We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gluten-free pizza”

Tuscan Tavern & Grill
Ranked #6 of 95 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
242 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great gluten-free pizza”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in for dinner on Saturday night and had no trouble getting a table at 6 pm on a holiday weekend. Well-made cocktails and frequently-refilled tall glasses of ice water were appreciated after a long walk. We both had the gluten-free pizzas with sausage, pepperoni, onion and extra cheese. They use rice flour and a little cornmeal in a thin crust. Toppings were fairly plentiful. They are slightly too big for an individual serving, but too small for two people, but we were glad to take the leftovers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank aatbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    118
    74
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service & Ambiance!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We ate here one evening during our 3-night stay in Lake Geneva. We wanted to get off the resort property (Grand Geneva) for the night so we decided to try the Tuscan Tavern & Grill in town. We were really glad we did. We made a reservation, and they had a table ready for us when we arrived. However, we really wanted to eat in the screen-in porch/ outside area (the inside is very inviting, we just preferred to be outside). The hosts told us it would probably be a 15 minutes wait so we decided to sit in the bar while we waited for a seat on the porch. We had a very nice wait in the large bar area, ordered a cocktail, and our table was ready very quickly. Our server was very attentive. They have a great kids' menu with an array of reasonably-priced options (our son ordered the pizza and devoured it), and our food was also very delicious. We would definitely return to this restaurant if we ever visit this area again. It was so much more reasonable than the dinner options at the Grand Geneva Resort, but it was also very upscale.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RGraham9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easily one of the best meals I have ever had!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Casual but very nice, this restaurant has a great atmosphere for enjoying some of the best food and service you will ever experieince!! Amanda was our server and was the subject matter expert on the menu, and even more so on the wine list. What a delight to have her servicing our table. The menu, Italian, as you would guess, includes steaks, chops, and seafood as well. Amamda recommended the day's special appetizer, which was brie prepared with shrimp, almonds and garlic in a wonderful sauce. OMG, so good. Sent most of us in the seafood direction of the menu immediately. BTW, all their seafood is fresh daily! Lasgne served at our table was gorgeous and equally tasteful. Then the desert trays, yes, trayS, were presented by Amanda. Wonderful! Can't say enough good things about this place. I will go to Lake Geneva just to dine here again. And again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bic725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Wow-what a great time...went to celebrate birthday and found a gem! Food was fantastic and service was even better...we had 6 at our table....traditional pizza was great....burgers awesome...lasagna was incredible....highly recommend for magic appetizer....will be back many times

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rktravels62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hidden gem away from the main strip but certainly worth looking for. The food was delicious and very plentiful, the children's menu was priced right, plenty of gluten free options. Service was very good and restaurant very clean and nicely decorated. Would go back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank msdebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Tavern & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tuscan Tavern & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing