We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of General Boyd's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
General Boyd's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Shorewood, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A wonderful place to stay! Filled with warmth and hospitality! Bob and Sue open their hearts and their beautiful home. Comfortable room, delicious breakfast, and great conversation. Be sure to ask them for their dining and recreation suggestions. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMB2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shorewood, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Bob and Sue were so kind, interesting, and friendly. The breakfast was the best we've ever had. SO delicious. The place was peaceful and charming, a real respite. When it was time to leave and our RV didn't start, Bob even gave us a jump! Wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Bob and Sue, the owners, are super friendly and made us feel right at home. The prepared breakfasts were outstanding! It was a short five minute drive in to Lake Geneva from the B&B. I wish we could have spent more time there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We recently stayed at General Boyd's and had a very nice stay: charming home, wonderful hosts and fabulous food. But what sets them apart is that we felt like family. Our daughter was getting married at the nearby Northwind Perennial Farm ( check it out!) in a simple, rustic ceremony. Which translates to: no plumbing or place to change into her wedding dress! Sue and Bob were so gracious in allowing her to get ready in our room. We will always be so grateful! It's not surprising that at least two of the other couples who were staying there that weekend, were "regulars" at General Boyd's. If we are ever back in the Lake Geneva area, you can bet that we will stay there again too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footsore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
330 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 670 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have stayed at a few places in our many years of travels to Lake Geneva, our getaway spot that we travel to every year. This is our second bed and breakfast location, we used to stay at French Country Inn, but now we have a new favorite place. This is what a true bed and breakfast should be. A gorgeous old house with so much charm and country feel, Bob and Sue are the nicest hosts and Cheddar is the most loving and playful dog you will ever meet.We stayed in the Generals room which is the biggest and has it's own private bath. We believe the other rooms have to share a bathroom in the hallway. The property itself is very big and we got to walk around the area and see the old barn, and Cheddar will accompany you, however she would only do this if you would occasionally throw her ball for fetch. The breakfast Sue prepared for us was unbelievable with fresh made scones and various fruits along with our poached eggs with Spinach, bacon, English muffins,Apple Pineapple Salad and the homemade preserves were the best. This experience is one we hope to have many times in our future trips to Lake Geneva. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank drw2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My wife and I enjoy visiting to Lake Geneva once a year for a romantic get-a-way. We chose General Boyd,s Bed and Breakfast because of their elegant rooms. The owners Bob & Sue were very friendly. Their hospitality was so sensational that my wife and I felt like we were visiting family. The breakfast was phenomenal and the conversation was extraordinary. We highly recommend General Boyd,s Bed and Breakfast and will be back.

Room Tip: Make a reservation in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EngineeringFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

My wife and I spent the weekend at General Boyd's and we had a great time. Bob & Sue were wonderful hosts, not to mention breakfast was amazing. Bob & Sue helped us to plan out a day of great sightseeing, and offered good insight into what was not to be missed. Highly recommended B&B in a great resort town. Would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoCouple2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3.0 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
4.4 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Baker House Hotel
Baker House Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
5.9 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
4.4 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Boyd's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Boyd's Bed and Breakfast

Property: General Boyd's Bed and Breakfast
Address: W. 29145 So. Lake Shore Dr., Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your General Boyd's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing