We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Geneva Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Geneva Motel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Wichita
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worst place ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Be warned, do not stay at this resort.......sucks big time its not a family friendly place. too much noise at night and people are smoking in non-smoking rooms. Better choice elsewhere. When to complain to staff, they make out they will send someone to investigate, but that never happens.

Room Tip: all rooms are bad........
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    2
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find. This little gem is a few blocks from the lake and the center of town. A beautiful pool and very hospitable owners. Our California relatives loved the place, said it seemed so retro! We will be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank regorwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for the first time in July and had to come back in Aug.
This was a very nice motel that accepted dogs, which was perfect!
Stayed in a cozy little cottage that had a microwave oven, a mini fridge, and a coffee pot.
Coffee was provided in the room.The cottage was very nicely decorated and updated.
The grounds were very well maintained and the pool was clean and refreshing.
They had flower pots all around, with solar butterflies and hummingbirds that were placed in them.
This was a very nice touch,as they changed color at night.
The owners were very nice and welcoming.All around this was a very nice experience and will be coming back again.

Room Tip: A quiet and relaxing place to stay with motel rooms and small cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were not disappointed in this motel. We read reviews on Trip Adviser and they were right on. Mr and Mrs Z were great hosts. The motel was clean, comfortable and quiet. The owners were not afraid to ask us if we were having a pleasant stay. They knew about the area and gave us good references for meals, shopping and sightseeing.
We stayed there with two other couples and are planning to return next year. Do not be afraid to stay at this property because it is small and not a chain.
Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: All are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glasmen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I went to Lake Geneva with a friend of mine and we had a wonderful stay at Lake Geneva Motel. The owners were welcoming and told us how to get around. The motel room was very clean and quiet. The bathroom seemed newly remodeled and the room itself was inviting. The beds were very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others. The price is quite reasonable as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KMitchell224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

During my Lake Geneva getaways, both for business & leisure, I've been staying at the LGM exclusively for almost 15 years now. It's the best motel in town, by-far. Location is excellent, just a couple blocks from the lake and downtown. Restaurant and mini-golf are adjacent to the property. The heated pool is exceptionally clean and well-maintained. Several cozy cottages are available in addition to the main rooms. The management/owners are very hospitable, helpful, and continually making upgrades to the rooms in order to maximize the comfort of their guests.

I can't afford the exorbitant rates at the Lake Geneva hotels & resorts...but even if I could, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The LGM is a terrific value for the money. Close to downtown, safe, quiet, cozy property, a clean pool, memory-foam mattresses, flat-screen TVs with hundreds of channels including free HBO, clean rooms with clean microwaves & coffee-makers, etc, etc. It's not "the Hilton"...but if you prefer clean motels with a friendly atmosphere rather than high-priced, impersonal castles, then look no further. The LGM is one of those rare motels which feels more like a hotel...and I've met many fellow quests who have been coming back for many years. That says a lot about a motel. And I speak from experience, since I prefer to stay in motels only and have stayed at many different ones throughout the upper-midwest. The LGM ranks at the top of my list.

Room Tip: The little cabins are especially cozy (not available during the winter months, unfortunately).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to Lake Geneva for our wedding anniversary and did not have a reservation. All hotels were booked and very expensive. Lake Geneva Motel still had vacancy and we were very pleased we stayed there, as the room (cabin) was nice and clean, the place was quiet and the staff very pleasant. It was exactly what we were looking for. There is also a mini golf on site and a nice pool. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChicagoAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.4 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Geneva Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Geneva Motel

Property: Lake Geneva Motel
Address: 524 Wells St., Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Motel 10 minutes walking distance to Geneva Lake. In-room coffee, wireless internet, outdoor heated pool, cottages, FREE HBO, Well maintained cozy and comfortable rooms set on 2 acres park like setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing