We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value and wonderful family resort...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We spent three days and two nights at this resort...The price was very reasonable...The suite floor plan of the rooms includes a kitchen (full-size fridge, stovetop, microwave, double sink, dishwasher, and plenty of pots/pans/plates/silverware/etc), a dining area, spacious bathroom with a hot tub, a sitting area with a sleeper sofa and fireplace, a balcony, and a seperate bedroom with a king siza bed...Plenty of room for our family of four (two kids on the sleeper sofa - adults in the bedroom with the door closed)...The waterpark is well-maintained and has a variety of options depending on age/swimming ability...There are two fun waterslides, four hot tubs, and a lazy river...There are also two outdoor pools with slides...This place has actual trained lifeguards who are both attentive to what is going on and appear physically capable of taking action...The game room was well above-average and the kids activites were also a nice distraction...The staff was professional and responded quickly to our needs...The only downside was that the food from the hotel restaurant (Smokey's) was sub-par...We recommend bringing your own food and making use of the in-room kitchen facilities or enjoying the many fine eateries in downtown Lake Geneva...Overall, we had a great time and will return soon...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mom2Grlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
There are newer reviews for Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,175 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2008

With regrets, I have to come down with the folks that didn't think this hotel was a very good destination. a few things I wish I'd realized before going:
1) The whole place has a depressing, dingy, drab atmosphere. Nothing seems quite clean (the carpets are stained, the locker rooms smelly and dirty), there are obvious problems in upkeep and maintenance (a broken dishwasher in one room, an air conditioner that smelled of urine in another, a jet that fell off the whirlpool when it was turned on, no working remote control, no screens on the balconies). None of the furniture is very good quality (more Motel 6 than Hilton), and the staff, though generally friendly, seem bored out of their minds. The game room and kids' play room are both really depressing.
2) No one with a choice would eat anything served on the premises.
3) Though the hotel is surrounded by open land, most of the rooms overlook either the pool area or a wrap-around parking lot. More suburban than rural, more motel than resort.
4) Our kids enjoyed the water park, but the outside part is very tiny, so it's not great in the summer.

I didn't expect a four-star resort (that's not what was advertised) -- but I did expect it to be nicer than this -- I won't be going back.....

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beiralago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

I don't know what was worse; the bed bug bites, the pathedic excuse for a waterpark or the food that sat in your stomach like a lead ball!! The blankets appeared to be army surplus, the pillows were no better than sleeping on a sheet of paper and I'm not sure the pull-out couch had a mattress, just a lot of springs under a sheet! I have stayed in 4 Star Resorts for half the price and twice the experience!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotterChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Timber Ridge Lodge is an excellent resort for a family getaway. I traveled with a large group of 25 people which includes 10 adults and 16 children. There was plenty to do for everyone considering the ages ranged from 4 months to 37 years of age.

Timber Ridge has a great waterpark that truly brings out the kids in adults. We really enjoyed the water slides and the large pool with basketball hoops. The indoor hot tub was connected to the outdoor pool area which was great also.

The rooms were AWESOME!!! We stayed in a 2 bedroom with a loft area. They included a kitchenette which made it easy for us to cook and keep plenty of snacks readily available from everyone. There was also plenty of room for us to enjoy being together as a family. The balcony was large enough for at least 6 people comfortably. JUST BEAUTIFUL!!

Timber Ridge also has an arcade and movie room for the kids to enjoy scheduled activities throughout the day. Considering it is located on the Grand Geneva Resort, you have access to the sports facilities. They have tennis courts, basketball, golf, and other fitness activities available. There is also a Wal-Mart down the street.

The only negative I have about my stay at Timber Ridge is that housekeeping forgot to clean our room our first night. They said we were not on the list. It was ok because they did come to take our garbage out and give us fresh towels when I inquired about it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TWEETYBIRD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Many of the comments on Trip Advisor are spot-on. Expect a water-park centric mostly clean hotel full of families having a good time. Do not expect great food or the level of service of the main Grand Geneva lodge with which it is affiliated.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DB2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Just about the worst bed I've ever had in a hotel and by far the most pathetic pillows. Despite this being the beginning of the tourist season, the hotel was dirty and run down. Food is vastly overpriced and pretty bad. The associated water park is just quite sad looking, not particularly clean and uninspired. The rooms have full kitchens that are well-equipped, but the "balconies" barely fit two folding chairs and look out on a typical motel concrete pad with a tiny outdoor pool. There are many nice places in Lake Geneva. This isn't one of them.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank biztravelerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Just returned from the hotel and wanted to give a realistic view about our stay to other people looking at going to this place. Lots of positives; full sized kitchen in room, 2 person whirlpool tub in room, waterpark is pretty big with not a lot of people there to swim with, arcade is big and has lots of games (prizes are too many tokens and the candy is old), DVD/VCR rentals available, daily activities for kids (though expensive), located on a quiet lot with lots of scenery. Down falls; Food is terrible in both resturants to eat at, they are VERY skimmy on towels in the room, towels by the pool are extremely rough and my infant screamed every time I wiped her off after getting out of the water because of the roughness, Living room in rooms are very narrow and not friendly for entertaining, and the kids run all throughout the halls at night and in the early morning. Dont expect to get rest because the walls are paper thin. Best advice for this place, dont expect a whole lot and you will be fine.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goofya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
1.7 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
843 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
390 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range: $195 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing