We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Better than perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baker House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baker House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better than perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

It seems as if our experiences just keep getting better all the time. I have to attribute that to trip advisor and steering clear of problems. This place is great! The staff are super friendly and do whatever it takes to make your stay a great experience. We stayed in the tower room and it was perfect. The steam shower is something to experience. One of the neatest places we have been to and will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
89
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I could not have been more pleased with my time at the Baker house. From the food to staff to accommodations we were pampered and cared exceedingly well. This is the kind of place you don't want to miss!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totheends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Baker House for a long weekend. The staff was amazing and treated us like royalty. The rooms were decedent and the food was fantastic. Although it was very classy and Victorian, the staff was fun and relaxed. It was the perfect combination of high class and lots of fun. I would go back in a heartbeat ...

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms and they are all fantastic. If they have sold out, they will put you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My ex and I visited here in Feb of 2012. He was showing me around the area that he grew up (as i am from the Appleton/Green Bay area). We didn't have dinner there or stay there, but even so the service and the staff were completely awesome and interactive! I had even told him that we should have had our wedding there! It is a wonderful, beautiful place! I wish he and I had not had too many differences! Wonderful area!. Absolutely wonderful place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our second stay at the Baker House in 3 months. It is such an amazing place and the staff is so accommodating and friendly.

This details in the house are so unique...from the woodwork to the lighting to the fabric covered walls. It's so warm and comfortable you won't want to leave. The staff is delightful, especially Johnathon. He's one of the butlers who takes care of all and any needs. He's absolutely attentive and genuine.

The food is great as well. Very high end, fresh and delicious.

I've traveled all over the world, stayed in many high end hotels, but have never felt so welcome. We are heading back in February and can't wait! Support this wonderful establishment. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular. We really love the Versailles Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyLynnVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a special place! Impeccable attention to every detail, from museum worthy decor to impeccable service to the finest ammenities. Friendly, elegant, comfortable, accomodating. Worth every penny, very unique and special. We LOVED the Provence Suite, and would choose it again, it couldn't have been more comfy or beautiful. And the food was outstanding (which was an unexpected and delightful surprise since they made sure we were informed that their restaurant was not intended to compete with the former fine dining Gilbert's). Certainly more informal dining than Gilbert's, but really top notch food. Oh...and the cocktails are amazing! And everything is absolutely beautifully done. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Provence Room was delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Does the rating scale really only go to 5? Honestly, I'd give it a 10 if I could! Some girlfriends spent the weekend at the Baker House to celebrate a big birthday, and we were treated like movie stars.
The house is absolutely oppulent- so many beautiful antiques, yet the most modern amenities possible including a steam shower! If you can't spend the night, at least have a meal on the front porch with a fantastic view of the lake. Everyone was absolutely fantastic, but I have to single out Bethany and Jonathan. Thank you for giving us memories to last a lifetime!!
Pam Grimes
Oak Park, Illinois

Room Tip: Try to get the 2nd floor room with the lake view. It seems to be a favorite of honeymooners and cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.2 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
5.0 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker House Hotel

Property: Baker House Hotel
Address: 327 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baker House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge Yourself at Lake Geneva's MOST LUXURIOUS Boutique Hotel on the lake. Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, and a dash of old world aristocracy you will be completely swept away to a world of Gilded Age living within this decadent lake-front mansion. Every room has lake views and original working gas fireplace, stretch out across the signature "Baker House Bed" with King size, hand-made mattress by OSTERMOOR and travel back in time as you melt into the softest sheets you've ever experienced. Guests are provided with room service, private bar and lake view dining room as well as private Butler and exclusive access to the English gardens during the day and reserved garden pavilion for al fresco cocktails in the evening. The "Baker House Bath" is rumored to be ranked as one of the "Sexiest in America". Select between decadent steam showers built for 2 with rain head and multiple massaging sprays or submerse yourself in an over-sized soaking Jacuzzi tub with aromatic bath salts. All baths are equipped with heated marble floors, state-of-the-art Grohe fixtures and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. For your convenience and enjoyment, modern amenities of flat screen television with DirectTV, in room Wi-Fi, refrigerators, safes and hair dryers are standard in all rooms. BEST Panoramic Views, Lakefront Garden Lounge, Listed on the NATIONAL REGISTER of HISTORIC PLACES, 13 Original Fireplaces, Decadent Furnishings make the Mansion suites a truly memorable time for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Baker House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing