We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but nothing special”

Big Foot Beach State Park
Ranked #15 of 42 things to do in Lake Geneva
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A favorite with families and nature enthusiasts, this 271-acre park on the shore of Lake Geneva, offers wooded campsites, a sand beach and plenty of picnic areas.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
246 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing special”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If the weather is good it is a nice place to visit. Nothing spectacular but it is by the water with a good beach. Well maitained, clean and fun for kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    26
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beloit, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

very nice and clean beach!This beach is a perfect family day get away and nice for the little ones.the water is pretty clear and not alot of sea weeds and yuck in the water.will be going back!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this is not a beach”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

they clearly have no idea what a beach is... check out chicago's beaches...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryG5269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not much of a beach”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A group of friends camped here over the weekend... I've been to several campgrounds and this one was the most "rough." The bathroom was pretty gross... three stalls with holes in the ground, super smelly, cobwebs everywhere, often out of toilet paper, and no sinks. You have to wash your hands and face at a drinking fountain. I didn't go in the shower house, but I heard that it was even worse. The lots were small, but the overgrown weeds gave each lot a little privacy. It is a convenient place to camp if you're going to a concert at Alpine Valley... only about 20 minutes away. It's nice that this campground is across the street from the "beach" but honestly, there isn't much of a beach. There was a bit of grass and then a 4 or 5 foot pebbly beach area that leads into the water. We had a boat with us, so it was nice having a public boat launch a couple miles away so we could spend the day on the boat in Lake Geneva... but I wouldn't have wanted to spend my day hanging out at this beach...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“big disappointment”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

we traveled a long way to show up in a place that was so small, and the beach was probably hidden, we did not find it, maybe just the name to lure travelers, the campground was ok.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JESSE120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Foot Beach State Park also viewed

 

Been to Big Foot Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing