We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but nothing luxurious”
Review of Bella Vista Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Suites
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night for a getaway in a corner suite with a view of the lake. The suite was large, but had an awkward layout that had some wasted space. It had a kitchenette area which is always nice. It had 1.5 bathrooms, but the half bath seemed unnecessary except for the fact the full bath doesn't have a door. The actual bedroom portion was pretty small and tight and the furniture was very outdated. The only heating unit in the suite was in the bedroom and b/c of the shape of the suite the heat doesn't travel to the main living room very well. Overall the hotel is nice, has a good location and good service, but have realistic expectations of what you are getting going in as this hotel isn't overly fancy.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 299 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2010

We didn't arrive untill late at night and with the weather being so cold and snowing, we parked in they're underground heating parking. They had put the heat and lights on for us so the we didn't have to walk into a cold, dark room. The beds were very comfortable and room was very clean. Suite came with big fluffy robes and a basket of goodies. Location was great and we didn't have to deal with noisy kids and teenagers running around. I can say it was the best rest ever. Thank you Bella Vista Suites, I will be coming back!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthacbrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed for a weekend and enjoyed everything about the hotel and the City. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They even went to the trouble of explaining all the fun things to do around town. Our room was great - clean, comfortable and with all the wonderful ammenities you come to expect from a great hotel. We would absolutely stay at Bella Vista Suites again. In fact we are already talking about our next visit

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler8046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Bella Vista Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We work hard to make sure our guests enjoy themselves, and I'm thrilled to see that you were so happy here. I'll make sure your compliments are passed on to our staff as well. We're looking forward to seeing you again very soon -- please let us know the next time you will be staying with us, and thank you so much for your wonderful review!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We spent a wonderful two-day getaway at this lovely hotel. From start to finish our experience was exceptional. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful, especially Angela, with whom I spoke on the phone when making reservations. We really enjoyed the whirlpool in our bedroom and the fireplace in the living area. We spent quite a bit of time relaxing on the balcony enjoying the lake view. The location of the hotel was perfect for walking to the downtown area. I can't think of a single negative thing to say--we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingMarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Bella Vista Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel! We're honored to receive your 5-star review, and excited to hear that you plan on staying with us again, as that is by far the highest compliment we can receive. I will make sure I pass your compliments on to Angela and the other front desk staff as well.

Please let us know when you'll be staying with us again! We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Please, please, please read this review!! I've never taken the time to write a review before, but this just has to be said so that others don't make the same mistake I did. I'm not hard to please, but this was ridiculous.

I was looking for a nice place to overnight in Lake Geneva with my wife for our 8th anniversary and settled on Bella Vista Suites. I've stayed in Lake Geneva before, but never at this hotel, so I made sure to read a lot of reviews before booking. Many spoke well of nice rooms, good atmosphere, etc., so I wasn't overly concerned about my gamble...until we checked in to our room. We stayed in Room 401, which is classified as a "Beach View Suite" and is second in quality only to the 2-bedroom "Presidential Suite" at this hotel. Sounds good, right? Keep reading.

Let me preface my remarks with some comments about myself- I'm in my early 30's, I'm not pretentious, I don't expect to be waited on hand and foot, I live comfortably but not lavishly, and I didn't expect this place to be of a Ritz Carlton caliber. What I wasn't expecting was an overnight experience that left me longing for a night in the Holiday Inn.

The only "nice" thing about our room was the view of the lake. Everything else was a complete fail. It was dirty and old with low quality finishes throughout. The layout is poor, very, very small bedroom with no view of the lake, small sitting area with a gas fireplace, but oriented away from the lake. The bed had very low quality linens, scratchy and thin (including the comforter), 2 old standard sized pillows, and who knows how old the mattress is, it sagged terribly in the middle and was squeaky. I woke up 4 times during the night. The jacuzzi tub in the bedroom was small and scratched on the outside, we didn't even use it.

The bathroom was a complete joke, small vanity (the kitchen vanity top in the hall was larger), corner shower that you could hardly move in, towel bar falling out of the wall above the toilet (there was actually a cigarette burn in in the wallpaper above the toilet), mildew or mold around the shower head, stained grout on the floor and mineral deposits around the shower, there was an end cap missing on the laminate counter top, the wallpaper border was peeling and there were scratches all over the doors and vanity. And, the sink wouldn't drain when the shower was on...gross.

The carpet and all of the chairs in the room were stained and the chairs were threadbare on the arms. The climate control in the room was serviced through a wall unit in the sitting area, so we had a very difficult time regulating the temp in the bedroom throughout the night. There was a drop ceiling through much of the room, but the tiles are old and yellow and many of them didn't fit correctly in the ceiling grid.

The hotel common areas were as bad as our room, stained carpet and nicked up woodwork and walls. The desk clerk didn't even say hello when we checked in, he was more concerned with whatever he was looking at on his computer in the adjacent office.

I have literally stayed in Super-8s nicer than this hotel and it didn't cost me $204 for the night.

Overall I would highly recommend that anyone looking for a romantic atmosphere and clean room stay somewhere else. The Geneva Inn and the Grand Geneva are more expensive, but A LOT nicer than this place. Bella Vista Suites is a TERRIBLE value for the money and I can guarantee that I will never stay here again or recommend it to family and friends. Don't be fooled by the reviews saying this place is OK, or even nice, because it's not. This entire hotel needs to be gutted and remodeled, it's old, dirty and run down.

PS- I would have included photos to qualify my statements, but I didn't have a camera handy. Sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OrganizeDC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Bella Vista Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

I’m so sorry that you were so dissatisfied with your stay with us at Bella Vista Suites. We’re very proud of our reputation and the good reviews we’ve earned in the past. I’m especially disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our Beach View Suite, as it is one of our most popular rooms and one that most guests enjoy very much.

After checking with our front desk staff, it seems that none of these problems were brought to the attention of hotel personnel during your stay – if you ever stay with us again, please voice your concerns to us right away! Our number one priority is that you enjoy yourself and are content during your time with us. If your room is not to your liking, we’ll be happy to switch you to another room.

I have also personally checked the room you’ve stayed in to make sure that any cosmetic issues have been corrected. We have not had any other complaints about the cleanliness of our rooms and room 401 is clean, fresh, and ready for guests, as are our common areas. However, I will make sure that your comments are passed on to our housekeeping and maintenance staff, as the issues that you’ve mentioned are not something that we will tolerate in any of our suites.

As I mentioned previously, I am so sorry that your stay wasn’t satisfactory – please contact us at 262-248-2100 and speak with our general manager, Tom Hyslop. The kind of experience you’ve had is not something we are okay with offering to our guests and we want to make every effort to make sure that all of your concerns have been addressed, as well as hoping that we can persuade you to give us another chance to earn a great review from you. Thank you for taking the time to review our property as your comments can only help us improve.

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I called and spoke with a someone called Angela at the front desk. She was rude, and unpleasant. I wanted informationabout the room . She put me on hold twice and talked to me like I was an idiot because bella vista's web sit does not give a layout of the rooms. I decided not to book the 300.00 room. If I can not get good service on the phone why would i get it at the hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank paul_krs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, Hotel management at Bella Vista Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

I’m so sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience with our hotel. We are a small and intimate hotel with limited staff numbers, so at times front desk staff must assist guests waiting at the desk while they are answering the phone. I can assure you that Angela is a fantastic employee and we are very proud of the job she does at the front desk – however, we have passed along your comments to her to make sure that no one else feels that they were treated rudely.

We’d really love for you to give us a second chance – we’re sure that you’d love our beautiful lakefront location and our quiet and peaceful setting. Please call our general manager Tom Hyslop at 262-248-2100 when you get a chance. He will be able to provide you with an overview of all our different room types as well as address any other concerns or questions you might have. We’re also looking into getting room layouts & pictures posted on our website – we have many different types and sizes of suites available and we want to make sure our future guests choose exactly the perfect room type for their stay with us. Thank you for your review and comments, we’ll make sure we improve from your input.

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband thought it was nice. Location was good close to the town and beach. But, it lacked things for the kids like game room, outdoor pool etc. It did have a nice indoor pool that we used because it was pouring rain when we got there. But, the hot tub never got hot even after we called and asked to have it turned hot. We called it the warm tub. The room we stayed in was a suite with two separate rooms, and two t.v.s. But as someone else stated, there was only one air unit in the bedroom so those on the sleeper sofa were hot and sweaty. The front desk was nice enough to loan us a floor fan and it really helped. The staff at the bar were super friendly and we enjoyed having our drinks on the big veranda overlooking the water.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fancytraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
885 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Suites

Address: 335 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range: $177 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Geneva's classic all-suite boutique hotel features a four story atrium and 39 well appointed one and two bedroom suites. Each suite has a private balcony, wet bar or kitchen, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and a toaster. Special amenities include a $10 Breakfast voucher to certain local restaurants, wireless high speed internet access, fluffy bathrobes, 32&42" flat screen LCD televisions,Jacuzzi bathtubs and breathtaking views of Lake Geneva. The Aqua Health and Wellness center and On the Waterfront lounge are also located at Bella Vista Suites. The hotel is also conveniently two blocks from downtown and the Riviera boat docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bella Vista Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Lake Geneva
Bella Vista Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing