We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Westmont, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kids loved it!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you live in the Chicago area, the Timber Ridge is a nice place to go with kids. It is close enough, so it is worth a weekend trip. The room was nice, and the waterpark was perfect for my three and one year old grandsons. We took the trolley to go for a breakfast at the Grand Geneva. The kids loved the trolley trip, but I was very disappointed with the breakfast buffet. Service was not fast enough, so several items were always missing, such as pancakes, bagel, bacon. It is not easy to wait for food when there are two small kids involved. Anyway, next time I would like to stay a little longer to take the kids horseback riding, and spending more time at the waterpark.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evangelina1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Evangelina1944~ Thank you for your review. I am happy that you were able to spend quality time with your grandsons at Timber Ridge Lodge. I sincerely apologize that the breakfast buffet did not meet your expectations. I hope that you will have the opportunity to come back again and enjoy more of the activites that we have to offer on property. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    381
    117
    70
    50
See reviews for
969
40
Solo
0
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochelle, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently stayed in a suite for 2 nights with another family: 4 adults and 3 kids (aged 6 or younger). Our experience could not have been more pleasant. Our suite was roomy enough for the young kids to be active, kitchen facilities perfect for feeding 7, the rooms were quiet (even though there were both other young families and a group of college-aged kids in the suites around us -- we didn't hear any noise from adjacent rooms), the water park was spacious and diverse, the on-site restaurant facilities were very good, the arcade kept the kids very happy, the kayak/stable/petting farm was fantastic, and the location relative to Lake Geneva was great. Most importantly, though, the staff throughout the resort was extremely helpful, friendly, and professional. The life guards in the pools were everywhere, the cleaning staff was effecient and thorough, the restaurant staff took great care of us -- our waitress brought a forgotten side sdish up to our room when we called down after a big carryout order, the folks at the kayak/stable/farm facility were great. After having a terrible water park/hotel experience at another hotel last year, I was ready to hate this place. The folks at Timber Ridge made me feel like I spent my money very well and made a two-family vacation with pre-schoolers enjoyable and refreshing. When does that happen?

Room Tip: 2-bedroom suite has a semi-open loft for second bedroom. You won't be visible to those downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Victor W~ Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Timber Ridge Lodge. Our team takes great pride in providing an atmosphere that families can enjoy and I'm glad that you were able to experience that first hand. We look forward to welcoming both of your families back soon. Thank you for choosing Timber Ridge Lodge as your getaway destination. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

From my first e-mail questions on my reservation till the time we checked out. The motto seemed to be "We Aim To Please". Everyone was friendly and accommodating. I give big kudos to the lifeguards in the waterpark, they are in a position to have to enforce rules for safety, they did it with appreciated politeness. It's evident they want the kids and adults to have a good time.

This was our first visit. We were with our two granddaughters and we stayed in the two bedroom. They loved the loft and having their own bathroom! In fact they loved it all and want to go back again and again. It was nice to have a small living room along with a dining area in which to play games. I am glad we stayed in the two bedroom even though there were only 4 of us, as it could get crowded if using the sofabed in the living room. We had the 'Countryside' view so it was very quiet! My only minor complaint is the bed was extremely firm. But that is a personal preference.

We thought the food to be exceptional at Smokey's BBQ restaurant for a family menu. We did not make it to the other eating areas but did order room service. We were surprised at how great the Pizza was! Again the staff was extremely friendly and made our girls feel special.

This will be a yearly trip with our granddaughters!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
WestieP~ Thank you for such a positive review of your recent stay at Timber Ridge Lodge. It is always a pleasure to get such a glowing review from a first time guest. I have shared your comments with my staff. We truly do “Aim To Please” all of our guests and I appreciate you recognizing that. I look forward to welcoming you and your granddaughters back next year! ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is truly a great stop in Lake Geneva Wisconsin. A weekend or a week there is so much to do from the water park to the golf and all of the other facilities on the property. Horseback riding and amazing food for everyone just makes it a great place to spend some time. The rooms have optional kitchenettes, the water park is clean and well maintained. There are also some camping out options. The resort is also open to requests and provides many options.

Room Tip: Suite/Kitchenette is a great way to enjoy and also reduce costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
John M ~ Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to read that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities that we have to offer on property here at Timber Ridge. All of our suites have kitchens so that families can bring in their own food if they wish. I hope that you will come and visit again in the future. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturtevant, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Took our daughter there for her 10th birthday. We had the room decorated (it looked fantastic). The room itself was superb! A kitchen with everything you could need (except an oven) a dining room, full size bathroom & a jacuzzi tub built for two! Our king size bed was super comfy & the girls loved "camping out" in the living room on the queen size sleeper sofa. The private balcony overlooked a beautiful countryside with horses grazing. So peaceful! The staff were always friendly & attentive, making sure our every need was met - from extra towels to a forgotten arcade pass that was supposed to be in the room. They took care of EVERY little detail! The activities staff that held the Karaoke singing even sang happy birthday to my daughter. The water park was very clean & the life guards always making sure the guests are safe and having fun. It was cool when we went, so the outdoor pools were closed. But we had enough fun things to do inside to keep us all happy. Smokeys BBQ restaurant was excellent as well. The waiter made sure that my meal (the bourbon glazed salmon) that had been over-cooked, was at no- charge. I got a new freshly made meal. My girls got a huge free dessert PLUS the birthday girl got a molton lava chocolate cake too! It was a wonderful dinner! If you go to Timber Ridge, you wont be sorry!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are closest to the pool, second floor is the same floor as the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Jamie927~ Happy 10th Birthday to your daughter! I am so glad that she was able to spend it here with us at Timber Ridge Lodge! We love to celebrate special occasions with our guests and hope that they leave with special memories that will last a lifetime. I sincerely appreciate all of your kind comments regarding the hotel, staff and restaurant. I will share your comments with my staff. I hope you will come back and visit us again in the future. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We went there for a 3-day weekend with friends who also have kids. This is a perfect place for young children and the perfect size. We had a blast and plan on trying to make this an annual trip with our friends.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lunchbox34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Lunchbox34~ Thank you for your kind review. I am happy that you found Timber Ridge Lodge to be the perfect place for your getaway. I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back for many years to come! ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with Timber Ridge! We traveled with our toddler son and infant daughter.

The good--

The room was a good value, with a full kitchen, nice big bathroom, dining table and living room area. The room was spotless--I really appreciated that! Moreover, the water park was clean and very well-staffed with lifeguards. The restaurant was a good value as well--the food was fresh and tasty, and we were overall pleased with the service.

The bad--

The bedroom was pretty tiny--it was hard to fit a pack 'n play in there. The bedroom closet was puny too--you could barely fit anything in there. Also, there is no maid service after 4 PM--this can be a problem if you have children who nap in the afternoon. It would also be nice if there were more dining options. Also, the front desk was understaffed--lines were often long and the staff was slow.

Overall we had a good experience and will definitely be back. The waterpark is ideal for small children, although older kids would probably get bored.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
bebop123~Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate your honest feedback. I am happy that you found the resort to be well staffed, clean and a good value. While I can’t change the layout of the suites I do appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that you found your room to be small. I was delighted to read that you will return to Timber Ridge Lodge in the future. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
1.7 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
688 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
326 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
548 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Property: Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing