We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roses Bed and Breakfast

Roses Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roses Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Roses Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
429 South Lake Shore Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Richfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I had such a wonderful stay @ Rose's B&B. Ruth is just wonderful, the room was nice, the property is gorgeous and it is in a perfect location! We met such great people, the food was very good, the price was great...just could not have asked for anything more!! Free beer/wine is even provided. We will most definately be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My dh and I spent the weekend at Roses. This was our first time and not our last. Ruth (the owner) was very friendly and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the queen room and thought it was cozy. Breakfast both mornings was delicious!

We had a great time and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a wonderfully relaxing three day/ two night stay in Lake Geneva at the Roses Bed and Breakfast. Each of the four bedrooms had their own private bath. The house had central air conditioning and we were quite comfortable, even when the temperature was very hot outside. Our room had a television and the king size bed was excellent. The house was a treasure trove of paintings, sculptures, and fine china. Books, magazines, and a video library were available.

Ruth was an excellent hostess and made us feel very welcomed. We had cheese and wine with another couple and Ruth our first evening there in a beautiful rose garden. The three course breakfast each morning was delightful. I enjoyed reading and drinking coffee in the flower garden each morning before breakfast. The backyard was a beautiful flower garden; in fact, we had fresh flowers at the table in the morning.

We plan on returning and would highly recommend the Roses Bed and Breakfast. We enjoyed our conversations with Ruth. She was quite helpful and provided us with information and guides for the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b_lmercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Ilinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

The food was horrible. It was dry and tasted like it was a made and then frozen. The room was pretty but too overcrowded, which was the general consencus of the entire house. Ruth appeared for breakfast but then was not there for any other part of the day. The private balcony left something to be desired. It was pretty dirty and full of leaves. The snacks in the room were stale. Nobody cleans the room, only two towels were provided for the stay.

Air-Conditioning was great! Great accebility to the lake. Parking was good. Ruth was kind. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandria001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

This place was wonderful. We stayed in the Rose room, which had its own private balcony overlooking the front lawn and street. The lake is just barely perceivable down the hill from the balcony. Great place to have a glass of wine before or after walking to downtown for dinner.

Pro's:
-Location - perfect for walking to downtown/waterfront
-Price
-Balcony in Rose Room
-Clean - no dust
-Nice bathroom
-Good A/C

Other:
-It's an old house that Ruth has tried to fix up. LOTS of clutter from antiques. Probably needs a handyman to fix all the little issues, but fine on the whole.
-Breakfast was egg casserole, some sorbet, and an appetizer. We liked it, but it's not dining at the Four Seasons.
-Hot water takes a while to warm up in the shower, but tons of it once it does.
-Ruth doesn't seem to do email. I wouldn't even try. Just call her. She was prompt and polite.

-Great place to stay. It's kind of a quintessential B&B. It's not perfect, but it makes for a nice get-away. Recommend the Rose room if available.

  • Liked — Great Overall B&B
  • Disliked — The owner was a little inaccessible during the day/night. She said just knock if you need anything, but it would have been nice to see her occasionallly besides breakfast.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest U.S.A.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

My sister and I wanted to get my parents a gift certificate. After two-and-one-half weeks, an email (which was never responded to) and several phone calls, I still do not have my gift certificate. For a bed and breakfast property, I was stunned to hear the statement: "I am in Chicago. I will have to call you tomorrow." Needless to say, we purchased a gift certificate from a different property.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank weary_traveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosesbb, Owner at Roses Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2008
I have no record, either via telephone or email, of having been contacted by this gentleman for the purpose of purchasing a gift certificate, until his phone call on December 19, 2007, at which time he claimed to have ordered a gift certificate two weeks earlier. Several days later I received an angry email, to which I replied offering a discounted price for a gift certificate, which he declined due to purported change in plans. Obviously, 'no good deed goes unpunished'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2003

We would give the place an excellent - but nobody is perfect. Our room was lovely, cozy, quiet and couldn't be cleaner. A lovely fireplace within sight of the whirlpool and even with a double jacuzzi in every suite, there was plenty of hot water. Most of the lights are even on a dimmer switch!It's a quick drive to the lake, but with all the amenities of the suite you may not want to go out!Wait! Why am I telling you all this? I don't want the place to get so popular I can't get a room!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosesbb, Owner at Roses Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2008
This establishment does not have and has never had whirlpools or jacuzzi baths in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.1 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Suites
Bella Vista Suites
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roses Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roses Bed and Breakfast

Property: Roses Bed and Breakfast
Address: 429 South Lake Shore Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing