We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Kid-friendly Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Kid-friendly Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the perfect kid-friendly resort in Lake Geneva! The indoor water park and outside pool area are great for all ages. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The suites are a good size and the kitchen area includes all the utensils and dishes you need. Love the health club and bike trail. The only thing I would say is to update the matresses. This is my second trip to Timber Ridge and the beds were not very comfortable. I would recommend this resort for anyone wanting a distance friendly trip with children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Gina T~ Thank you for your kind review. I appreciate your comments about the resort and hotel staff. I am happy to hear that you would recommend Timber Ridge Lodge for a family friendly trip. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    362
    109
    68
    50
See reviews for
916
39
Solo
0
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family (me, husband, 16 month old son) are currently at the Timber Ridge Resort right now. We are VERY disappointed with our room. We were able to check in early (around 1:30 p.m.) and were given our room keys and a brief overview of the resort. We were given a "pasture view" one bedroom suite (as these are supposed to be quieter for the sleeping little ones) on the third floor. Well, the cast of Stomp must be vacationing in the room above us, because I have never in all my travels heard such a racket in a hotel. Upon entering our room, we realized the crib (pack-and-play) and high chair we requested were not here. I called down to the front desk, and these items were delivered within an hour. Ok, no harm, no foul there. Moving on...I started to get settled in the room and began noticing things...like the totally scratched up coffee table, the filthy range top, the mysterious red substance on the couch (nail polish, blood, etc.), the dining chairs with claw marks/burn marks (or something else interesting) on them, the marker drawings on the dining table and window sills, and the pen scribbles all over the in-room literature. The high chair that was delivered is quite gross, and I am thankful that I came armed with a supply of antibacterial wipes. I realize that this is a family resort, and I do not expect perfection, but I do expect clean rooms. I would appreciate some more care being taken in the presentation of the rooms, considering the cost of this hotel. Because my curious toddler is into everything, I am very unhappy with the cleanliness of our room. I would love to change rooms, but was told upon checking in that there were no other "pasture view" rooms available. So, I suppose I will keep wiping things down and remember to NOT book a room here next trip.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is clean before you settle in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
DB1180~ Since you are still a guest here at the hotel I would like to discuss your stay with you and resolve your situation immediately. Please contact my office at 262-249-3450 or come down to the front desk. Regards~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I was very unhappy with our stay. I had a 1br suite booked for myself and my 2 sisters as well as my 5 year old and my 4 year old who was celebrating her birthday there. I gave my sister (who is 8 months pregnant) the joy of sleeping on the king size with my 2 little ones and I took the sleeper with my other sister....needless to say sleeping on the floor on a cardboard box would have been more comfortable.....I ended up using the padded chair with my legs up on a dinning chair and my sister was just up all night until the pregnant sister woke up and she went to sleep....so basically she slept from 630am to 330pm...missed half the day...we contacted the front desk and were told all the sleepers are the same and were offered a roll away...problem was..that covers one person...what about the 2nd!?!? We were 5 people in that room....that was Sunday night thru Monday. Whatever....after that Monday evening , our toilet starts freaking out and filling and draining and filling and draining.....we called the front desk who sent up a plumber...he stated it was nothing major and should b fixed but if it happens again to call back the front desk.....sure enough within 10 minutes it does it again.....mind u this is like 8pm I'm getting my little girls fed and ready for bed and we are asked by the front desk if we want to switch rooms but since no 1br suites r available (as this is Xmas eve) we can go to a 2br which is normally a $100 upgrade they would only CHARGE US $50 and since we had 2 nights left it would b an additional $100 on fop of the $500 I was already paging....WTF!?!?! r u serious???? I flipped a lid......there is a toilet problem in my room and u want me to repack all my stuff get all my kids stuff and clothes and we suits and activity stuff we had already unpacked and inconveniently have to move rooms...plus u r going to charge me?!?!? No way.....after speaking with a manager we got the complimentary upgrade. Then on Wednesday, which was our check out day, I did the phone call to the front desk to check out and then got both my girls dressed in their swimsuits for one last little bit in the waterpark.....I was fully clothed and both my sisters were fully clothed as they were not going in the water....I put wristbands on both the girls and went to go into the waterpark when some girl told me that we could not enter since there were 5 of us and only 4;wristbands tot (u get 4 bands per day with a 1br suite...so I had 2 on the girls and I was just holding the other two in hand)...I told her this was our checkout day and the only two going in the water are my 5 and 4 year holds.....she said "well u need 5 bans to go in and u only have 4...u need to hold on while...." By then I had hcutad enough of this place...I her off mid sentence and said "we will b at a table on that side of the kids area...when u find someone willing go come and go at it with me...send them over there".....nobody showed up.......basically for the $209 per night plus your room tax & service fee or whatever u guys call it...it comes to like $240 a night plus a resort fee......I will NEVER park mend this hotel or to any of my friends....since October I have been to wisconsin dells, las Vegas, and Orlando....and that's just the past 2 months....I have never been so dissatisfied and disappointed from a mini vacation in my life.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liat1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Liat1012~ While reading your review I see that you visited Timber Ridge Lodge in December 2012. I would like to sincerely apologize for the condition of the sofa beds while you were our guest. While it does not change your experience, I would like you to know that since your visit we have replaced the sofa beds and lounge chairs in all of our units. Since our waterpark is not open to the public we do require all hotel guests to have a wristband on while they are in the waterpark for safety and security purposes. I am sorry if this was not conveyed to you properly. Regards~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a very family friendly resort. The suites are spacious and clean. The kitchens in these suites have full sized refrigerators and stoves, and they are stocked with adequate utensils and dishes. The spa and health club attached to the resort were very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. The Grand Geneva has some wonderful restaurant alternatives, although they were expensive. The only disappointment was the mattress was not as firm as one might like and seemed to be at the end of its useful life!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Nancy K~ Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that the firmness of the mattress was not to your liking. I will share your comments with my team. We do like to think of ourselves as being very family friendly here at Timber Ridge. From the large suites with full kitchens to the waterpark, stables and spa we definitely have something for everyone in the family to enjoy. I hope you will come back and visit us again in the future. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent and clean resort. Perfect for families to get away for a few nights. Enjoyed suite in room, made easy so we didn't have to leave hotel. Would have liked to see more outdoor pools or slides. Overall staff was friendly and we would definitely visit again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank linz7185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Linz7185~ When I read the title of your review I was honored that you chose Timber Ridge Lodge as the destination for your first trip with your one year old. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay while you were her. I hope you will bring your family back to Timber Ridge Lodge for many years to come. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We took our 4 year old daughter to TR for a quick 'vacation'. It was the perfect distance from home. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. There was always someone around to answer questions. Also, in the waterpark area there was always someone picking up towels and wiping down tables. The room was great. Perfect amount of space and very comfortable accommodations. The hotel had family bingo to play and a great arcade with many games for $0.25. We ate the restaurant on site. The dinner was 'ok' but the breakfast was wonderful including the s'more pancakes...mmm! We rode the Grand Geneva Trolly and also attended a concert. It was a unforgettable trip and we WILL return soon! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Lisa D ~ Thank you for your great review. I was ecstatic to read that your trip was unforgettable! I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. I will share your comments with them. I am glad you had the opportunity to attend one of the concerts in our summer concert series here on property. I look forward to welcoming you back to Timber Ridge Lodge soon. ~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great place for families. Big spacious rooms with kitchens and accessories. The water park is great and mainly for younger children. No bullying of teenagers here which was nice. Staff is great! Very helpful and attentive. Lots of things to do for the children. Movies, arts and crafts, arcade, etc... Grand lodge is next door with a short free trolley ride there. Would recommend eating there instead of water park. Food is o.k. At best at the water park. Most people bring their own food, we didn't. Next time we will. The grand lodge has a two golf courses, a spa, and daycare for the kids which is great so the adults can have a little fun on their own. Would highly recommend staying at either place. Lake Geneva is a 5 minute drive away and has plenty of restaurants, shopping and water sports to do. There is a farm with horse back riding and pony rides for the kids as well as adults. They have a petting zoo there too. The trolley will also take you there! All in all, this is a great place to relax with the kids for a few days. Older kids might get bored here but not at lake Geneva. If you have younger children then this is the place to go. Better than Wisconsin Dells. Much less chaos. And the scenery is beautiful!

Room Tip: They will provide high chairs and play pens for infants if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tas&dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
tas&dave~ Thank you for the great review. I am happy that your family had such an enjoyable stay at Timber Ridge Lodge. It sounds like you kept yourself very busy with all of the amenities we have on property such as the waterpark, stables, spa, restaurants and arcade. It is very convenient that everything on property is accessible by our complimentary resort trolley. I hope that you can come back again in the fall when the scenery is equally as breathtaking! Regards~ Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Property: Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing