We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place on Lake Como”
Review of Mars Restaurant

Mars Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 94 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Aurora, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Special Place on Lake Como”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Besides a great view of Lake Como, Mars is a casual and fun place with decent food. It's a place where the locals go. We prefer a seat at the bar when available because we enjoy talking and laughing with whoever is near us. Prices are good and bar service is prompt and friendly. Mars is a hidden gem, tucked in the residential woods near the French Country Inn and Geneva Ridge Resort. Weekend evenings you can sit around the piano and sing along to the tunes you know.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dfirszt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    66
    29
    7
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Burgers and Ribs!!!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I go to Mars when I really need a great bite to eat. I usually order a burger and probably the best burgers around! These burgers won't disappoint you. Plus, great people who work there. Really recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BurgerFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Its a classic!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been coming to Mars since I was 8! Now 30+ years later it looks the same and the food is still good. Now dont expect gourmet but the ribs are very good, chicken drummies are a kid favorite...and mine! The Fried Shrimp...which I cant have since my gluten issue, was very good. They make a great flavorful steak! It has a neat view of Como and the service is always friendly. Prices are decent. My son loves the ribs so do I as well as my father...it is generations of good food!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ejeckert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Ole Wisconsin Supper Club”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Part of the charm of Mars Restaurant is they are going on 25 years and not much has changed. This was our first time dining here and old and charming it is. Located out of the town of Lake Geneva, it is hidden off Hwy 50 headed west (turn right on the road just past the Pesche Garden Nursery).

It is a throwback to the Wisconsin Supper Club. Order an Olde Fashioned Cocktail and relax and just take in the view of Lake Como. The lake view kept our focus off the aging atmosphere. We ordered the ribs and they were quite good. Better than the fried chicken that can be ordered alone or in combination with the ribs. Really liked the steakfries side. Ask for the evenings specials as our server neglected to inform us and we overheard other servers informing their guests of entree specials and soup du jour.

Go for a beautiful sunset on Lake Como and at least try this place we have heard so much of over the years. We are glad we went...at least this once.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IXLR842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Food was ok nothing to write about. However the view is beautiful. It's just a short walk from The French Country Inn who's restaurant has not reopened yet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sanditoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mars Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mars Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing