We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very clean and lovely grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
374 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Very clean and lovely grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for one week on an RCI extra vacation and were quite pleased. Our unit overlooked the #1 hole of the golf course and it was clean and very well appointed. Although the kitchen was quite small, it had everything you would need for a comfortable week here. The unit was long and narrow and you walked right into the bedroom from the hallway. The fact that all the amenities of the Grand Geneva were available to us ,made our stay even nicer. The fitness and spa area were superb and we used it 4 times during our stay. The restaurants at the Grand Geneva resort were all top quality and everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. All the staff seemed happy to help. We played both golf courses, the Brute and Highland and felt they were very challenging and yet friendly. The trees were all turning color which made beautiful pictures. We would stay here again and had a hard time leaving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lanzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there, and welcome home from your recent stay with us. We always love welcoming our RCI Exchange friends to our properties. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us, after all that’s why we’re here. It’s so great that you were able to really relax and take advantage of so many amenities available to our guests. We believe that is the ultimate way to relax on vacation. We’re glad you also got to see some of the beautiful fall colors. You give us so many compliments in your review, we would love to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    41
    15
    6
    15
See reviews for
45
51
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The accomodations are very much like the newer accomodations at Orange Lake in Orlando Fl. They share amenities with the Grand Geneva Resort(originally the Playboy Club at Lake Geneva). The Cafe restaurant has an interesting menu and is reasonably priced. The two golf courses are very well maintained and interesting to play. We did not take advantage of the pools or fitness center but from what we saw they appeared to be excellent facilities. The signage around the property leaves a bit to be desired, but that is a minor point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SavannahSteve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
It’s great to hear from you about your vacation getaway with us. We always enjoy hearing about how our guests spent their time. You are correct that the property has had many historical tenants who we are glad to share a history with. We’re pleased to hear that you were able to view and or enjoy many of the amenities around the resort. It’s always nice to take advantage of those. We appreciate your comments about the signage. We’d love to host you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Its having been 35 years since I had been at Lake Geneva -- and that to view what is now the "Grand Geneva Resort" of which this is a part, -- I did not know exactly what to expect. Staying for only two nights to attend a wedding nearby was not the most favorable light in which to evaluate this property. Lake Geneva is a lovely town, the people at this resort were indeed exceptionally nice, but I was looking for a "hotel room" and while our room was a pleasant (though very small rooms) small suite, it lacked the daily maid service that I expect when I am staying at a hotel. The 10:00am checkout was not so desirable for the day after a wedding reception.

Room Tip: I would not refrain from using this because of my rating if you are staying for a longer period than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi there and thank you so much for your review. We’re happy to have been able to host your return to Lake Geneva. You are correct in that we are unlike a traditional hotel room. We offer more space and more value for all of our guests. You are also correct in that we do not offer daily maid service, however services are available upon demand. Many of our guests enjoy the added privacy this allow them. We always encourage all of our guests to let us know if we can do anything to make their stay more enjoyable, this includes late checkout. We would love to host you gain for a longer period of time, to show you how much fun vacationing with us can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Grand Geneva Resort for only two nights. We probably couldn't have spent another night there. We were very pleased with the resort and the accommodations. The rooms were very clean and very nice. It was kept up very nicely. However, the beds were too uncomfortable. The first night, my husband and I were tossing and turning all night waking every couple of hours or so. The second night we slept better, but woke up with horrible back pain. The uncomfortable bed is our only complaint.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Melne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hello! Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort! We appreciate you mentioning that so much was right with your stay, things like spacious accommodations, clean and up-kept villas as well as access to a resort loaded with amenities. On the other hand, it disappoints us to learn that the beds overshadowed everything else that went well. There’s no doubt that the quality of sleeping accommodations (beds, pillows and bedding) is one of the most important things to get right, and we do our very best. However, it’s difficult to get them just right for everyone, as every body has their own preferences. So, we’re sorry to hear your stay was interrupted by less than a good night’s sleep. At the same time, we want all of our guests to be as comfortable as possible. Fortunately, this was the only thing you experienced that wasn’t perfect. But thanks for taking the time to let us know. We’ll share your comment with our management team, and would love to have you back in the future as our villas are always being updated. Thanks, again, for your stay and for your review! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful Property! Excellent Location! Great Value! Tons of great restaurants nearby! Indoor Pools, Outdoor Pools, Golf, Spa Services and much more! We can't wait to come back! The Rooms were updated and very clean!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ialwaysloveflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello there and welcome home from your recent vacation with us. We always love to hear from our guests when they get home from a great vacation. We’re so pleased to hear that we were able to be a great home base for your getaway. You couldn’t give us any higher compliment than a return stay, and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
221 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed here this past weekend for a bachelorette party. It was the perfect place to stay for a family, a couple get a way or a large group. They have all the amenities that you need: Full kitchen with plates, cups, silverware, bake ware, toaster, coffee maker etc, large bathroom-with a large Jacuzzi, living area and separate bedroom area. They even have grills that you can use to grill out. We had two rooms and opened the door in between, It was so beautiful as it looked out onto the golf course. Everything was very clean and decorated very modern and the beds are comfortable. The downfall is that there is no room service and if you want room service, you have to pay anywhere from 15.00 to 60.00 per day depending on what you want-so bring extra towels with you. It's nice though because you have access to all that the Grand Geneva resort offers. I would definitely book here. I have a previous review of the Grand Geneva and would stay here over the Grand Geneva resort. It was a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the golf course. Very peaceful to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisx33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello there. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent celebration trip with us. Bachelorette parties are always so much fun! We’re really happy to hear that our spacious villas were a great place to house your group, and still give you plenty of space to hang out and enjoy each other’s company. You are correct that we differ from a traditional hotel in the fact that we do not over traditional housekeeping services. Many of our guests enjoy the added privacy that this allows them. You give your fellow travelers some great tips for future stays. We can’t wait to see you back again, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Nice resort with 2 golf courses, swimming pools, and more. We went to this resort for a family get together. We had 2 adjoining units, one on the end of the building. The end unit was bigger and nicer than the second. Both had one bedroom with king bed and kitchen and living area with pull out sleep sofa. The sleep sofa was not comfortable enough for an adult in our party, but would probably work for children.The non end unit had a refrigerator that couldn't be opened all the way, because the wall was in the way, very poor planning. The bedroom in the non end unit didn't have black out curtains even though the end unit did.

It is very confusing to find this resort. The GPS had us going in circles for a while. And even though the resort is aware of the problem, they have not improved the signage to make it easier to find.

The swimming pool is not very big but was clean. However, they have organized music and games at the pool 9am to 5pm. This makes it even noisier than the average hotel pool with screaming children, which may be great for the kids, but wasn't my cup of tea.

The units were clean and pleasantly decorated. Everything you could need was provided in the kitchen so you could stay in and cook if you wanted. Internet service worked well. It seemed quiet enough for our stay, but it might depend on who your neighbors are.

All in all it was a pretty good hotel.

Room Tip: End units are definitely nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aardvark19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hi there. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always enjoy hearing from our guests about their stay. It’s so great that you chose us for a family getaway, and even better that you were able to take advantage of our adjoining units so that everyone could spread out but still be able to spend time together in one place.
We’re happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of the amenities and activities around the resort. We apologize if they were a little hard for you to find, or too many activities. But we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort
Address: 7037 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105 (Formerly Orange Lake at Lake Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort is a premier resort offering spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas complete with amenities such as fully equipped kitchens, dining areas, living rooms with fireplaces, and everything a guest might need to enjoy their Home away from Home ! With access to all the amenities of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa , Holiday Inn Club Vacation guests can enjoy amenities such as indoor and outdoor swimming pools, multiple dining options, a Sport Center with tennis, basketball and volleyball courts, a rock-climbing wall, two championship golf courses and more options to keep your vacation full of new experiences. From skiing, golf and horseback riding, to tennis, snowboarding, and a full service spa, this resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing