We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Point Estate

Black Point Estate
Ranked #7 of 40 things to do in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mansion was once the summer estate of 19th-century beer magnate Conrad Seipp.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It takes an hour by boat to get to the Black Point Estate. It's a pleasant and informative boat ride to the destination ... over 100 stairs up to the house but an inviting porch is waiting for you. Informative tour ... it's a little long at about 2 hours ... and then you take the boat back to Lake Geneva. Our family of four had a very nice time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    20
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kokomo, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Much History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Awesome to take a boat tour that provided us details about the locals and the history of the lake homes around Geneva Lake. After touring the Black Pointe Mansion, I was so impressed with the history of the home and all of the original furniture and belongings of the Conrad Seipp family.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful! The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I have been on so many tours of house I couldn't count them all. This was by far the best! The tour guides were so friendly and knew so much! Everything was still the same and it would have been a hundred years ago. Nothing was removed or replaced. Most of the things were from before the civil war, just as the family used it. Even their clothes and and medicine the family used was still there and you could see it. You could walk in the rooms see in the full closets. You could see everything and even on the deck, upstairs and down. The tour is out side and in. I have never gotten so much awesome facts and info on a tour before. Also seen so much of the org. belongs to the family.
I also like the boat ride. To travel to the house the way they family had to get there, really brought you back in time. So relaxing. The wind of the lake. Great houses and info.

Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, lots of stairs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

A great way to spend an afternoon, if you don't mind stairs. A narrated cruise around the lake, lots of stairs up, a guided tour of the mansion, and lots of stairs back down. A nice way to see what life was like on Geneva Lake back in the day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank fsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
222 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Boat Trip / Historic Mansion Combo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

On an extraordinarily hot day in Lake Geneva, it was a real treat to take the cruise around Geneva Lake [Important factoid: "Lake Geneva" is the town, "Geneva Lake" is the body of water] whose main destination was a two-hour visit to Black Point Estate on the far shore. Our on-board boat driver and lake guide was an exceptionally charming young man who was full of interesting facts about the estates that line the lake and the very wealthy families that built and/or now occupy them.

After 45 minutes of cruising, you arrive at the foot of a somewhat daunting set of stairs that lead up to the mansion's front door. "By boat" is still the only way that visitors can get to Black Point. The mansion was built by a 19th century beer baron and occupied by his family until just a few years ago, when it was donated to the State of Wisconsin. The house was VERY warm, but the docents provided ice-water-soaked cloths to wrap around the back of our necks. The tour was well done and the house and its mostly original furnishings most interesting to see.

After the house tour, we continued our cruise around the lake for another 45 minutes with further excellent commentary from our lake guide. The boat, though fairly basic, was comfortable enough and included a well-stocked bar, reasonably priced, and we enjoyed a box lunch (which you have to order in advance, when making your reservation).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Point Estate also viewed

 

Been to Black Point Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing