basment type floor. The town is very small, so don't expect even a walmart! Around the corner from the hotel is a very cozy bar and grill, and I found the food quite tasty. Another amenity is a grocery across the street. You are within a 30 mile distance fomr several larger cities, so entertainment is not impossible. Gambling is right across the river in Iowa, about 30-45 miles. Overall, I would stay there again if I was in Lancaster. The people make this town, and they are wonderful.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
14.6 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville
24.4 mi away
Windsor Place Inn
Windsor Place Inn
#7 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
54 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Bridgeport Inn
Bridgeport Inn
#8 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
55 reviews
20.3 mi away
Sand's Motel
Sand's Motel
#2 of 3 in Boscobel
26 reviews
14.7 mi away
Super 8 Platteville
Super 8 Platteville
#2 of 4 in Platteville
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Welcome Inn

Address: 420 W Maple St, Lancaster, WI 53813-1639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $55 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lancaster Welcome Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lancaster Welcome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lancaster
Lancaster Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing