We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't stay here again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bella Vista Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Suites
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Won't stay here again!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is in a good location with a nice view of the lake; however, this place is in need of maintenance! The faucet in our bathroom was loose and nearly fell off whenever we turned on the water, one of the light switches didn't work, the blinds the bed room were bent, parts of ceiling in the corners were cracked, the windows were dirty and the bedroom smelled like bug killer. Also, one of the reasons we picked this place was for the lounge and bar, but it was closed when we were there! We paid $300 per night for the room (including tax and fees) and it was certainly NOT worth it. There are plenty of other hotels in the area that are much nicer and even less expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DnSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott F, Front Office Manager at Bella Vista Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We appreciate your recent comments as we are always striving to become a better property. Unfortunately you did not make us aware of the maintenance issues at the time of your stay so we were unable to respond immediately to the issues in your suite. This type of complaint does not specify which suite you stayed in so we will initiate a program where each individual suite is checked for these specific maintenance and housekeeping issues. Since the change in management in 11/12/13 we have spent over $300,000 in improvements to our 39 suite property. If you would be so kind as to call the hotel and give us a specific room number we will address the maintenance and cleanliness issues immediately.

As far as your comment about the bar being closed we are connected to the Baker House and try to coordinate our opening and closing schedules with them as to not to inconvenience our customers. We are in a seasonal location so we do open and close our bar based on occupancy.

Please feel free to contact me at 262-248-2100 if you have an further questions or comments. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    80
    42
    8
    15
See reviews for
63
132
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I stayed with sister and brother in law for their anniversary. Suite has a good view of Lake Geneva, WI. It has a nice kitchen and living area complete with 42" flat screen and DVD, along with WI-FI and a small hide-able desk. Kitchen has a sink, large dorm-sized refrigerator, coffee maker, and toaster; with a dining room table. Master bedroom had a master bath and jacuzzi in corner of bedroom and another flat screen; 'guest' bedroom had just the flat screen. Dressers were okay, but closets were very small. I was more concerned with power outlets being loose and/or arcing when something was plugged in. (Will report at checkout time.) - overall a very nice and conveniently located place to stay, might come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxahartwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for Venetian Fest. Nice room, the ac works nice in the bedroom but the front room does not cool down. In the middle of the night it gets quite warm and humid. The bed and sofa sleeper were very comfortable. Best nights sleep I have had in a long time. The pool area was nice but smelled a little musty...not enough air circulating in the area or something. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceprincess11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Pulled into town on a Friday night with no reservation but we were able to get a room at Bella Vista. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating and the suite was excellent. We had a park view but that's what we get with no reservation. Parking was a little cramped but we managed.

Room Tip: Reserve early to get the lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigWillieUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We reserved the presidential lake view room at the Bella Vista and had a great time. We came with one other couple and split the room witch has two bedrooms and a full kitchen and walk out belcony, one queen and one king W/private bath. We brought our boat so we were able to rent a boat slip for $30 and keep the boat right across the street and come and go as we pleased. We didn't have to use the car from the point we put our boat in until we left on Sunday. You can access all the night life from here. Had a great stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boatking K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I made our reservation the day that we left for Geneva. I was calling other places in town and finally decided to try Bella Vista. We were so excited to see the place in person. We were across the street from the lake. Our room was very clean and we were happy with the size for the 2 of us. My husband and I thought it was the strangest thing that the tub and shower were in the bedroom. We made the best of that but if you wanted to sleep and someone else wanted to shower to go out it would really be a problem. The only negatives that I saw were dirty mirrors above the bed, a shade that should have been replaced on the door to the balcony, and no divider wall between each balcony. We could shake hands with the couple in the room next to us. We love to have coffee outside in the morning and it would be awkward if you are in a robe. Everything else was great about this place. We were surprised they don't promote the patio. We were the only quests who had a drink outside. I had a great time with my husband. I would go back next week if I could. They should do specials during the week. Our room cost as much as a huge villa in the Dells. One more thing, no pool outside. It didn't matter to us, but might to someone else.

Room Tip: get a lake view and I would get a room with shower in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinjon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a difficult time finding a hotel and luckily Bella Vista had a room available. They upgraded us to this nice corner suite with a great view of the lake. Staff was super friendly as well. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.2 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
549 reviews
1.7 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Suites

Property: Bella Vista Suites
Address: 335 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2034
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Geneva's classic all-suite boutique hotel features a four story atrium and 39 well appointed one and two bedroom suites. Each suite has a private balcony, wet bar or kitchen, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and a toaster. Special amenities include a $10 Breakfast voucher to certain local restaurants, wireless high speed internet access, fluffy bathrobes, 32&42" flat screen LCD televisions,Jacuzzi bathtubs and breathtaking views of Lake Geneva. The Aqua Health and Wellness center and On the Waterfront lounge are also located at Bella Vista Suites. The hotel is also conveniently two blocks from downtown and the Riviera boat docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Lake Geneva
Bella Vista Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing