We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath Taking”
Review of Baker House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baker House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breath Taking”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Champagne suite for a very romantic get-away. I felt like a queen! Each room was decorated to perfection. The bathrooms were beautiful and sparkling clean. The staff was aimed to please and couldn't do enough for us. The food was delicious. I would recommend The Baker House to anyone who would like a special change of pace.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jywalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
102
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Baker House transports you back in time to the 1920s and the effect is magical. The hotel is beautiful, mostly original fixtures, floorings, furniture, all restored to pristine condition. The staff dresses the part, and couldn't have been more wonderful. The room we had was the nicest hotel room I've EVER had, AND, we had our own butler! The hospitality is beyond, and the food is great. One of the coolest places we've ever been.

Room Tip: they are all unbelievalbe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and just returned home from a great two-night stay at Baker House. We hadn't been to Lake Geneva in many years, so I checked in with Tripadvisor and found that Baker House was the well-deserved number one place to stay. The B&B is housed in a beautifully restored 19th century mansion on the shores of Lake Geneva and walking distance to town. The owner-host, as well as the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Each morning a delicious breakfast of hot coffee, juice, assorted fresh fruit and fantastic croissants were delivered to our room. On the second evening we had dinner in their first floor restaurant, which is open to the public. The food was outstanding. They have a great wine list with many available by the glass. All in all, we had a wonderful and relaxing stay and would return in a heartbeat. Note: Baker House opened for business less than a year ago, which partly explains why there are not that many reviews posted. I think another reason is because the owner did not ask, hint or otherwise request us to make a review on Tripadvisor, which at other inns has become an all too common request of us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marioambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Versailles suite during January to get away from the stress of work and that is exactly what we did. The staff attended to our every need and our butler Jake made sure that we had whatever we needed. When we arrived we were given the tour of the restaurant and the upstairs and when we entered our room our butler had prepared the room with the lights dimmed and the fireplace lit. Our first day we were the only guests so we had the run of the whole 2nd floor and had breakfast in a private dining room just outside our room, way cool. You have to stay in these rooms to believe them because I will not do them justice. Others have described the Versailles suite shower and it is one of the craziest over the top showers and I now need to install one at home just like this. There are more body jets than most whirlpool tubs and the steam system is really relaxing. Made the weekend. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was great and the staff was really helpful with making reservations for our 2nd night out. Overall this was one of the most relaxing getaways we have had in a long tm end can’t wait to give the Baker House a try when the weather is a lot warmer. Thank you Jake, Katrina & Nick for all your help.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are fantastic and you can only pick a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotts_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I wanted a relaxing weekend to ourselves and needed to be pampered a bit. We absolutely got what we wanted in the Baker House. Our "butler" was fantastic and was available morning, noon, and night. The room was great but the best part was that we had the 2nd floor den, sitting area, and dining area to ourselves, along with the other guests who were staying there (3 other rooms). The food from the downstairs "restaurant" was amazing.
We would stay at Baker House again without hesitation!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MtNative1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chciago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Try the Champagne Room for a sultry, sumptuous feeling. Request a private butler, or absolute privacy. Express your personal wishes on the bathrooom chalkboard. Read in the library, or overlooking the lake. Enjoy life in a Victorian Mansion beautifuly situated on Lake Geneva. Breakfast is seved and the room appointed with loving attention to every detail.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eva f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Looking for a getaway from the city, but wanting the level of service and sophistication the city provides, staying at The Baker House delivered everything I was looking for. Stepping into the hotel, the first room you see is a private bar that draws you in with it's rich flavor and ambiance. Going to our room, which was the Versailles Suite (it just happened to be right as the sun was setting), the sunset was breathtaking! The room was more than I expected - from the original hand-carved fireplace, incredible views of the lake and luxurious finishes I knew that we were in for a treat. What's even better was the amazing steam shower the next morning. With the chill of fall settling in outside, this was the perfect way to get the day going the following morning. The attention to detail both in the service of the Baker House staff and the decor/amenities was just what I was looking for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
1.7 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
566 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker House Hotel

Property: Baker House Hotel
Address: 327 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baker House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge Yourself at Lake Geneva's MOST LUXURIOUS Boutique Hotel on the lake. Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, and a dash of old world aristocracy you will be completely swept away to a world of Gilded Age living within this decadent lake-front mansion. Every room has lake views and original working gas fireplace, stretch out across the signature "Baker House Bed" with King size, hand-made mattress by OSTERMOOR and travel back in time as you melt into the softest sheets you've ever experienced. Guests are provided with room service, private bar and lake view dining room as well as private Butler and exclusive access to the English gardens during the day and reserved garden pavilion for al fresco cocktails in the evening. The "Baker House Bath" is rumored to be ranked as one of the "Sexiest in America". Select between decadent steam showers built for 2 with rain head and multiple massaging sprays or submerse yourself in an over-sized soaking Jacuzzi tub with aromatic bath salts. All baths are equipped with heated marble floors, state-of-the-art Grohe fixtures and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. For your convenience and enjoyment, modern amenities of flat screen television with DirectTV, in room Wi-Fi, refrigerators, safes and hair dryers are standard in all rooms. BEST Panoramic Views, Lakefront Garden Lounge, Listed on the NATIONAL REGISTER of HISTORIC PLACES, 13 Original Fireplaces, Decadent Furnishings make the Mansion suites a truly memorable time for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Baker House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing