We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interior nice-but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mill Creek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Creek Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interior nice-but noisy”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My mom and I stayed two nights mid week. I requested a room on the top floor, in the back of the hotel (facing the stream). It's a small hotel, but no top floor rooms available. We ended up in the back, on the first floor. Our room was closest to the weight room, vending machine for DVDs and pool. The entrance to the hotel is small and dark, with the small front desk right as you walk into the hotel. The elevator is right there, as well. Hallways seem small in width, and the green paint makes them feel "dark." There is a parking garage under the hotel. It is open, with some spots covered/others not. It's small, so one car per guest room. We saw several people park there and walk into town, to avoid the paid parking there. The hotel front desk said it doesn't check to make sure spaces are for guests only, although garage signs say they do. The room itself was very adequate. The kitchenette was useful and clean, with enough space to eat at the counter or the dining table. Fireplace was also nice; the patio is small with sideways views of the park/stream. The queen bed was not terribly comfortable, nor was the pull out couch. We ended up putting sheets/blankets on the couch to sleep, rather than pulling it out into a bed. Bathroom was spacious, and the large jet tub was a plus. More lighting would be nice, however. One of my concerns when staying in hotels is the noise, which is why I try to stay on the top floor, away from the elevator, ice machine, pool, etc. This room was very noisy. We heard people in the weight room (next door) dropping weights, kids running through the halls above us, people using their jetted tub at 11:00 pm (despite signs in the bathroom not to, because of the noise), and people talking and yelling outside our window, since we were directly above the garage. We ended up trying to drown out the noise by turning on the noisy heating unit, and opening the windows so we wouldn't burn up. The hotel is in a great spot in LG. First floor rooms can view the stream and trees, but really no lake. We walked everywhere-which was nice. When I mentioned the noise to the front desk, they just said "sorry." I should note that the only time we were spoken to when entering or leaving the hotel, was when we checked in and out. Otherwise, front desk staff never looked up, greeted us, or asked if they could be of any help. We are frequent visitors to LG, but will look at other options in the future.

Room Tip: Upper levels, though they will cost more due to their size, may be a better bet for quiet. The back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbcaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and telling us about your experience.
We always appreciate our guests' comments and concerns, and will address them.
We think that our staff is very friendly and personable; some guests prefer more suggestions and some like their privacy..
We do hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    115
    34
    12
    19
See reviews for
64
220
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We (hubby and I) were so impressed with this hotel, this was actually our second time. Our room was very spacious (the size of a small apartment) and had a very nice view. Instead of the big Thanksgiving dinner we decided to relax and do nothing at Mill Creek. Management was so friendly and courteous. This is a nice and close place to just get away and we get away approx. every three to four months and Lake Geneva is close enough. The only negative thing I would say about the hotel is that it does not have a restaurant or some type of lounge area.

Room Tip: Room very clean and spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We feel that our location is perfect to visit the excellent restaurants and bars in downtown Lake Geneva, but we also understand that it would be extra special to feature our own lounge also.
We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
238 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a special winter rate and for under $90 including tax enjoyed a full kitchen, fireplace, and a huge tub. The room was very large and well-kept. The people working there were very helpful with suggestions for where to eat. It is walking distance to everything fun.

Don't shy away from Lake Geneva in the winter. It is still charming and more quiet without so many tourist. We enjoyed our little winter escape.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cwgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We agree that Lake Geneva is a great place any time of year.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekalb illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were unable to travel more than an hours distance following our wedding. Found this wonderful place online and decided to go for it. I called the hotel to make the reservation back in August and was given great advice about which room to choose and I was even upgraded free of charge. I had planned roses and champagne upon our arrival. To my suprise the rose petals were throughout the mini apartment, on the floor, in the bathroom by the huge whirlpool tub and in the bedroom formed into a heart on the bed. Our stay was awesome. My husband was also very happy. The hotel was in a great location and we loved that we couple open the patio door and the 2 sets of windows to feel the outdoors. We definitely will be back.

The staff were all very nice and offered recommendations for our meals. The cleaning ladies were also very kind and gracious.

Dont hesitiate to book here you will enjoy your experience.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room by the elevator and try to get a room on the 3rd floor there is a skylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesireeJ1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We wish you much happiness and hope you come back to The Mill Creek Hotel for Anniversary celebrations in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Our room was very comfortable, views to the park and creek were very scenic. The lake being right across the road was a bonus. We will be back. Being able to walk to the shopping and restaurants made the trip relaxing. If you are looking for a quiet place to get away this is it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathie519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Mill Creek Hotel. We're glad that you took advantage of our great location by walking to the downtown Lake Geneva shops and restaurants. Every season is beautiful here, and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf Iowa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is located in a great spot downtown, within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, and the bay. The accomodations are clean and include a kitchenette which we found very useful. We were able to park our car and walk everywhere. I would recommend this hotel and definately plan to stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We think our location is ideal and it's great that you were able to visit the lovely shops and restaurants nearby. We look forward to your next visit and hope that it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent 2 nights here recently, as a final weekend together before I am stationed abroad for 3 years. We had high expectations which, unfortunately, were not realized. The price was on the high side at $638 for 2 nights, but we were willing to pay it when we saw the room came with a jacuzzi and "view of the nature preserve" off our balcony. The room was very spacious, but the balcony was more like a small hallway with a couple of chairs made of PVC pipe. The "nature preserve" turned out to be the parking lot immediately below us, adjoining a stand of trees separating us from the adjacent hotel. After dinner we looked forward to a relaxing soak in the jacuzzi when we noticed a sign on the wall saying not to use the jacuzzi after 10pm. We thought this was a little restrictive considering we payed a fair amount for the room. When we actually did use the jacuzzi, activating the jets caused several brown chunks of some kind of matter, that I shudder to imagine what might have been composed of, to instantly fill the tub. We immediately got out, taking care to wipe the brown chunks of ~chills~ whatever that was off of our skin as we dried. The second day, house keeping wanted to clean our room at about 9 am, as we were getting ready for the day (Saturday). Asking them to come back in an hour was met with rolled eyes and a disapproving sigh. Upon checkout we brought the jacuzzi matter to the attention of the mgmt who assured us that the jets were cleaned thoroughly and regularly, and it was probably cleaning solution left over. Right. Brown, solid chunks of cleaning solution. All in all, not nearly what we hoped for considering the money it cost. The location is the only thing about this hotel that commands a price higher than a super 8.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.3 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
549 reviews
1.9 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
306 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Creek Hotel

Property: Mill Creek Hotel
Address: 123 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mill Creek Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal location in the heart of downtown Lake Geneva, WI.Nestled near the magnificent lakefront, the many historic parks, and the prestigious Main Street, The Mill Creek Hotel offers overnight visitors to Lake Geneva the best of all possibilities.You may view the vastness of beautiful Geneva Lake. You will enjoy the peaceful Donian Wetland Nature Preserve, and you are within steps of Lake Geneva's prominent Main Street.Mill Creek is the only hotel in Lake Geneva situated in a beautiful wooded nature preserve in the heart of it all and only steps from all shopping, restaurants and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mill Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Creek Lake Geneva
Hotel Mill Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing