We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We spent one night in this resort on our 4 day trip through eastern Wisconsin.

The room was clean, had to call the front desk for more towels.
The suite itself was lovely; the kitchen includes a full size refrigerator/freezer, a range top (no oven), microwave oven, coffeemaker, blender, toaster (slice type, not toaster oven); sink and dishwasher. The kitchen was stocked with dish detergent and dishwasher detergent, basic pots and pans, a set of stoneware dishes, glasses, teflon friendly utensils, flatware, and some sharp knives. We very much enjoyed being able to eat in our room, but there were several restaurants in the resort. To stock the frig, there is a nearby Pick and Save grocery store. The kitchen features an island with chairs and also has a very nice sized dining table. There was a tv in the bedroom and one over the fireplace near the sofa.

Beds were comfortable, air conditioning worked well and not too loudly. Staff was friendly and competent. Lots and lots of closet space, and nice bathroom with whirlpool tub. One nice touch is that the bedroom has a pocket door that can close it off from the rest. Kids slept on the sleeper sofa on our trip.

The waterpark was good; it was July 4 and not overcrowded as we feared. Lifeguards were pretty relaxed, except for one who was imposing rules that were not posted regarding which direction guests could go in one of the pools. The other lifeguards didn't share her opinion on how that spot should be managed, as soon as she left the new lifeguard let the kids go both directions as they pleased and had done the night before.
No dump bucket at this park, but the waterslides are very good, according to the children. A nice size park for kids 12 and under.

The arcade was good, the employee running the prize area was very good with children, especially the younger ones who don't count well.

  • Liked — kitchen in room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsofcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    373
    116
    70
    50
See reviews for
953
39
Solo
0
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2007

Went here for a night with our son and nanny.. a few notables:

1. The Room- Plenty big enough for us. There was a king bed and a sleeper sofa and a lot of floor space if you wanted to have kids in sleeping bags. The TV was funny placed but other than that, good room. NIce sized bathroom and huge jacuzzi tub. Room was clean and plenty of towels. Didn't like being in the "lower level" of the rooms though but was a small bummer. they had aveda products for toiletries which was a nice change from the nasty smelling generic ones.

2. The waterpark- Great for our 2 year old. the zero depth pool was a big hit. He loved it and seemed like there were kids of all ages enjoying themselves. It was clean and could see how this place would be a great winter getaway.

3. The grounds of Grand Geneva- We did golf while we were there and hit up the steak house. it was nice to be able to enjoy the Grand Geneva as well. They have a cute trolley that runs between the different resorts.

i am not one to really complain but was annoyed that our room wasnt ready at the appropriate check in time.. we only had to wait 30 minutes but i was still annoyed esp b/c the staff wasn't super apologetic about it. we really didn't interact with the staff at timber ridge too much. the staff at grand geneva was very nice though.

Overall- a good experience. would recommend for any family however larger families, consider two rooms unless you want to be nice and cozy in the one bedroom.

Take advantage of all the grounds have to offer (playgrounds, golf, spa, water park, family activities) instead of just staying in your room. also, stock up on food prior to entering the resort. they have a small kitchen in all rooms and fridge so you dont have to get sucked into overpriced "sundries".

for us, it was a nice one night trip away from chicago. will go again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nickiwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illlinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2007

I brought my two children (ages 3 and 2) to this hotel for a one-night stay and i loved it. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. We went during the week and there were not a lot of people there at all. The pool is great as they have an area for little kids and an area for bigger kids. My kids had a great time in the pool, which was very clean. The lifeguards are wonderful, they do not sit down to watch the children, they walk back and forth to keep an eye on everyone, which i thought was very safe. I have been to other hotels with pools and the lifeguards are, literally, doing their homework. The room we stayed in was huge and very comfortable, nice furniture -- it didn't feel like a hotel at all. The kitchen was the best, had every thing you needed. The bathroom was huge with a big whirlpool bathtub. I did the special rate night and it was cheap for every thing the hotel has to offer. I also took my kids to the park down the road by the Grand Geneva which is also very nice. All and all, i loved it and would go back any time.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank Jolson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

We booked a two bedroom unit for 2 adults and 2 kids and were extremely disappointed with the layout and the quality of the room. It's basically a very long and very, very narrow room that is impossible to get comfortable in. There is no way to get 4 people into the "living room" area. The kitchen does not have an oven (only a microwave), which was a huge problem since we brought food to cook. We ended up going to one of the restaurants on the property and spent a small fortune for a meal. We also encountered numerous problems with the electrical and HVAC systems that added to our discomfort. Unless your #1 goal in life is to spend time in a very crowded water park this will not be the place for you -- and even then you probably won't be able to overlook the poor accomodations given the very high cost. We'll never go back.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_In_Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

Overall, good water park but it fell short of our past experiences at Great Wolf Lodge and well short of Kalahari. Relative to Great Wolf:

Minuses - water park not as big, lazy river slower/colder/not as many jets & sprays, fewer slides, food inside park itself just as bad & expensive, exercise room moved to main lodge so you have to take a car to get to it, separate heating system in bedroom did not work at all, didn't have the "ambiance" that Great Wolf has in the decor of the lodge and rooms.

Pluses - room itself spacious, good water park for small kids but using water park for second day is a bit of a stretch.

Bottom line, recommend GWL or Kalahari if the added few miles to the Dells is possible. Also highly recommend eating at Luisa's Pizza, 10-12 miles east of Lake Geneva. Good flat pizza and terrific, terrific fried Chicken and very reasonable prices

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Appliancejunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2007

Booked the hotel before reading some of the scathing reviews. Instead of cancelling I called and spoke to a VERY helpful customer service person who guaranteed we coudl switch to the Grand Geneva if the hotel did not meet our standards.

We got to the hotel on Wednesday night and stayed until Friday morning. There was virtually no noise besides us. No kids running and screaming in the halls - it was nice and peaceful. The water park was slightly smaller and very child oriented. We never used it.

The room was wonderful - clean and large. The balcony had a great view of the forest behind the hotel where we watched a small herd of deer feeding at dusk one night. The fireplace was wonderful and the bathtub was big enough to swim laps in.

We had dinner at the Italian restaurant in the Grand Geneva and that was the only disappointing portion of the trip. The food was avaerage but not nearly good enough for the price! Definately skip the dessert.

  • Liked — The room at the back of the property afforded wonderful views!!!
  • Disliked — The bed was Terrible. Bring your own pillows!!!!!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missvanity1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We rented 2 rooms for 8 women. Rooms were very large, especially the 1 that had a 2nd floor. We also had dining room table/chairs, large bathrooms. Very nice accomodations. The hotel graciously drove us in the courtesy van to the downtown area and then picked us up, too. We had Sunday brunch in the resort, which was very good and very plentiful. We did not use the Water park, so I cannot comment on that area.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamdesiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
1.7 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
604 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
276 reviews
3.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
373 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Property: Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing