We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway for groups with young children. Average service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Great getaway for groups with young children. Average service”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have been visiting every winter for the past few years along with a group of several families with young children. We like the large rooms, and the larger families book the units with a loft bedroom. The lodge tries to book as many rooms next to each other as possible. The children enjoy the indoor waterpark with its slides and lazy river. We always spend some time in the outdoor hot tub regardless of the outside temperature. The kids get to spend about an hour in the arcade during one of the evenings.

We also spend a few hours on the snow-covered driving range for sledding. There have been some close calls weather-wise but we have been fortunate to have had enough snow every year so far. We also enjoy snowman building and snowball fights.

Timber Ridge is part of the Grand Geneva Resort complex, and so we had access to the resort sports facility. Several of the adults are avid tennis players and usually play for a few hours in the morning before breakfast and going to the water park. Others have taken advantage of the facilities at the "WELL Spa" There is a small ski hill as well but we've never tried it out.

We typically have lunch at the waterpark.food court but have not dined at the restaurants.

On our most recent visit we were disappointed with our experience with the staff. Our guaranteed room was not available supposedly because the family which had our unit before us refused to leave at the official check out time. They insisted there was no room available for the two nights so they had us check into one room them check out and check back into the original room the following day. We could not really unpack for our first night as we did not want to pack up all over again. They stated they would call us in the morning when the original room was vacated and available. They called the room at 7AM saying we could move out! It turned out the other family did not stay overnight but left in the evening. The staff did not bother to fix the room the night before or ask us if we wanted the original room even if it was later in the evening. Their compensation was a $50 dollar food credit.

Timber Ridge is a good place for families with younger (even teens) children to spend a long winter weekend. The waterpark may be the focus of activity but there aare other things to do. Even adults have the opportunity to indulge themselves. The service is adequate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImmerWandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
ImmerWandern~
Thank you for your continued patronage to Timber Ridge Lodge over the past years! I am sorry to hear about the experience you had with us this past February, as this situation was not handled as I would have like it have been. I will be sharing your experience with my front office manager & team to ensure this situation is handled in a more professional manner in the future. I do hope your family decides to visit us again this winter to enjoy the campus and all it has to offer. If I can be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Thank you again,
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    384
    118
    70
    52
See reviews for
979
40
Solo
0
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights during the recent heat wave so to have our 3 kids (aged 10, 8 and 5 years) practically be submerged in water for most of the day but be inside and under the constant supervision of an army of Timberidge lifeguards was really what we came for and the resort delivered! The resort was a huge success with the kids including the kids club (mainly free activities with a handful of paid activities) and the arcade. Our 2 bedroom suite was basic and showed signs of wear & tear (ripped sofa, jagged edges on the kitchen worktop, broken bedside lamps which we brought to the attention of maintenance which they swiftly reacted to) but all the requirements were there including 3 tvs and a huge whirlpool bath in the main bathroom although the aircon does need upgrading to get to the mezzanine bedroom on hot days! When my husband & I needed a change of scene, it was great to head a bit more upmarket and use the extensive facilities at Grand Geneva who made us feel very welcome. Make sure you discover these early enough in your stay to make full use. Even though we are not golfers we didn't have time to do all that we wished. The trolley bus driver is also a fountain of knowledge about the history of the resort too.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is pretty basic but focused towards younger kids. There was a large water play area with wave makers etc. The room was clean and pretty basic. We had a one bedroom suite with 5 adults to it was cramped but that is our fault really. We had a room facing the parking lot so nothing great to talk about there. The service was ok.

The hotel is part of a larger property. They have two golf courses, we played on the Highland course. It is quite a flat course, and in good shape. A much more interesting course is the Player course at Geneva National.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeKAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a 2-bedroom suite. We have a 4-year old and a 2-year old. We all had a great time.

We were extremely pleased with the entire resort, from the room to the water park, to the food choices and activities for kids. You're able to charge everything that is extra to your room, which was great because we didn't have to worry about carrying cash with us. The snack area in the waterpark was especially convenient and we were pleased that it also offered some drinks for adults.

My son did the lego workshop, we went to the stables for the petting zoo and pony ride, and we even went up to the Grand Geneva one night for a magic show. The Lake Geneva Beach is less than 10 minutes away and is perfect for young kids -- clean and fun.

An extra kudos to the lifeguards at the Timber Ridge waterpark. They are everywhere and very focused, which put me at ease. Even if bigger kids got a little too roudy in the little kids section, the lifeguards put a quick end to it. It was much appreciated.

We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coriann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Coriann~
Thank you for the detailed review on your recent stay with us! Sounds like you had a great time and had an opportunity to take advantage of many of the amenities we have here at the resort. I appreciate your comments on the lifeguard team! They are a great team and we appreciate all they do each & every day.
Hope to see you again soon!
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOwa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was our first trip to the water park, we had a great time in the water park portion. We stayed for an extended weekend. We were told check in time on our reservation and when we arrived they kept us waiting in the lobby for 2 hours telling us that our room "just wasn't ready" We have two children in the family under the age of 3. Unable to get to the water park, or change we were forced to wait in the lobby and keep explaining to the children that they coudn't go to the water park. VERY LITTLE explaination on what the long wait for the room was, very little apology was given. We stayed in one of the large suites thinking we could do 6 adults and 2 small children there wasn't enough room. We had to get another room. The room smelled musty and was run down and quite old. It definately needs a bit of an update and makeover on the rooms. Had a large cobweb in the lower bedroom, cleaned up ourselves. Kitchen in the room was functioning. Nice large refridgerator.
Restaurant is EXTREMELY overpriced for what you get. Seriously get Pizza Nearby!! The Next Door Pub pizza was GOOD GOOD GOOD. Take in the FUN Ranch nearby the offer pony rides and a petting zoo of sorts. Ride the trolley around the resort the gentleman on the Trolley is a GEM!!! Fun entertaining man. :)
The water park was AWESOME. Enough the keep both kids entertained. Adult were able to go down the little slides with the kids in the small section which was SO helpful. Just enough room to enjoy everything. Lazy river was Nice. Larger Fast rides were fun for the adults.
I would go back again, I think I would stay in a different type of room or just hope they update the rooms. Maybe stay at a different hotel but get passes for the park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dremnstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dremnstar
Thank you for your recent posting. I want to apologize that your expectations were not met during your recent stay with us at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark. I am sorry to hear about your arrival experience the little communication you received from the Front Office team. Our priority is to have our guests start their vacation as quickly as possible, and I apologize that we failed with your family.
Your comments have been shared with my staff, so thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take your comments to heart, as your feedback will help us improve. I welcome the opportunity to speak to you more about your recent experience, my direct line is 262.249.3450
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent a few days at Timberidge, it was our first time visiting the resort. The rooms were clean and the kitchen in the room enabled us to bring and cook our own food to save some money on dining out. The employee's were very friendly and very helpfull when needed. Our 3 year old had one of the best times of her life. The water park was just the right size for her and she was able to use almost all of the slides and other water activities. My wife and i also had some fun on the big tube slides.The temperature was over 100 degees outside but perfect inside the waterpark. The prices at the snack shop and the gift shop were reasonable, they did not try to rip you off. We plan on taking another trip there soon. It's close to home and fun for all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbld25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dbld25~
Thank you for the wonderful review! We always love to hear about children having the time of their life here with us! We hope we are able to continue to provide great family memories for your family in the future! I also appreciate your comments regarding the team here, I will be sure to share them with the team. We look forward to your return in the near future!
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here with a day package in the winter and then again on the 3rd of July. The stay in the winter was great. We brought a 2 year old and six year old. The room was big and clean and waterpark was great and the pizza we got and had delivered to our room was also very good. I only wanted a day package for the 3rd of july since I live close but none were available so I decided to stay overnight even though I didn't need to. I was apprehensive about staying on the 3rd because I hate big crowds but was pleasantly surprised. After spending all day in the waterpark, we went out on the lawn out front and watched the fireworks from there. We could have taken the trolley for a closer view but it was great from where we were. There were only about 30 people out there because everyone else was probably by the main hotel but you could see fine from right there. Then it took about 4 minutes to get back to the room!! The waterpark isn't huge but good for keeping an eye on small children and you could get on the two big slides over and over as fast as you could get up the stairs, try that at six flags waterpark (I was there yesterday, july 7th, and it took forever to get down one of the kid slides in the kids play area) Not to mention you kicked out of lazy river at six flags on one pass unless you rent a tube and have to wait in line again if you didn't. At timberridge, tubes are free, life vests are free, they give you towels, you can go to your room and cook since you have a stove and fridge(and plates and utensils and cups and papertowel!) or go to a restaurant or get food at the waterpark and prices are reasonable. And the small slides I could go down with the 2 year old which they don't allow you to due at six flags in the kids area on the small slides for whatever nazi reason. I like six flags and have season passes but have no patience for their packed water park and would rather go to timber ridge where you don't have to worry about the weather and don't get kicked out at 6pm. I thought it was great and the day package is very reasonable, older children may get bored of it but I didn't see anyone bored. Oh yea, the breakfast buffet was pretty good too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie J, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Tim T~
We appreciated your positive & detailed review of your stay with us over the 4th of July festivities! We hope you are able to join us again since you are right down the road from us. You will find our day tripper availability is greater during the fall/winter months. Thank you again!
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
1.7 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
774 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
568 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Property: Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing