We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cocktails, fancy hats, excellent food and lovely service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baker House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cocktails, fancy hats, excellent food and lovely service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Found this randomly while looking for places to go in Lake Geneva and now it's my american friend's family's favourite place to go in Lake Geneva. The glorious cocktails, the well cooked local food, the good service and YOU GET TO TRY ON DIFFERENT HATS! The little girl who loved dressing up and the cocktail loving woman met as one!

You get offers for dressing vintage, and there's a piano bar awaiting your enjoyment!

I recommend this for tourists and locals alike. I loved it and would adore to go back...maybe 2017...*sighs*

Seriously, though! You'd be a fool to miss a dinner here! A FOOL I TELL YOU!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcherwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
81
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

What can I say?! My husband & I had the most magical night of our life and it was hands down due to the service, coordination, & awesome venue at The Baker House. Anna was our commander in chief for coordinating every detail to ensure our wedding guests were directed appropriately, fed delicious food, and served amazing drinks. She customized our wedding and secured every detail to make sure we were a go rain or shine. The house itself is absolutely stunning and so charming right on Geneva Lake. Our officiant, Jonathan, gave such heartfelt sayings & readings - we were emotional messes in the best way. He personalized the ceremony to include the cute story of how we met from each of our perspectives and I loved it. He also is the butler at The Baker House and makes the stay there so wonderful & easy. It's like staying with family! We had the Bordeaux room with a gorgeous jacuzzi tub & heated floor tiles. Paula worked the whole night to make sure our guests were taken care of at the wedding venue & coordinated all of our bookings for the bridal party which was down to the wire since they had construction going on - but she & Anna exceeded our expectations! The champagne brunch on Sunday after our Wedding was a must do - as the food is delicious! It was a dream come true for our 1920's themed wedding! Thank you so much, Baker House Crew!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyRonJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Baker House and really enjoyed the experience. The large Victorian home has a wonderful restaurant downstairs, but there are a few rooms upstairs that are lovely. The whole experience was worth the visit. You have a butler available to you the entire stay to take care of you, and they provide a restaurant table overlooking the lake if you plan to eat dinner there. One night they even had a champagne sunset toast on the front lawn, which was a lot of fun. It is pricey, so check out the rates before you book. My one suggestion is that they upgrade the breakfast in the morning from just coffee and croissants (which were delicious, by the way) and maybe include juice, yogurt, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at the Baker House for two nights. This is so much more than a place to stay it is an incredible experience. What really makes this place so special is Jonathan the butler. He has the most amazing sense of customer service. He was always checking in with us making sure we happy and had everything we needed. While the place is beautiful Jonathan made the entire stay so special.
We ate our meals at the mansion and the food is delicious. The brunch on Sunday has everything and highly recommend it.
We went to the Maxwell Mansion (also same owners) to the Murder Mystery Dinner. It was really fun show and the actors have amazing voices. Another great thing is the vintage car rentals in the parking lot of the Baker House. We walked out and rented the convertible Cobra. We had a fun time driving it around Lake Geneva.
We stayed in Versailles room and it is so beautiful. We loved just looking out the window. Since you have access to all the common rooms upstairs we enjoyed just exploring all the pictures, games and books. We highly recommend spending time enjoying the mansion.
It was a fantastic relaxing time. Thank you Jonathan for making us feel so welcome and special we will be back soon!! PS-Jonathan we miss you and it hasn't even been 24 hours!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Have been seeing the Baker House year after year and finally for my special birthday chose to be pampered and welcomed at the Baker House. Our butlers were awesome and took special care of us. It absolutely takes you back in time but with all the modern amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

My first time in Lake Geneva, chose Baker House at the recommendation of a friend who grew up in the area. Perfectly located right on the lake, gracious old school hospitality, stunning, sumptuously designed suites. Complete with butler. The only place to stay in town.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank 312-415-212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Baker House is a slice of luxurious heaven in the Midwest. This is the quintessential when old meets new. Imagine the dream of being transported back to the 1920s, to live in a gorgeous Victorian home sitting on the shores of the breathtaking Lake Geneva, with a gracious, discreet staff catering to your every whim. Then, add to that picture, the most extravagant decor, as if you are basking in your lovely Parisian flat, and the most glorious steam showers to wash your every care away. The attention to detail from the decor to the staff's service is impeccable. The gracious hosts, Bethany and Andrew, throw a roaring 20s dinner party in the restaurant, complete with wonderful music, with a "Sun-downer" toast in the delightful garden watching the sun slip down over the lake. Ahh, when I die and go to heaven, this is what it will be.

Room Tip: I adore the Versailles Suite, but you cannot go wrong with any of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
1.7 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
1.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Suites
Bella Vista Suites
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker House Hotel

Property: Baker House Hotel
Address: 327 Wrigley Drive, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baker House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge Yourself at Lake Geneva's MOST LUXURIOUS Boutique Hotel on the lake. Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, and a dash of old world aristocracy you will be completely swept away to a world of Gilded Age living within this decadent lake-front mansion. Every room has lake views and original working gas fireplace, stretch out across the signature "Baker House Bed" with King size, hand-made mattress by OSTERMOOR and travel back in time as you melt into the softest sheets you've ever experienced. Guests are provided with room service, private bar and lake view dining room as well as private Butler and exclusive access to the English gardens during the day and reserved garden pavilion for al fresco cocktails in the evening. The "Baker House Bath" is rumored to be ranked as one of the "Sexiest in America". Select between decadent steam showers built for 2 with rain head and multiple massaging sprays or submerse yourself in an over-sized soaking Jacuzzi tub with aromatic bath salts. All baths are equipped with heated marble floors, state-of-the-art Grohe fixtures and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. For your convenience and enjoyment, modern amenities of flat screen television with DirectTV, in room Wi-Fi, refrigerators, safes and hair dryers are standard in all rooms. BEST Panoramic Views, Lakefront Garden Lounge, Listed on the NATIONAL REGISTER of HISTORIC PLACES, 13 Original Fireplaces, Decadent Furnishings make the Mansion suites a truly memorable time for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Baker House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing