We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Aurora, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location !”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We (family with 2 kids) stayed in this hotel when Venetian festival was ongoing in Lake Geneva during August third week. You won't go wrong with location of this hotel being right on lake and nearby all the main street activity. Harbor shores hotel has 2 pools (one outdoor and one indoor) and Lake Geneva beach is 5 minute walking distance, and this counts as positive. There is a Gino's East pizza onsite and couple of sit-in restaurants next door. Front desk and breakfast staff was courteous on all 4 occasions we had to interact with them. There are 2 rooms where breakfast is setup but don't expect too many offerings. On negative side, this hotel doesn't have secure key card entry points anywhere and anyone on road can walk-in till guest rooms without being questioned.

Room Tip: Get a lakeview room on 3rd to 5th floor but not lower than that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Proid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Proid,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the downtown area and events! Venetian Festival is a great time of year to come with the whole family!

Thank you again and we look forward to working with you again soon!

Sincerely,
Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    143
    67
    25
    11
See reviews for
87
132
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited Lake Geneva for the first time and stayed here, booking the room online. A few days before arriving I called to request a room that was higher up and away from the restaurant that is attached at the front. (We had read about smoke and exhaust fan noise). They said they would see what they could do. When we arrived, there was no note of my request, and they were going to put us in a first floor room next to the parking lot. But when I told them I had called, they found another room that was in a better location. We were lucky it was mid-week, My advice is to request such a room and ask for the person's name with whom you spoke. It seemed as if the desk clerks were all young college-aged students who were friendly, but not too sharp.
The pools were nice and so was the room. It seemed to have been redecorated recently, with a nice bed too. Each room has a very small balcony that has two chairs for lake view (but look past the parking lot and road).
A pretty good place for the price, and the location is great. The free breakfast was decent, with a clean area and two different locations in the hotel in case of large crowds The best restaurants and pubs are right next door, and so are the public beach and boat tour docks. Walk two blocks and you're on the path to explore the south shore mansions.
Overall, we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Get higher room away from restaurant. Rooms have microwave, DVD player and good sized fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carney33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear carney33,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our lakeviews and great location. I apologize that there was no note of your request for a specific room or floor. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests requests, although, based on availablility we are not able to make any guarantees. I do apologize that you had a negative experience with our front desk associates who are in fact very friendly and knowledgeable. Summer is a very busy time for us, however we do our best to ensure the best in customer service. Thankfully, we were able to get you into a room that you found comfortable and we hope that you visit us again on your next trip to Lake Geneva.

Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you soon!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a five night stay at the Harbor Shores. We had a wonderful time. The staff was terrific, especially Monica. They took care of everything we needed. We originally booked a non-lakeview room but when we got to the room decided we wanted to upgrade. This was handled in just a matter of minutes with a small upcharge. Not sure why there are complaints about the continental breakfast and the fitness center. Sure the breakfast doesn't include bacon or sausage or other breakfast treats but, after all people, it's a continental breakfast and it's free. If you want eggs and bacon go to Egg Harbor (the restaurant not the town). The fitness center isn't great but my wife and I worked out three mornings and had no trouble getting a good workout in. The hotel is not a restaurant nor is it a Lifetime Fitness Center. It is primarily a place to sleep and be comfy and my wife and I both loved our stay at Harbor Shores and will likely stay there again.

Room Tip: The best rooms are truly the Lakeview rooms and try and get the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tjl5723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear tjl5723,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We take great pride in our helpful and friendly staff and are glad to hear you had a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Lake Geneva!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinley park, il
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was a bit disappointed with this choice for the price. The location is perfect, but for the price I would think some updating needs to be done. I really dont like an outdoor pool to be facing the main street and everyone walking by can see everyone lounging around. It doesnt state that in the description or should it? The indoor pool and hot tub seems very nice, but the sewer odor downstairs was not attractive.
The room itself was fine, bedding was a bit old, sheets didnt fit the mattress and pillows a bit old. The bed itself was comfy, and I must admit, had a good night sleep.
A good place if you are staying for a couple days. Fridge, microwave and a supply of utensils, plus coffee pot, would make this ideal.
The continental breakfast was laking a few things compared to other breakfasts I have seen.
No fruit, boiled eggs, and no bread for toast at the time we got there.

Our bigget peave was we were greated by ant infestation after coming back for the night. Have no idea what brought them on, but we called for something to be done and the maintenance man came promptly. We didnt have a problem after that.

Another plus, Ginos East pizza is located right in the hotel.
I could recommend this place as an ok place for one night as we did, but if you are looking for a nice pool and more atmosphere, there are other places near by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitnesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear fitnesstraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are sorry to hear you had some disappointments with your stay. We constantly work on updating our property, amenities and guest rooms and appreciate any and all feedback. I'm sorry that you found our complimentary breakfast was lacking. There are several great restaurants within walking didstantce to our property and our staff would've been happy to offer suggestions for something more fulfilling.

I can imagine your frustration upon returning to your room to find ants, we appreciate you letting us know so that we were able to address the issue right away.

Thank you again for choosing Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We hope you give us a chance again to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Pool did not have enough chairs, no towels . Breakfast was ok at best., You may be better off not offering breakfast. Work out facility was a joke, better off not having one or at least update. the equipment
location is great

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Donna B,

Thank your for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are happy to hear you had a good stay with us. Harbor Shores does offer a light complimentary continental breakfast, at no charge to our guests. If any of our guests are looking for a hot breakfast or even just a little something more, our front desk staff is happy and ready to offer some suggestions for breakfast that are very close by.

We are constantly working to update and improve our property, amenities and guest rooms. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to do our best to keep all of our facilities updated.

Thank you again for choosing Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva and we look forward to working with you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here a half a dozen times and it is always ok . Nothing is to great or to bad, the location is it's best friend . The staff is good and Gino's East is a good spot to eat. I can't say I will return to Lake Geneva again it just is'nt what it used to be. Harbor Shores is not the reason why.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigTlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear BigTlk,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. It is unfortunate that you didn't enjoy your time while visiting however we do hope that should you return to Lake Geneva you consider Harbor Shores to host your stay.

Thank you,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Excellent location. Beach and shops are within walking distance. Asked for single king bed, received 2 queen. Very disappointed that our Lake view, which we paid extra for, was the roof top view to Gino's pizza! Avoid the second floor if possible!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are happy to hear you found our location and close proximity to the downtown area convenient. I am sorry to hear that you were not granted your original guest accommodation request, however while we do try our best, we are not able guarantee that we can meet every request. The biggest part of that would be what our availability and occupancy is at that time. We do welcome any requests and we will do our best to accommodate you. In the future, we encourage you to still make your requests when making your reservation. If it happens that you did not receive the view or bed type you were hoping for, please feel free to let the front desk know, and if we are able based on occupancy, we will do our best to make it right for you!

Thank you again for your time and for staying with us. We look forward to working with you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.1 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Suites
Bella Vista Suites
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva

Property: Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Address: 300 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toll Free Reservations: 888-746-7371 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Shores On Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing