We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was attending a conference at the Grand Geneva (main lodge) and decided to bring my family. The I learned this place was part of the property and switched my room here. I am very happy I did. While I was in meetings all day, my wife and daughter had a blast in the water park. It is not huge, but there is enough to do and it did not feel over-crowded. You have to buy food and drinks at the cafe in the water park, but it is reasonably priced. On our last day, my wife treated herself to the Well Spa, and was happy with it (it is a sister property to the Well Spa at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee, which we have also used). The suite was spacious if oddly laid out; the bed was very nice but the fold out sofa was not comfortable (fine for a kid though). We will be back!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms near the lobby have a patio that leads directly to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
david_andrews~ I was happy to read that your business trip turned into a fun adventure for the whole family. I am glad your wife was able to utilize our amazing Well Spa here on property for a little R&R and that your wife and daughter enjoyed the waterpark. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    362
    109
    68
    50
See reviews for
916
39
Solo
0
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I took my son for his birthday and we loved it! Staff was very friendly. Any department i went to there was someone to help with any questions, i really like their indoor water park. The lifeguards made me feel very safe. Check-in was a great experience. The Front Desk agent was very nice and helpful. We did not get a chance to try Smokey's Restaurant but it sure smelled good. Cannot wait to go back next summer to be able to use the outdoor water park. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henny018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
henny018 ~ Happy Birthday to your son! I am thrilled you were able to celebrate it with us at Timber Ridge Lodge. I appreciate the kind comments regarding my staff. I have shared your comments with them. I look forward to welcoming you back this summer. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our kids are 7 and 9, and have enjoyed coming to Timber Ridge for several years. The place is clean, the staff is friendly (and there are plenty of lifeguards around) and there's enough to do to keep busy for a couple of hours before you'll want to break for food, or just for a change of scenery. We recently went for just the day -- $108 got us access to a suite, which was a fantastic deal. We left Chicago in the morning, went for breakfast, and then checked in. We got ready in our suite and then toddled down the hall to the water park. After a couple of hours we went back to the suite, dried off and played some games, read a bit, watched some football, and headed out for pizza. Then back for a couple more hours at the park before heading home to Chi. It really made for a great day without even the expense of an overnight. That said, it's also been fun when we've stayed over -- it's pretty exciting for the kids to be able to spend time at a water park, stay in a hotel, and wake up the next day and go BACK to the water park!! All in all, this has been a great destination for us. The food is fine, although the food up the hill at Grand Geneva is better (although pretty expensive) and the food in town offers good options as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klynnkitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Klynnkitto ~ Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent day trip to Timber Ridge Lodge. I appreciate your years of loyalty. Since our waterpark is not open to the public, the daytripper package is great for families who are looking to spend the day in the waterpark and have access to a room to rest, relax, eat or watch TV. A day in the waterpark with two children can get pretty exhausting. I am happy to hear that you enjoy visiting Timber Ridge Lodge and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our first family vacation in four years, ever since the baby was born! So I wanted it to be perfect. It was myself, my husband, my three year old, and my inlaws. I found a Groupon that made the price really attractive. I booked Tuesday to Thursday in late October. I called ahead of time and was told that we can check in at 1:00 (regular check in was at 4:00 pm).Our suite was AMAZING. It was super clean and well stocked. The kitchen had every amenity including dishes, glasses, cutlery, pots, pans, microwave, stove top burner (no oven) and full size fridge. Even a small dishwasher and dishwashing soap! The bedroom had a sliding door for privacy. The living room had a sleeper sofa. My husband and I slept in the bedroom and my three year old slept with my in laws on the sleeper sofa. There was a TV in the living room and another in the bedroom. The heat worked pretty well. There was also a fireplace. There was a HUGE bathroom that had a jacuzzi that could sit two or three people. Wifi signal was great, everyone was able to use their iPhones/iPod/iPads in the room. The water park was the perfect size, not too big and not too small. The toddler area was the perfect area to start out with. The pool with the basketballs were great. The lazy river was awesome to unwind in. Then there were two hot tubs and two slides. I was too scared to go down the yellow slide (body only, no tube) but tried the green slide (with tube). The water park was kept around 85 degrees. The water was not too cold and if you're splashing around playing it was okay. The water park opened at 10:00 a.m. and closed at 8:00 pm. We brought some food and made use of the kitchen but we also ate at the BBQ restaurant for dinner and also the concession area in the water park. Food was pricey but the hotel rate was very reasonable with the Groupon so it wasn't too bad. There is a free trolley that could take you to the stables/petting zoo and also the bigger Grand Geneva resort. Parking was free and plentiful. The front desk was friendly and accommodating. The vending machine on my floor ate my $1.50 so I called the front desk and they offered to replace it with a pop from the gift shop! I asked for extra pillows and they were very nice about it. The bed and sofa sleeper were very comfortable. Timber Ridge Lodge is only an hour and a half from Chicago so it isn't too far to drive with a toddler. Check out was at 11:00 a.m. but after checking out you can still keep using the water park til you go home. There is a locker room with showers right by the water park entrance and also 25 cent lockers for your stuff. Staying here also gave you privileges at the bigger Grand Geneva Resort (more restaurants, a spa, and an indoor pool, plus wall climbing but we didn't use it). There are going to be winter activities coming soon including sledding and skiing along with the water park so we will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Go during the week and the waterpark is almost empty! You'll also have a choice of rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smanong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Smanong ~ Thank you for your detailed review. I am very happy that you were able to get away on vacation and I am extremely delighted that you chose Timber Ridge Lodge as your destination. Since this was your first get away in four years I am glad to read that you were pleased with all the resort has to offer. Please don’t wait so long to take another vacation and I hope it will be a return trip to Timber Ridge Lodge! ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great place for the grand kids! Took 4 grand kids from ages of 11 to 9 months. All had a great time, grandparents as well. Staff friendly, amenities wonderful: clean, rooms conveniently located near water park. Much bigger than expected! Kitchen is a plus with young kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Peg o ~ I was so happy to read that you were able to bring your four grandchildren to Timber Ridge Lodge for a getaway. Your grandchildren are certainly lucky to have a grandma like you! I find in today’s world our lives are so busy and hectic, it is nice to take time for family and to create memories that will last a lifetime. I hope that you will visit us again in the future. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was my third stay at Timber Ridge in the past 3 years! I had requested the same room that I had in 2012, and the Lodge staff accomodated this request. It felt like home! From the front desk to checkout, and everything in between, everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Because the bedrooms are away from the hallway and outside, every room is a good room. I like the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoosierhobbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hoosierhobbies ~ Thank you for your loyalty to Timber Ridge Lodge. How wonderful that you have been our guest three times in three years! We look forward to welcoming you back to your “Home away from home” again soon. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellison Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 enjoyed our 3 night stay at Timber Ridge Lodge. We found the front desk staff extremely helpful and handled dinner reservations and ideas of what was abailable for our kids entertainment durring our stay. Our suite was nicely appointed although small for our large family. The waterpark was very nice and friendly staff as well. Restaurant prices at the hotel were very expensive, but we expected that so we only ate breakfast at the hotel and chose more family friendly priced restaurants away from the hotel for the rest of our meals. What a nice getaway for our family durring a cold Wisconsin spring. The waterpark was warm and comfortable even on a snowy day. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCmomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
DCmomto3 ~ Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay this past spring. I always enjoy reading reviews in which families are able to come to Timber Ridge Lodge and spend quality time together. I will share your positive comments with our front desk staff. I look forward to welcoming your family back again soon! ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Property: Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing