We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very disappointing foor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Harborside Cafe

Harborside Cafe
Ranked #73 of 94 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, very disappointing foor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice view of the lake, service was good, but food was mediocre at best. Hubs and I ordered ordered cheese quesadilla and patty melt, $9.00 each. Quesadilla was filled with american cheese only, tube of sour cream and small plastic cup of watery salsa alongside. Patty melt was ordered medium rare, served well done, but then the patty was as thick as a McD's burger so not sure how they could cook a burger that size MR. Fries were not hot and soft. Very disappointed with the food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    9
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This restaurant was right by the lake with a great view. We ate outside on a beautiful sunny day. The server was extremely nice and the food was outstanding. We shared a bbq chicken wrap. This wrap was one of the best wraps that we have had in a while. The receipt also had a $4.00 off coupon for a boat tour which we used the next day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,il
1 review
“Don't waste your $!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Mahi Mahi were 8 fish sticks on a plate with no sides! For $17!!! Took us forever just to get silverware. Soup came out with no spoon, salad was lettuce with a a slice of tomato & a slice of cucumber & no dressing (took forever to get that too). Worst $ spent! Bill was $60 for a very unpleasant meal for 2 people

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachGtrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for a quick bite to eat - great view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is right off the lake with a nice view, I'm sure in the summer time it's nice to be able to walk up to their outside order window to get some grub.

The first time we tried to go it was 5:15 pm on a Thursday and they were closed, we went the next day about 2 pm and they said "yea we were slow yesterday so we closed at 3" ... um, ok?

We each got a drink both from draft and shared cheese curds, they weren't good at all, from a frozen commercial bag I'm sure.

From where we sat - at the bar - you could see the cook his name was Speedo he's the owner, he didn't seem to take much care in keeping his cooking areas clean and I'd see him touch foods and not wash his hands or use gloves.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harborside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Harborside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing