We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Value, Good Location”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We just spent two nights here . Room was clean and comfortable . We enjoyed the outdoor pool area and being able to walk to most everything we did . Gino's East is a nice spot, the breakfast is really not worth getting up for . But overall
A good time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear BigTlk,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the downtown area and its amenities. In the future, our staff would be more than happy to suggest some great breakfast options that are just a short, beautiful walk from our front door! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    143
    67
    25
    11
See reviews for
87
132
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

It's really a nice hotel with the best view of Geneva Lake of any of the hotels. It is right in town, so it is an easy walk to the downtown. Rooms have been upgraded and are really comfortable. It's a great value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Roger W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the downtown area and all of its amenities! We are always working on updating and modernizing our guest rooms and appreciate your feedback! We are happy that you found our accommodations to your liking!

Thank you,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I just returned from Lake Geneva. We had great time. The Harbor Shores location was awesome. I had not visited Lake Geneva in about 10 years and this was my husband's first visit...so being at a central location where we could find everything was important to us. We were able to walk everywhere...and we did! Over the whole weekend, we only used our car once to go to a local bowling alley on a rainy night. We were able to walk right across the street to Marina Bay to rent a wave runner. We especially appreciated being to able to walk to and from the local bars late at night and not having to worry about having a designated driver or calling a cab. We choose not to pay extra for the lake view but I would only choose to do that if I wanted to spend more time at the hotel...we were too busy exploring to stick around. The room we had was okay...it was clean and the bed was comfortable for us. I did not use the indoor pool but the outdoor pool and whirlpool was nice enough. I noticed that people were able to bring their own coolers full of beer and drinks (as long as there was no glass) in order to enjoy them on the pool deck, which is convenient. As a native Chicagoan, I wasn't planning on eating Gino's East (since there are so many other options nearby) but the smell was calling out to us on a cold rainy night...the deep dish pizza was as good as I remember. I do have a few complaints: We noticed a faint stale smoke smell whenever we just walked into our room even though all the rooms are supposedly non-smoking rooms. The smell would go away after a while...or maybe we just got used to it. Twice, we had housekeepers knock on our door before 9:30 which is too early when we like to sleep in on vacation. My last complaint is that breakfast is over at 9:00 (too early for the stated reasons) although we woke up early enough to take advantage on our last day. We were one of the last people to arrive and there was still a loooooong line for the waffle maker. They could definitely use one more waffle maker since this was the only hot item available besides toaster bagels, which made it very popular. They kept the breakfast room open as long as we needed (everyone in line got to make their waffle) but they started clearing the food and drinks at around 9:15. Overall this was a decent place to stay at...the location won us over (right next door to the beautiful Baker House). We were ready to book here again for labor day weekend but sadly they were all booked up.

Room Tip: If you pay extra for a lake view room, you will also have a balcony to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nodalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Nodalo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Returning after 10 years had to be exciting to see all of the new restaurants and quaint shops that have come into the downtown area!

We apologize for any discomfort you experienced regarding the odor in your room. In the future, please let our front desk staff know and we will do what we can to make your stay more comfortable. Also, if you do not wish to make it down for our continental breakfast, our staff would be happy to offer suggestions for breakfast that are just a short, beautiful walk from our front door! We do appreciate your suggestions and we will certainly consider looking into some additional options to our continental breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We have family the lake and spend most of our daytime there but like to retreat at night and this is perfect. Lakefronts all have balconies (park view do not). Continental breakfast got too crowded after 7:30 or 8AM so go early. Cereal, bagles. Muffins, Good waffles (self-serve, no fruit, no meats).

Definitely our new place to stay if we can get a decent rate.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtmoderate876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear jtmoderate876,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our Lakeview rooms. We are always looking for ways to improve and update our property in all areas and appreciate your feedback on the breakfast we offer. In the future, if you are looking for more than the items offered, our friendly staff would be happy to offer suggestions for breakfast that are just a short, beautiful walk from our front door! We would also be happy to hear suggestions from our guests as to what they would like to see at our continental breakfast! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and were very happy with the hotel. Our room was very clean. The front desk staff was friendly. The view from our room and the location was ideal. We enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor pools. We ate next door at The Baker House for an upscale dining experience and we ate at Ginos East for a more casual dinner. We had lunch one day at Popeye's and we also had lunch the Cove's restaurant. All of our meals were great and conveniently close to the hotel. We also did the full lake tour which is always fun.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronasing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear ronasing2,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the many amenities that are just steps from our front door! We are happy that you found our staff and accommodations to your liking and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Thank you!,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

It really was fine. This was a hopping place- many young people buzzing around...a jewelry/purse sale in the lobby...seemingly pretty booked. Harbor Shores has a fantastic location which is VERY important if you want to take advantage of the downtown stores, lake and restaurants and just don't want to get back into the car for the weekend. But there are other choices if you are looking for more than average. The pluses: location, breakfast included, indoor and outdoor pool, great view of lake in lakeview rooms. The negatives: breakfast is slightly below average for hotel chains continental breakfasts, bedding kind of opposite of plush, we asked for an extra pillow but we had to come down to get it ourselves at 11pm, elevator trouble (could have been a one time occurrence). The rates are not as high here as others in the area and the staff was very nice so these are extra pluses:) Overall, not a bad place to stay especially if you are there for the other things Lake Geneva offers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Straightforwardme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Pattyworld,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the downtown area and all that Lake Geneva has to offer!

We are continuously updating and making improvements to our guest rooms and have recently added new linens! I apologize for the inconvenience of having to come down to the front desk for an extra pillow. Unfortunately at that hour, there are times when we only have one person at the front desk and they are not able to leave it unattended. We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests in order to provide them with the best experience possible during their stay at Harbor Shores!

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here for our 3-day Mother/Daughter Getaway and found this hotel to have the perfect location and the view was absolutely beautiful for sipping our morning coffee on our patio. We were within walking distance to everything and could just leave our vehicle at the hotel. We enjoyed our stay here and equally enjoyed the beautiful lake. I plan on going back someday and would definitely stay at the Harbor Shores again......thank you for a fun and interesting three days.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or above on the Baker House side are the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcerwick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We feel we are the perfect hotel for mother/daughter get aways for many reasons! Whether its our amazing lake views, close proximity to all of the downtown Lake Geneva amenities, or a walk along the lake path, just to name a few, our helpful staff is happy to offer suggestions and ideas for things to do around town! We are happy you found our location to your liking and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Thank you,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.1 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Suites
Bella Vista Suites
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva

Property: Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Address: 300 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toll Free Reservations: 888-746-7371 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Shores On Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing