We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Glenview, Illinois
1 review
“OK, but not great”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were reasonably clean, but not quite all the way. A fingernail clipping on the floor made wonder whether the room had really been vacuumed. There were a lot of cigarette butts in the little garden outside of our room. The hallways are very dingy and dark. The breakast was OK, but no fresh fruit. So, the location is good with young kids cause the lake is right across the road. Overall, it was fine, but not fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan36052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Joan36052,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are always pleased to hear that our staff is friendly and helpful. I apologize for the cleanliness of your room upon arrival. In the rare event this happens we ask that you call down to the front desk so that the matter can be resolved immediately. The comfort of our guests is our top priority at Harbor Shores. I am happy to hear that you found our location convenient to the activities you had planned with your family and am glad that you were happy with your overall stay.

Thank you for choosing Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    154
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
98
153
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I flew into Chicago to visit my partner who was working by Lake Geneva and this was the hotel that he'd been staying at. So for one night we stayed here and it was fine. Basic but very clean and comfortable with friendly staff. The location for Lake Geneva couldn't be better as it faces the lake so the views are fantastic.
For breakfast I advice walking around the corner to the main street for a choice of fantastic meals in a great diner.

This place must be fantastic in good weather, unfortunately we had snow but then it was November!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_britts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear lady_britts,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are happy that you found our accommodations to your liking and that our staff was friendly and helpful during your short stay. It's great that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to downtown Lake Geneva and try some of our great restaurants! I would highly recommend a return trip to Lake Geneva in the warmer months so that you are able to take in the full experience and we look forward to having you stay with us at Harbor Shores again!

Thank you,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We were somewhat hesitant after reading some bad reviews on this property. But decided to give it a try anyways. As the pricing was great for a Saturday in Lake Geneva.

The ONLY bad thing I can say is that for some reason the there was only one door on the sliding closet doors (keeps you from leaving anything! LOL)

Everything was clean. The staff was very nice. Walking distance to downtown.

I'm not sure if Best Western still had interest in this property but I was never able to stay before because of their two night stay policy on the weekends (even during an off season time of year). I am so happy that single night stays are allowed now.

The stocked kitchenette was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brat_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Brat_5,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are pleased that you chose to give Harbor Shores a try for your stay in Lake Geneva. We are no longer a Best Western Hotel and we no longer require a 2 night minimum as most places require, which we have found make trip planning much easier for our guests! We are very happy that you enjoyed your time and our accomodates and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Thank you,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Just returned from 3 days; 2 nights spent in beautiful Lake Geneva. It was our first trip to this location. The Harbor Shores Hotel was everything and more for our stay. We had a great 5th floor lakeside view with a balcony. We watched the sunset both nights we were there. We drove around one afternoon and there wasn't another hotel anywhere that would have had a better location. Thanks for a wonderful stay. Also ate dinner both nights at the attached Ginos Chicago Pizza and that was very good too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takeatripsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear takeatripsoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. While it is slightly more to stay in a lakeview room, our guests find it well worth the few extra dollars to be able to take in the amazing, unobstructed views of Geneva Lake and the beautiful sunsets!

Thank you for choosing Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva! We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Lake Geneva!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

It's located in a convenient place, but, it's old and dirty. Definitely the owner doesn't care or the manager is not doing his/her job. We booked a non-smoking room and the welcome when entered was a strong cigarette odor.
The breakfast is a joke, really, not even 1 banana for something natural and healthy.
Very expensive for the service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmeshakti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Esmeshakti,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We sincerely apologize for your discomfort during your stay. We are constantly striving to improve and update our guest rooms making them as comfortable as we possibly can for our guests. Had you notified our front desk of the smell upon arriving to your room, we would have been happy to offer you new accomodations.

We apologize for your disappointment in our continential breakfast. In the future if you choose to give Harbor Shores another chance to host your stay, our front desk staff would be happy to offer suggestions for breakfast that are just a short, beautiful walk from our front door!

Thank you again for you time and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We had a beautiful day to enjoy Lake Geneva. Our room was great with a super view of the lake and sitting on our balcony was a plus. Harbor Shores is so close to the downtown, boat tour docks and the walking path along the shoreline. Especially enjoyed a couple lunches at Egg Harbor Cafe, the "Mailboat" tour and gawking at the mansions on a two mile walk on the shoreline path to the left of the hotel. A must do!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear WisconsinRetired,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy our close proximity to the downtown area and experience some of the activities offered so close by! Treating yourself to a lakeview room is definitely a plus when staying with us as our unobstructed views of Geneva Lake cannot be beat!

Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Lake Geneva!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Nothing fancy about this hotel, but it was pleasant and had everything you need for an extended stay. The room was fine, had a queen bed and a sleep sofa; mini-kitchenette with microwave, fridge, sink, cupboards with dishes etc. The bed was comfortable; bathroom was well equipped except the towels were kind of small and thin. I didn't request a view so didn't have any of the complaints I've seen in other reviews about inadequate scenery. Rate was very reasonable, I thought. ($113)
Common areas were typical beach resort hotel - lots of kids running around, screaming, playing on the luggage carts (not the hotel's fault!); jewelry vendors in the lobby; slow elevators. The continental breakfast was basic, nothing special - Froot Loops and bagels. I think they had make-your-own-waffles.
Staff were a mix: One was great, really worked hard to help me get the recalcitrant computer in the lobby going. On the other hand, when I checked out and told the guy the remote needed batteries, he ignored me to help another guest. I said "Did you hear what I said about the remote?" and he was all "Oh no, sorry, did you say something?"

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear FoodieOnAHarley,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are happy that your were comfortable in the accomodations we provide and that you found our rates reasonable for your stay. The summer months are a very busy time in Lake Geneva and full of families and guests young and old enjoying our close proximity to the beach and other area activities!

I find it unfortuate that you felt ignored by one of our staff members and sincerely apologize. Please know that the very few customer service issues we do come across are addressed with staff immediatly. We hope you choose Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva again for your next stay in the Lake Geneva area!

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.1 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
602 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
0.2 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva

Property: Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Address: 300 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toll Free Reservations: 888-746-7371 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Shores On Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing