We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake Geneva Classic Stop”

Popeye's on Lake Geneva
Ranked #12 of 94 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plainfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lake Geneva Classic Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Nothing fancy here but it is an absolute classic in Lake Geneva. Sits across the street from the Lake so depending on where you sit you can have water views.

Bloody Mary's are great with lots of garnishes. I have the rotisserie Lamb Sandwich every time and it is excellent. Crispy Fries are great too. My kids love the Lobster chowder, chicken fingers and Mac n cheese. Many summer nights they have a Balloon artist Amy there that walks table to table. She is funny and talented. Pass on dessert and go up the street to Kilwins Ice cream shop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    328
    296
    138
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
320 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Friday Fish Fry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We recently ate at Popeye's for dinner on a summer Friday night. It had been over a year since our last visit to Popeye's, and this has been one of our favorite restaurants in the Lake Geneva area. We decided to give Popeye's a try for their all you can eat Friday fish fry, and all of us ordered the fish fry. I also had a $20 off birthday coupon to use in June, which is always a great value. Overall we had an enjoyable experience. We chose to dine indoors, but I think you have to in order to get the fish fry. We were able to get a seat by the front windows facing the Riviera and Lake, which we always love. The view is unbeatable! Our waitress Dawn was very friendly and professional. She checked in often and was prompt. We started by enjoying some drinks. Two of us had glasses of beer, and one had a margarita. The drinks were refreshing but kind of expensive. The 3 drinks were more than the cost of one all you can eat fish fry. Our fish was out very fast. It was served hot and delicious. We enjoyed both the fried and broiled varieties of cod. The potato pancakes were good, too, but a bit too hard and crunchy for our liking. We also got coleslaw and applesauce to accompany the meal. We did not like the coleslaw, as it had some kind of white beans in it. I had never had coleslaw with beans in it before, and it was a turn off. We always enjoy the value of all you can eat fish fries, though, and we each had 2 helpings of fish and potato pancakes. Dawn was very prompt with everything, and extremely personable. The fish was served on a large platter and we could take what we wanted to put on our plates. We were too full to order any dessert. This was another enjoyable fish fry in the Lake Geneva area, and we were glad we finally tried Popeye's version. We would return to Popeye's for the fish or any other meal for that matter! We still feel that Scuttlebutts next door and Hawk's View Golf Club have slightly better fish fries, and those are still our favorites. Popeye's ranks right behind them, though! We enjoyed our meal, and will return to Popeye's some time soon!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
“Envy those nearby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our problem is that we are older and live so far as we enjoyed going to Popeye's so much when we were on a vacation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 769Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What do you expect from a lakeview restaurant in tourist town?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you go into town knowing what to expect, then you can't complain or be surprised. Popeye's has good service (seriously), awesome people watching if that's what you're into, and fabulous fried cheese curds (yup, I said it-fabulous). The issue is they give you about 8 on top of a bunch of fries to make it look like it's a deal? But man are they good. Overpriced fluffy drinks but then again - what do you expect. FYI - they won't give you water. You have to pay for bottled water. Really?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank swede52497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyAF, Public Relations Manager at Popeye's on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your Popeyes experience! We're so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the service and our "fabulous" cheese curds (this is Wisconsin, we have to do it right!) We're assuming you sat on the patio since you mentioned the bottled water policy and just wanted to let you know that we only have that practice for outdoor dining because it has been the most effective way to get cold water service into that area as quickly as we need to during the summer season. We hope we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hot dog stand run by the American Legion close by would be a better choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was one of the worst places I've eaten in a long time. We had a party of 6 adults and 2 children. We were seated outside at a picnic table. Being Friday, their special was a fish fry. Turned out, you could not get the fish fry outside. There was a special menu for outside. Their excuse as to why they did not serve the special fish fry outside was that it would get cold. BUT, all of the other fried fish that was very high priced was available outside. That wouldn't get cold???? Strange. We ordered a pricey fisherman's platter that consisted of 2 shrimp, 2 cod and 2 perch. It only came with mounds of french fries. The shrimp were good (this got them the poor rating instead of the terrible rating). The perch and the cod were horrible. The cod looked like 2 frozen fish sticks and the perch were so little you got a few bites only. Other choices ordered like the cheeseburger, veggie burger, kids menu items were also poorly enjoyed. Oh - and no tab water available. You had to pay for the bottled water. Do yourself a favor, eat somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyAF, Public Relations Manager at Popeye's on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We want to thank you for visiting Popeyes and sharing your feedback. Outdoor dining at Popeyes poses many challenges and we've had to incorporate a few different policies for the 120 outdoor dining seats versus the indoor seating. Offering a limited menu for outdoor dining is not uncommon in the restaurant industry, as we need to be able to provide the same level of service in any venue and that sometimes means not being able to serve the same food and beverage selections. We hope you'll stop back in again and encourage you to ask for a manager to share your thoughts on this last visit. And again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to continually improve our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popeye's on Lake Geneva also viewed

 

Been to Popeye's on Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing