We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Christmas”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eleven Gables Inn and Cottage
Ranked #4 of 11 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our family decided to meet in Lake Geneva for a pre-Christmas Christmas for our daughter and son. We rented out the whole inn and had a great experience staying here. The rooms were quite cosy with individual fireplaces in each room to keep us warm. The main reception/living room was a central meeting and gathering place with a big screen TV for watching Netfix.
The inn does not serve breakfast or meals but is located in downtown Lake Geneva so Starbucks was very close and the innkeeper gave us excellent recommendations for dinner.
We stayed for three days but housecleaning was not available, so we had to pick up after our selves.
Next year if we decide to rendezvous in Wisconsin this place will be on our short list.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake in winter can be drafty.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Eleven Gables Inn and Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here last weekend during Octoberfest. It was great to be close to town, but located on a fairly quiet side street so you don't get the endless traffic that main streets can get. The inn is located right across the street from the lake and is a great jumping off point to do the lake trail with all the beautiful mansions.

We chose the inn because it is pet friendly. We stayed in the Wicker Room, with easy access to outside via the patio door. The furniture is period (read dated) and the king bed was lumpy. Luckily we anticipated this and brought our foam mattress topper, which helped alot. The room seemed fairly clean.

At $179, I thought the value was only so-so, but as pet friendly accommodations are limited, we may or may not return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank krunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here this past summer and were more than disappointed. The ONLY positive was the location, although in the height of summer, it proved to be in the thick of Lake Geneva traffic, which was disruptive.

The first thing we noted were the obituaries hanging in the entry area. Yes, obits. Apparently, Gary, the proprietor, likes them and thought everyone else would, too. Gary was not exactly friendly and neither was his dog. I love dogs and have no trouble with them, generally. But his dog made it clear that she/he was NOT in the mood to be trifled with. Not exactly the warm welcome we expected.

Our room was small, which we expected. But we didn't expect the wasp's nest outside the balcony door, which made it impossible to sit outside. That was one of the reasons we picked the room - was for the private deck. The AC window unit had the knobs removed so you couldn't adjust the temperature. The bathroom rivals those on airplanes - it was so tiny! And no amenities like shampoo, conditioner, etc. Liquid soap was it, so I'm glad I always carry my own with me. The sheets were clean as were the towels. But wondering how long it had been since the carpet had been cleaned. It was...crunchy. And the bed - well squeaky doesn't quite cover it.

Don't expect any food. We were given an opened bag of gluten-free granola and a coffeemaker to use - but we elected to eat at the many diners in town instead of taking a chance on what was there.

We elected to spend a lot of time away from this place. In fact for us it was simply a BED.

I highly recommend you stay anywhere but here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_lisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in the main house. The good - The owner, Gary, is a very friendly fellow and his coon hound, Lexi, was friendly to us, but we didn't have a pet with us. The Inn location is perfect. Very close to the downtown area, but without the hectic touristy hotel area closer in. Good free parking at the Inn. Next door is a gorgeous lake path walking area where truely beautiful mansions can be viewed close up. Fresh coffee made early each morning, but no breakfast other than granola and yogurt (the Inn's website mentions this however and does not bill itself as a B & B). The air conditioning in our room worked well with the exception of a missing thermostat temp control. The views of the lake were okay as the Master Suite room has only one small window directly facing it. We would have preferred a room with a balcony or larger lake view windows.

The bad - the main house is dark and in need of remodeling. The grounds need some serious landscaping attention. Dog poop was present in the yard and walk up area, but this could be from irresponsible Inn guests or others walking in the area. The Inn could be a gorgeous place, but significant capital would be required - perhaps a difficult option since lakeside property taxes are significant. Other than a couple of hand soft soap dispensers in the bathroom in our room, there were no soap bars, soft body liquid soap or plastic cups provided. Plenty of Kleenex boxes were present in our room however. The carpet throughout the Inn and our room is old and worn out. The original wood floors would be much preferable as seen in the Rose Room next to ours. We did have to kill one spider on our bed and one ant in our room, so extermination service is recommended. We believe the sheets and towels to have been washed and clean prior to arrival, but there is no maid service or change out of these items during a one week stay.

For the price, $185 plus tax per nite, you need to make sure this Inn is for you. It won't be satisfactory for most experienced travelers. After our first night, we almost checked out but decided to stick to our one week reservation. By the end of the week we were more settled in and tolerant of the accomodations.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SouthernBoy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Not good, i.e., where's Norman Bates? Friends from So. Illinois and I (from Minnesota) planned to meet in Lake Geneva with our dogs for last weekend. My friend found Eleven Gables online as a dog friendly spot, and there was the 2-bedroom cottage available. Gary met me at the Inn to check in on Friday. He emerged from the back area wearing badly stained sweatpants and t-shirt. His very aggressive coon hound was standing up at the inner doorway, barking wildly. When my friends and I went to the cottage, we were dumbfounded to find the cottage to be very shabby, dirty (the quilt on my very uncomfortable bed hadn't been replaced or washed for what appeared to be a long time), no comfortable places to sit except on the worn out and dirty wicker furniture on the small porch. There was a fridge/freezer, microwave and coffee maker along with silverware and placemats. No dishes, no cups, not even paper cups for the bathroom. No large or small bars of soap, only remnants of dishwashing liquid. The bathroom was surprisingly nice, clearly remodeled in recent years. Thank god there were clean towels and the bed sheets were clean. Landscaping was all overgrown, blocking walkways and two small patios - which had no furniture. The shaky dock had Gary and his dog nearby when we checked it out, and his dog was not friendly. We were more than disappointed. And this cost $300/night! If it had been $8/night it would have been understandable. The Inn seemed to have people coming and going, and I can't say how it was to stay there. The common area was dark and shabby and I had no interest returning after checking in. Now the positive, yes, ONE positive note. The location is fantastic. Across the street from the walking path around part of the lake, on a path at the base of homeowners properties - mansions high up on the left and the lake, docks, boats a few feet to the right. And the parks, business district, restaurants and lake are all within reasonable walking distances.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcm55406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you are looking for a fantastic location, this place has it. However, the web site for Eleven Gables needs a reality check. The bathroom was fine, but the cabin itself was so run down and miskept. The place reminded me of something that was in great need of attention. There was liquid soap for hands, clean towels and sheets, but bedding needed washing, there was no shampoo, bar soap, paper towels etc. I don't even want to discuss the mattresses. If I'd have paid $85 dollars a night, I wouldn't complain, but $285?? Woof. The lake front on the property is in great need of attention and there really wasn't a convenient place to get the dogs out of the water.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 246lcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
845 reviews
1.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleven Gables Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleven Gables Inn and Cottage

Address: 493 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price Range: $119 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront downtown Lake Geneva with private pier. A historic waterfront Boutique Inn located in Lake Geneva Wisconsin three blocks from the "Riv" with private pier for fishing, swimming, and chilling. Also a separate two bedroom cottage and ice house which are family friendly and dog friendly. Family owned. Sorry we do not serve breakfast... Over a dozen restaurants within 3 blocks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing