We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cove of Lake Geneva
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently spent 3 days at The Cove and had a very pleasant experience. Everything was clean and our room was nice. We stayed in a anchor suite, which was on the ground floor, and the patio looked over the parking lot which was mostly empty, giving us a good view of the park and stream. All of the staff that we encountered were polite and helpful. The pool and surrounding area were well-maintained and inviting. My only suggestion for improvement would be about the "2 complimentary drink coupon" which we were given at check-in. These were very appreciated, although it would have been helpful to know that there was a limit of $10 on it. I was embarrassed when I ordered 2 margaritas at the pool bar and was told that I owed an additional $6 for them, since they were $8 each---I didn't have any cash with me since we were swimming and had to charge it to my room. Had I known the amount, I could have either ordered a cheaper drink or brought more cash with me. Not a huge problem at all, just that it would have been good to know this in advance. All in all, we had a great time and would stay there again. We used a Groupon offer, and definitely got a lot of value for our money.

Room Tip: Room 150 looks over the back parking lot, but you can still see the little park and stream and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful response in reference to your stay at The Cove of Lake Geneva!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize for the lack of clarity regarding the drink coupons. We will take corrective actions immediately.

We appreciate your business and look forward to having you back at The Cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    172
    86
    64
    57
See reviews for
230
179
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I set up a block of rooms every year at the Cove for a charity event in held in the area and it is always a great experience! Everyone in our group enjoys their stay, the rooms are nice, the staff is professional and friendly, the restaurant has good food, and the level of service is exceptional.

This year my air conditioner was not working properly in my room so I called the front desk to report it. I then went out for a few hours and upon returning to my room I saw that the entire air conditioning unit had been replaced, What AWESOME service!!!! Problems happen from time to time, but when they are handled in a professional and timely manner, it really makes the difference.

We have been booking rooms at the Cove for over ten years and will continue for many years to come. What a truly great team of people they have working there! I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
The Cove staff and owner are extremely grateful you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. We thank you for your business, please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've been coming to the Cove for years because you can walk to the shopping and restaurants and because they have a good outdoor pool. However the rooms badly need updating and the front desk service is rude. Last year, our room had a maintenance issue and a piece of our jewelry disappeared. The front desk was horribly rude and unhelpful. We tried it again this year only to have the pool closed for "scheduled" maintenance leaving us unable to enjoy the whole reason we stay there. Again the front desk manager was rude and unapologetic. Time to find a new hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbulski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Chief Engineer at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
On behalf of the Management team we apologize for the experience you had while staying at our establishment. This past fall The Cove of Lake Geneva has changed management companies and we are currently in the process of updating the facilities. For the past issues of the other company we are sorry for any negative past experiences. We would like to apologize for the rudeness you received from our staff, as we strive to provide the best customer services possible. We had an extreme maintenance issues that needed attending to and with a projected full day of rain we made the decision early that morning to close the pool to fix these issues. By law we could not allow guests out by our outdoor pools while we attended to these issues. We would ask you to give us one more try to truly experience what The Cove has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Geneva hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Read the reviews over the years and thought this was going to be a big gamble. But the last minute change of plans gave us no choice but to book our anniversary night at this hotel. the place was great, rooms clean and larger (Studio suite) then most rooms offered by more expensive hotels. Pool was great and the employees and manager also very polite. Was so impressed I booked two more nights to go back, upon check out. take another look. Also a stones throw from where you want to be, downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefe597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Front Office Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
On behalf of the hotel we thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your experience on your recent visit to THE COVE. We are pleased you were pleasantly surprised!!! We here at The Cove prides ourselves on customer service and look forward to your return on your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked an Anchor Suite at the Cove through a Groupon for Father's Day weekend. The price, booking and online information seemed to be too good to be true. Upon arrival, our check in was swift and friendly. We were able to check in a few hours early, even if the room wasn't ready they offered to allow us access to parking and the pool while we waited. Once we figured out which door to enter in (there are several doors to enter once you have a key and often parking can happen closer than the front desk) we opened the door to the room and were shocked.

The room was huge, clean and decorated unlike other hotels (safari themed). A large bed with its own tv, a large bathroom with a Jacuzzi/shower combo, a kitchen complete with fridge, sink, stove top, microwave, dishwasher (AND DISHES!), followed by a living room area with a tv and sliding door to the patio facing the pool area. We were pleasantly shocked and wished we had booked the room for more nights.

As a family of three (with a baby) the space was more than enough. It would be great for a family up to 6 if the kids are okay sharing the pull out couch, or even a group of 2-4 adults sharing beds. There were plenty of towels and even extra bedding in the closet. Noise-wise, we didn't really hear anything disruptive. The water from another room ran right behind the headboard but it wasn't super unusual for a hotel room. They had a live musician at the pool area that was a bit loud but our room was right there so again, not super unusual.

The pool area is pretty basic but not super crowded. We brought our infant into both pools and only got splashed once (which is a pretty big deal if you have ever tried to swim with a baby at a public pool). The lifeguards were present but not super involved so be sure to keep an eye on your kids just in case. The bar area is interesting. The bartender was overly friendly and we were able to use a 2 free drink ticket given to us at check-in for two mixed drinks by the pool.

The hotel location is great because you can walk everywhere. We walked around downtown and never drove once since the weather was beautiful. The beach and boat launch are just across the street but there are fees to use them.

We will definitely be returning, especially if we can get a great deal again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PunkRockHippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Sales Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful response in reference to your stay at The Cove of Lake Geneva!

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we strive to meet each guest’s expectations, it is feedback like yours, the reason we take pride in our customer service and accommodations.

We appreciate your business and look forward to having you back at The Cove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The overall experience at the cove was amazing. I was here with a friend that is a owner. The barista was very polite and the cabana girls were also great, but a worker by the name of Lexi was beyond rude. And she was also ignorant to fellow employees. I had to wait for my latte at espresso bar because she was making herself a coffee and left a mess for the barista. The barista did give me a complementary coffee for inconve. Which i appreciated. Otherwise wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belladonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent visit to The Cove of Lake Geneva. I greatly apologize on behalf of the unprofessional customer services you received at the Alterra Bar during your stay. The Cove employees strive to create a wonderful guest experience in all areas of the hotel, and value your business and your feedback. I will follow up on your concerns and ensure this is not repeated in the future. I am happy that your overall experience was amazing and look forward seeing you in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed again at this hotel on June 6 and 7, this will be our 9th year coming to this facility. When we arrived our room was not available which was no problem because we wanted to walk around in town anyway. When we returned at 2:00pm our Bella Loft Suite was available, we just love this room if there are only 2 of us. It is nice not to have someone above you make noise. Check in was a breeze as always. We went down to the lobby bar on Friday evening and enjoyed some drinks with April (bartender) she was very nice and enjoyed talking with her. Only thing that can be improved would be some cleaning to carpeting and painting done. It was noisy on Friday night around 2:00am due to bachlorette parties. Management needs to address the noise issues as not every one is there to party, we like to come for some quiet and relaxing time. Enjoyed the new Tiki Bar drink menu, prices are more reasonable than last year. Always enjoy the music by the pool, not many people out that day but still enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, well appointed, suites and that our staff was able to make your stay most enjoyable. We have new security personal on property to help control the noise issues you expressed. Thanks again for taking the time to post your feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the future! Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
372 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
0.1 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove of Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove of Lake Geneva

Property: Cove of Lake Geneva
Address: 111 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove of Lake Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning shoreline of Geneva Lake and in the heart of town, The Cove of Lake Geneva is the ideal hotel for everything from girls shopping getaways and family vacations to romantic weekends and business travel. Guests will find exceptional comfort in our all-suite resort featuring the areas most exclusive setting, all within walking distance to Lake Geneva’s main attractions.The Cove proudly offers 222 spacious suites complete with all the amenities you need for an exceptional stay. Our all-suite resort features fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spacious balconies or patios. Guests may choose from a variety of room suite options to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cove of Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Of Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Cove Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Cove
The Cove Lake Geneva Wi
Cove Hotel Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing