We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

we did an exchange here for a few days in August. The Holiday Inn Club is on the grounds of the Grand Geneva Resort & you must check in at their main lobby. For us, the process was fast and easy. Our unit had a master bedroom & a pull out couch for our 2 boys ages 13 & 5. We had plenty of room, but we've stayed here before & know that we had the bigger side of a lock off. The smaller side that we stayed in last time was a little cramped so you might want to make sure you know which side you're getting. There is a nice pool & wading pool at the HI club, but you also have access to the indoor and outdoor pool at Grand Geneva. We enjoyed all the pools, the one at GG even had water Zumba on a Thursday afternoon. My husband golfed the Brute course and said it was a great course, but we found a nine hole course nearby that all 4 of us golfed for less than his outing. We also went horseback riding at Dan Patch stables which is on the grounds of the Grand Geneva. Don't let that fool you. I don't believe it is actually owned by the resort because it was rundown and not up to the standards of the rest of the place. They tell you you will be riding through rolling fields & the pictures are pretty, but it was a trail ride past the dumpsters of the waterpark lodge and through a small woods. We didn't eat at the restaurants, but we did our own cooking and the unit had everything we needed. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilibret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Hello. Welcome home from another trip to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Lake Geneva Resort. We love having our guests return year after year. It’s great that once again you and your family had room to spread out and enjoy each other’s company. As you pointed out of spacious and well-stocked villas are the perfect place for a relaxing family getaway. We’re so happy that the resort offered so many activities to keep you and your three boys entertained throughout you stay. Water Zumba must be pretty exciting! You enjoying your stay with us is the ultimate compliment. We look forward to having you back again and again. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    48
    18
    6
    17
See reviews for
54
57
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
196 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The place is not just a HI, that building is in the back, if you don't know to go to the Geneva Resort to check in you are totally confused. Long check in time. Room was very nice, large, king villa. Enough cookware to make a whole meal but no coffee cups. Ended up using a glass, which thankfully didn't break. You can either drive or take the trolley to the buildings where the restaurants are. Did not eat at the steak place but the menu looked good, prices from $40-50 for a steak. At in the bar there and had terrific chicken wings with a stilton sauce, these were wings taken to a whole diferant level, fantastic. The tuna sashimi and tartar was also excellant. Was only there one night on business but it looks to be a big golf place, they also have horse stables and it appears there is a small ski hill. Price was good, don't know what the rest of the years prices are but right now it was a good deal for such a large room. The king bed was in it's own seperate room with a TV. Also a TV in the living room area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Hey there. We are so honored to have a Top Contributor reviewing us. Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we’re doing. With 55 contributors voting your review as helpful, you must know a thing or two about traveling. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Lake Geneva Resort. You are right to point out all of the amenities are available to our guests,—our favorite being the great dining. We are glad that you were able to enjoy this home-away-from-home while traveling on business. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The 2 bedroom we stayed in was nicely furnished & clean. Absolutely no complaints about furnishings or location. We loved sitting on the balconies and watching the golfers. The location is only 5 minutes outside of Lake Geneva. Only complaint would be complete lack of soundproofing. We could hear everything between the walls of one of our neighbors. Unfortunately, they had a young girl who liked to scream and yell every word and run and "play" in the outdoor corridor. Staff was helpful -- our swipe cards both stopped working our first day & security was there within 10 minutes to deliver new cards. Overall, if Lake Geneva is your destination, I think this condo is an exceptional place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyF53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Hi Judy. Welcome home from your vacation. A senior reviewer like you must know a thing or two about great accommodations, and we are so pleased that Holiday Inn Club Vacations Grand Geneva Resort was right up your alley. Golfer watching falls into many of our guests favorite pastimes. It’s pretty fun! We regret that you had to deal with some noisy neighbors during your stay, but glad that you had an amazing vacation experience. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Make sure to ask for Andy in guest activities. He's a great tour guide and help with anything you need. Beautiful resort we stayed in the holiday vacation resort part through our timeshare. The rooms were very nice and clean. The grounds were maintained beautifully. Has a beautiful golf course, just don't try to golf at night. We seen some people with glow in the dark ball trying too and had the fun of watching security try to catch them. Was a good laugh! The have a Starbucks and two other restaurants right on property.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Hey there. Thanks for letting us know how much fun you had on your summer vacation with us in Lake Geneva. We are so glad that our staff was able to cater to your every need and make you feel right at home. We wish that we could have been there to see the “night golfers”. Thanks for the review. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This "hotel" literally does not have any service of its own since they piggyback off of the Grand Geneva resort. Even the front desk is answered by the grand geneva. Not knowing that, we called the "front desk" to ask whether there was a pet policy and they told me YES but apparently the policy is for the grand geneva & not the holiday inn. My family stayed at this location thinking it was a great deal but didn't realize that we would get charged by the holiday inn for the stay as well as $250 extra for the housekeeping from GG for supposed "deep cleaning". I get no answers every time I call GG about the charge & the holiday inn claims they can't do anything about it because they don't even have a pet policy!

Will never stay here again & I would be very wary of charges to your credit card after you check out if you do stay there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Believe1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Hello. Thank you for reviewing our performance at Holiday Inn Club Vacation Grand Geneva Resort. We regret that you encountered some issues during your stay. In an attempt to gather more information from you we have contacted you via private message. We would love to hear from you and come to a resolution for your problem. You did point out that we are not a conventional hotel. Many of our guests find that our policies such as weekly housekeeping allow them more freedom throughout their vacation. However, our goal is for every guest to leave a property with a smile, knowing they had the best vacation experience possible. If this was not the case, we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a great place for a family getaway in Lake Geneva. It is on the grounds of the Grand Geneva and you have access to all Grand Geneva amenities. You can also park for free (valet) when using them (there is free outdoor parking at the Holiday Inn club). We had a standard one-bedroom and it was immaculate and new, with very comfortable beds, a full kitchen, and great furniture. We were on the first floor with a patio with chairs and a table, overlooking the golf course. There is a separate pool for the Holiday Inn club and it was great, with a separate fenced-in kids pool with a mushroom waterfall, perfect for our 2-year-old to run around in. The only issue we had is that people can be loud and rude in the hallways and you can hear them.

It seems that those who put up negative reviews may not have done their research, and therefore did not realize that this is a timeshare. Yes, you have to check-in at the Grand Geneva, and there is not daily housekeeping if you stay for less than a week (standard for a timeshare).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uwdsr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Hello from Holiday Inn Club Vacations Lake Geneva Resort. It’s so great to hear that your vacation was everything that you had hoped for and more. When vacationing with children, it’s great to have everything that you need at your fingertips, and we are so glad that we could provide that for you. Our comfortable and spacious villas are perfect for providing that “home away from home” atmosphere that you crave all the time. Thanks for letting us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family piggy backed this vacation with a weekend trip to Chicago. After touring all the museums in Chicago and filling up our belly's at "The Taste of Chicago", we hopped in our rental car and headed the little over an hour drive to Lake Geneva. We own a time share out of the Orange lake HIC and wanted to see the other properties. This was a "blind" vacation for my famly. We had never been to WI and knew nothing about Lake Geneva. I must tell you, it was a great gamble.
Lake Geneva is a beautiful, old, lake community. If you like fishing, boating activities, etc. It's a great place to vacation. But, my family doesn't boat, fish or anything and we still had a great time. Now, the resort is beautiful and well maintained. It's not a huge resort but it's spread out over a lot of property. We never had trouble with the noise like most reviews. But, we had joining 2 BR units and figured if you had just one side, the walls could be thin. My husband and son played both golf courses and had a great time. We all went to the Moose Falls water park on property and had a ball. They have discounts to the waterpark on Tuesday's like buy one get one free. They also have indoor and outdoor pools. My inlaws went horse back riding on the property-great!. Later in the evenings, the adults headed up to the cocktail lounge for drinks with a live DJ & dancing. We never made it to the spa . But, it looked very nice and it's first on the list for next time. There were loads of activities offered by the resort. Basically something for everyone.
We never ate out for meals. The resort has everything you need and there is a Walmart and Walgreens 5 minutes from the resort for groceries etc. But, you have to buy all liquor prior to 9:00pm. If you don't like to cook. there are nice restaurants on property and in town. Also, my Dad went to a walk-in clinic right behind the resort, got a prescription he needed and didn't skip a beat. The resort is convenient to everything.
We took both the Mailboat Tour and the $10 Lake Geneva tour provided by the resort. I would suggest doing the Mail tour over the resort tour. It cost more but, it's 2hrs and is available everyday. The resort tour, while is not bad for the price, last most of the day and is only offered once a week. Don't do both. Last, a few in the group were dying to hit a casino and drove the hour ride to Milwakee's Potawatomi casino. They all said it was one of the nicest casinos they've seen. They had all of the gaming tables and slots. year Trust me, this group knows it's casinos. I'll sum up my review with this quote from my 10 old, "We need to come to this place every year". Have a great vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Hello. Wow, it seems like you and your family had a ball. What a great idea to give yourself the best of both worlds by going on a combo vacation. The convenient location of this resort is why our guests love to return year after year. The peaceful quiet of the country must have been great after all the excitement of Chicago. Although, it seems like you burned off all those “Taste of Chicago “calories by taking advantage of everything the resort had to offer and staying active. Next time, make sure to pamper yourself at the Spa. You definitely deserve it. It’s great that you were able to get what you needed out in town. Many of our guests find that they never need to leave the resort with so many amenities onsite. We couldn’t have summed it up better ourselves with your 10 year- old’s quote, we hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
2.0 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
275 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
411 reviews
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort
Address: 7037 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105 (Formerly Orange Lake at Lake Geneva)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort is a premier resort offering spacious 1- and 2-bedroom villas complete with amenities such as fully equipped kitchens, dining areas, living rooms with fireplaces, and everything a guest might need to enjoy their Home away from Home ! With access to all the amenities of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa , Holiday Inn Club Vacation guests can enjoy amenities such as indoor and outdoor swimming pools, multiple dining options, a Sport Center with tennis, basketball and volleyball courts, a rock-climbing wall, two championship golf courses and more options to keep your vacation full of new experiences. From skiing, golf and horseback riding, to tennis, snowboarding, and a full service spa, this resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Lake Geneva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing