We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best way to see Geneva Lake”

Lake Geneva Cruise Line
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For the True Lake Geneva Experience, you have to get on the water! Beautiful estates, mansions and natural scenery that only be viewed from the lake unfold through a descriptive and insightful narrated tour or provide the backdrop for an unforgettable party or wedding celebration. With 8 boats that hold from 2 to 225, Lake Geneva Cruise Line is one of the areas premier attractions - including the World Famous Mailboat Tour. As seen on the Travel Channel, CBS News, and the Today Show; it is the only marine mail delivery of its type in the nation as the mailperson leaps onto the pier, places the mail in the mailbox and jumps back aboard the boat. The catch is - THE BOAT NEVER STOPS MOVING!
Chicago Burbs
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The best way to see Geneva Lake”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were in town for a day trip and took the full lake tour. It was terrific! The guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. The tour included the history of the area as well as a commentary on the mansions and properties. The dock is close to all of downtown Lake Geneva so you only have to park once to shop, dine, and cruise.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 14clubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold F, General Manager at Lake Geneva Cruise Line, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Also, the fall is a great time to avoid the summer crowds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    106
    17
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Souther Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Black Point Estate tour”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I took the Full Lake tour last fall where we learned about the Black Point Estate tour that we did this summer. We were very interested in the mansion although the tour was kind of long and not very interesting, we did enjoy visiting the home. This tour is not for people that can not do stairs. Boat trip to and from Black Point dock very interesting although alot of the same narration as the Full Lake tour. We preordered a box lunch to have on the trip that was very good. Most people brought their own sandwiches which I was surprised was allowed. I would not recomend this tour for children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SoutherWisconsinRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold F, General Manager at Lake Geneva Cruise Line, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Lot's of good points. The State go nationwide and hired a new estate manager and the tours continue to get better and the variety as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Station, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We had looked online and knew which tour we wanted to take. Tickets can be purchased early - we bought ours at the dock the day before. The Riviera is a nice building! Boat tour left on time, narration was interesting. One of the crew was new and had a bit of trouble with the "script".

Helpful?
1 Thank 2CAPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold F, General Manager at Lake Geneva Cruise Line, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. From time to time we do have new employees working on the tour but we do our best to monitor this and make sure you still have a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“US Mail Boat Tour, grand scenery and grand homes”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We came on a Friday for a 10AM-12:30 journey around the Lake. What you need to know is my GPS didn't guide me well. There's a main light coming into town towards the water and you need to take a right there and a left on Wrigley. You park in a metered area. You may have difficulty finding a spot, luckily I managed to snag one. You also feed the computerized meter box. You input the parking spot number, your card, how much time you're paying for, etc.

It's highly recommended to reserve for this popular tour. We did not do so and got in to the ticket area by around 9:40 after finding it and paying the meter. We luckily got tickets. They recommend the lower vs. the upper for best views of watching the mail guy. Also the right side is the side you want as you can get the best pictures out that side of all the homes and scenery along the way. If pictures don't matter either side is ok really you see it plenty well from either point. There's also tvs above to see the mail people and also to look at some history as the captain is speaking about the history of the homes and the area. This is a fine addition to the tour.

We found it neat the relationship between the people getting the mail (an optional service to get your mail this way in summer) and the captain/mail people. It was entertaining and interesting to watch the scenery of the lake, hear the history given, watch the mail carriers (some stops were quite hairy especially if they had mail to pick up and not just drop). One owner had their dogs retrieve the mail which was especially entertaining. Even those receiving the mail take pictures of the boat and us going by which is fun as well. You see all the boating, parasailing and other on the water activities going on. Also the neighboring areas of Williams Bay and Fontana are talked about as you go by them, too, as part of the tour/mail delivery.

Be sure and come early to seat on the right hand side where the metal rail is for the mail deliverers. These were filled up and we sat on the left side (lower part of boat). The captain was good enough to deliver advice on lower vs. upper seating on the boat. Also be courteous and sit all the way to the window and not on the edge. It's very hard to crawl over the people to get to your seats otherwise (just plastic chairs). The captain even warned a few times of the boat leaning too much one way and having the people not seated up to the window to get up to move. While that was part of it, it was common courtesy too for those looking for seating not to have to crawl over people.

The 2.5 hrs. didn't feel long. You can get up and go get a snack on the upper deck, just don't get in the way of the tour going on by getting up as the mail is in delivery and such as people are trying to see this go on. On your exit you'll go through the building which passes by all kinds of food if you're hungry. You'll pay a bit extra for convenience but never the less it's there and handy should you choose to utilize that option.

Also next door to the docks is the library beach area which is very nice. If you come early in the morning you can enjoy an uncrowded beach, before the tour. Be aware the beach fills up. By the noon hour it was packed.

The mail deliverers and captain were all very friendly and informative. A guy/girl duo split the time, one took the first half shift, the other took the latter.

As a nice surprise they gave away a gift pkg. to one lucky ticket winner, if they call your number. Out of the six or so numbers I only had one that didn't match. So close! They gave away something from the Geneva Inn that they do mail deliveries for.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank hatchpal4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold F, General Manager at Lake Geneva Cruise Line, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
This is a great tour and soon will be celebrating 100 years of service on Geneva Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“U.S. Mail Tour of Lake Geneva”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We toured Lake Geneva by way of the 2 1/2 hour morning Mail Tour. It was a very unique experience watching the mail delivery boy jump on and off the boat to delivery papers/mail to docks on the lake. The driver and delivery boy told of the history of many of the houses on the lake which was very interesting and was not overdone and boring. We were amazed at the expertise of the captain in such shallow waters this year and with all the obstacles in the lake - boaters, rafts, kayakers etc. You could sense the friendships that have developed on the lake between the mail carriers/driver and the owners.....we even saw Santa hiding away at his cottage dock! The right side of the boat is the best place to witness the deliveries, especially on the bottom. We chose the right side on the top because of the beautiful day and it was fine, too. There is an open bar and two restrooms on the boat. It was a long trip on such a hot day; however, if you prefer to walk the 21 miles around the lake - there is a small path for the public - the cruise line will arrange for drop off/pick up so you can walk only part of the lake. We hope to do that on the next trip!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold F, General Manager at Lake Geneva Cruise Line, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
As a college student in the early 60's I drove the original mailboat and things have only gotten better through the years. Please come back and enjoy another cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Geneva Cruise Line also viewed

 

Been to Lake Geneva Cruise Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing