We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What do you expect from a lakeview restaurant in tourist town?”

Popeye's on Lake Geneva
Ranked #12 of 94 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What do you expect from a lakeview restaurant in tourist town?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you go into town knowing what to expect, then you can't complain or be surprised. Popeye's has good service (seriously), awesome people watching if that's what you're into, and fabulous fried cheese curds (yup, I said it-fabulous). The issue is they give you about 8 on top of a bunch of fries to make it look like it's a deal? But man are they good. Overpriced fluffy drinks but then again - what do you expect. FYI - they won't give you water. You have to pay for bottled water. Really?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank swede52497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyAF, Public Relations Manager at Popeye's on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your Popeyes experience! We're so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the service and our "fabulous" cheese curds (this is Wisconsin, we have to do it right!) We're assuming you sat on the patio since you mentioned the bottled water policy and just wanted to let you know that we only have that practice for outdoor dining because it has been the most effective way to get cold water service into that area as quickly as we need to during the summer season. We hope we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    328
    296
    138
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hot dog stand run by the American Legion close by would be a better choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was one of the worst places I've eaten in a long time. We had a party of 6 adults and 2 children. We were seated outside at a picnic table. Being Friday, their special was a fish fry. Turned out, you could not get the fish fry outside. There was a special menu for outside. Their excuse as to why they did not serve the special fish fry outside was that it would get cold. BUT, all of the other fried fish that was very high priced was available outside. That wouldn't get cold???? Strange. We ordered a pricey fisherman's platter that consisted of 2 shrimp, 2 cod and 2 perch. It only came with mounds of french fries. The shrimp were good (this got them the poor rating instead of the terrible rating). The perch and the cod were horrible. The cod looked like 2 frozen fish sticks and the perch were so little you got a few bites only. Other choices ordered like the cheeseburger, veggie burger, kids menu items were also poorly enjoyed. Oh - and no tab water available. You had to pay for the bottled water. Do yourself a favor, eat somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyAF, Public Relations Manager at Popeye's on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We want to thank you for visiting Popeyes and sharing your feedback. Outdoor dining at Popeyes poses many challenges and we've had to incorporate a few different policies for the 120 outdoor dining seats versus the indoor seating. Offering a limited menu for outdoor dining is not uncommon in the restaurant industry, as we need to be able to provide the same level of service in any venue and that sometimes means not being able to serve the same food and beverage selections. We hope you'll stop back in again and encourage you to ask for a manager to share your thoughts on this last visit. And again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to continually improve our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FYI!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I used to go to Popeye's on Lake Geneva every year. In the last couple of years though prices have risen far beyond what other restaurants of it's variety charge. Popeyes charges "higher end" restaurant prices and unless you get a window table (which aren't many compared to the huge interior seating), prices are not worth the "view" charge. Mostly visitors and tourists.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank henry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyAF, Public Relations Manager at Popeye's on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi Henry,
Thank you for taking the time to share you thoughts on your most recent visit to Popeyes. We appreciate the feedback and will most certainly use it as we plan for the future of our restaurant. As I'm sure you understand, Popeye's sits on one of the most valuable locations in Lake Geneva and as a result, our views are spectacular and the cost to occupy that property is large. We always strive to create the most value possible for our patrons and hope we'll see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Force people to buy bottle water”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was eating in popey,s for few years, and i was usually happy until the last visit. We sat outside and I want to order water to drink. What was surprise when the waiter inform me that outdoor they serve only bottle water and it is cost 1 dollar. Inside you can order tap water at no charge. Restaurant is pricey enough and paying for a water is just ripoff, special in hot weather when somtimes you drink more then one glass. I don't drink alcohol and sweat beverage so i don;'t have a choice. And i don't like even Fiji water. They don't have any other choice. Good Job Management!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maciej S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyAF, Owner at Popeye's on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
First we appreciate your patronage at Popeye's. Many team members make Popeye's a great destination for visitors to the Geneva Lakes Area.
Recently Lake Geneva allowed the outdoor seating ordinance to pass in 2011. WE have worked hard to provide the same great menu outside as we have for years with our indoor seating.
WE learned that service can not be compromised and we have to make adjustments to we are always giving the best service. The addition of 120 seats outside was teaching us everyday how to make this new area work for Popeye's. Water service was one of the items that was slowing our operation down. In an effort to not have so many labor hours absorbed with water service we added the 20oz. Water at a very reasonable .99, the same or little less than a convenience store anywhere in the area. WE felt that it was a fair price to enjoy a bottle of water while dining outside. It's clean and fresh and a great price. WE can not control the flies and mosquitos that are a part of the landscape with a lake environment. Serving bottled water was a great alternative.
We have also changed the FIJI water that we served to Aquafina.
Again, thank you for your patronage and we hope you continue to join us for future dining experiences. Many thanks, Michael Anagnos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Sad to say despite all the business they get, you have to pay for refills on beverages meaning soda beverages, and the food is average, but prices are high.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyAF, Public Relations Manager at Popeye's on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi Nancy,
We are so sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent visit to Popeye's. Because we charge a lower comparative cost for our beverages, we have always charged for refills. However, we will certainly share your concerns with our management. If you're back at Popeye's in the future, we'd love to talk more with you about your experience so we can work to improve our restaurant for all our loyal customers. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popeye's on Lake Geneva also viewed

 

Been to Popeye's on Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing