We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to kick off the holiday season!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort
Heyworth, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a way to kick off the holiday season!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We just got back from four nights, five days at the Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort (The Grand Geneva really IS grand!), and we could not be happier with the experience. The Christmas in the Country light show -- fully a MILLION lights -- would have been worth the trip alone. Couple that with primo villa accommodations (a two bedroom lockout translates to two fully equipped villas with an adjoining door), free wifi, a world-class spa and sports center, access to all the resort activities at the Grand Geneva, unique area shopping and fine dining, and I cannot imagine how one could wish for anything more. We especially enjoyed the "spill the beans" history of Starbucks event and the horse drawn carriage ride through historic Lake Geneva. Breakfast with a breathtaking view was memorable; the pool and hot tub were well maintained, and because we were there during the week, they were not crowded. The health club facilities and amenities were up-to-date; one could spend an entire day there and not run out of things to do. Inside the Grand Geneva, I was reminded of days gone by when Marshal Fields' Christmas windows mandated an annual pilgrimage to the Loop. In the future, we may have to make a trek to Lake Geneva a regular part of ramping up for the holidays. The decorations and displays were wonderfully over the top! Oh -- and if you opt to dine off site, be sure to hit Bistro 220 and the Tuscan. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ground floor villas are easy access -- perfect for unloading and loading the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmcless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi there. It was so wonderful to read about your holiday stay with us at Lake Geneva. You give your fellow TripAdvisor community great ideas about fun activities to help you get the most out of a stay with us. It’s always so great to immerse yourself where you are staying and find out as much as you can about the local culture. How nice that you were able to reminisce of holidays gone by. We loved hearing about your stay and we hope to be able to host you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    44
    15
    6
    16
See reviews for
47
53
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed Nov 18 for 2 nights. Very nice property. Bed was very soft. Very pleasant staff on site.
Disappointed no fireplace in our unit (212)

I was thrilled to find out the Grand Geneva was holding their Country Christmas light ceremony that evening. Over 1 Million lights, entertainment, hot chocolate and cookies, and ended with fireworks! What a great event. They also had trolley tours to see the lights on property twice per evening. A must see!

My only complaint was the "cleaning fee". I could understand if there was daily cleaning service, but there was not. My understanding is if you stay a full week, this fee is waived.

Would definatelty return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lookingforsun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi there. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than hearing all about your vacations. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take in the Christmas Light Ceremony. It’s always wonderful to take advantage of local traditions when you are on vacation. We understand your concerns regarding fees and no fireplace in your unit. We encourage our guests to let us know of any issues that you encounter during your stay, as we want to make sure you have the best vacation experience possible. We appreciate you staying with us, and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was looking for a hotel for me and my 4 other friends. The problem is that there is a law in Lake Geneva that you can not have more than 4 people in a room. Good thing my friend told me about this place! It was perfect for a get-away. It had a fully stocked kitchen, an electric fireplace, a balcony and a clean room. We had a view of the golf course. It was not "close" to downtown Lake Geneva but it really doesn't matter. We could have also used the Grand Geneva's hotel amenities.

I would go back for sure even if I had less than 5 guests.

Room Tip: Get one with a fireplace....especially during the fall/winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunscreen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there, thanks so much for letting us know about your vacation. We understand that occupancy laws can be tricky for traditional hotels rooms in Lake Geneva. This is why we are proud to offer our guests more value and room to spread out while they are no vacation. How wonderful that you and your friends were able to enjoy a vacation together and still relax. You give a great tip about having a fireplace in the winter, they sure are cozy. You couldn't give us any higher compliment than a return stay, we can’t wait to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We are currently on day 3 of our "vacation" and disappointed. Parking lots are fairly empty so might have been nice to stagger the rooms to cut down on noise from above and sides to make the thin walls and flooring less obvious. In addition, the water park runs $21 per kiddo and $5 for each parental observer. That's not crazy but seems like something worth comping to make up for the closed pools due to season. And I did see the nice warning note on the table but still disturbed by the bug infestation. When you are eating breakfast and they fly at your face, it's over the line. And bed looked amazing but caused back pain. I was happy get out of it in the morning. Thought Id look forward to hot tub to ease my pain but guess what... didn't work.

Room Tip: leave your kids at home.. you'll complain enough on your own so probably dont want to hear how b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there, thanks so much for your review. We understand that it can be difficult to enjoy many of the outside amenities while on vacation during the colder months. Luckily, we have been able to partner with the Grand Geneva resort for our guests to be able to take advantage of their many inside amenities. We always encourage our guests to let us know of any issues that they experience while they are on-site with us. We also take the issue of pest control very seriously. We have attempted to contact you through private message to find out more about your specific unit, to check it for treatment. We are constantly hearing rave reviews about our beds and understand that they may differ from your beds that you are used to sleeping on at home. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

TERRIBLE SERVICE.. Our experience was truly one of those horror stories you see on Dateline. We had just two nights to celebrate our anniversary. We booked through Hotels.com... when they wouldn't accommodate the room we paid for, Holiday Inn Reservations and the Grand Geneva Liason were unwilling to help. Over 10 hours wasted on our vacation just to get the room we had reserved. The "customer service" rep DAWN should find another job... she has no clue what hospitality means. The Holiday Inn Staff, especially Dawn, said "oh, gee I'm sorry you're getting screwed by hotels.com.. that's your problem not mine". This is not the type of experience Grand Geneva would EVER let happen and their name is getting tarnished because of their relationship with Holiday Inn. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. Thank goodness Grand Geneva management took over! When GG Manager Aaron finally took over, we felt like our voice was finally being heard and someone actually cared about us as guests. I will NEVER stay w/Holiday Inn Club Vacations again. The site is beautiful, the service in the Grand Geneva restaurants, bars, and front desk are all wonderful. We will pay the extra few dollars to stay with GG next time, to have service and hospitality the way it should be.

Room Tip: rooms near elevator are loud with an awkward layout. Be careful reserving w/Holiday, they are separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review. We are shocked in reading your review, as this is not the level of service that we demand from our employees, or that our customers have come to expect. In an attempt to find out more about your specific situation, we have attempted to contact you through private message. We value each and every one of our customers and are constantly striving to make sure that they have the very best vacation experience possible. We look forward to hearing from you to help make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
374 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for one week on an RCI extra vacation and were quite pleased. Our unit overlooked the #1 hole of the golf course and it was clean and very well appointed. Although the kitchen was quite small, it had everything you would need for a comfortable week here. The unit was long and narrow and you walked right into the bedroom from the hallway. The fact that all the amenities of the Grand Geneva were available to us ,made our stay even nicer. The fitness and spa area were superb and we used it 4 times during our stay. The restaurants at the Grand Geneva resort were all top quality and everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. All the staff seemed happy to help. We played both golf courses, the Brute and Highland and felt they were very challenging and yet friendly. The trees were all turning color which made beautiful pictures. We would stay here again and had a hard time leaving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lanzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there, and welcome home from your recent stay with us. We always love welcoming our RCI Exchange friends to our properties. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us, after all that’s why we’re here. It’s so great that you were able to really relax and take advantage of so many amenities available to our guests. We believe that is the ultimate way to relax on vacation. We’re glad you also got to see some of the beautiful fall colors. You give us so many compliments in your review, we would love to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The accomodations are very much like the newer accomodations at Orange Lake in Orlando Fl. They share amenities with the Grand Geneva Resort(originally the Playboy Club at Lake Geneva). The Cafe restaurant has an interesting menu and is reasonably priced. The two golf courses are very well maintained and interesting to play. We did not take advantage of the pools or fitness center but from what we saw they appeared to be excellent facilities. The signage around the property leaves a bit to be desired, but that is a minor point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SavannahSteve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
It’s great to hear from you about your vacation getaway with us. We always enjoy hearing about how our guests spent their time. You are correct that the property has had many historical tenants who we are glad to share a history with. We’re pleased to hear that you were able to view and or enjoy many of the amenities around the resort. It’s always nice to take advantage of those. We appreciate your comments about the signage. We’d love to host you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort
Address: 7037 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105 (Formerly Orange Lake at Lake Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort is a premier resort offering spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas complete with amenities such as fully equipped kitchens, dining areas, living rooms with fireplaces, and everything a guest might need to enjoy their Home away from Home ! With access to all the amenities of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa , Holiday Inn Club Vacation guests can enjoy amenities such as indoor and outdoor swimming pools, multiple dining options, a Sport Center with tennis, basketball and volleyball courts, a rock-climbing wall, two championship golf courses and more options to keep your vacation full of new experiences. From skiing, golf and horseback riding, to tennis, snowboarding, and a full service spa, this resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing