We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful Meal”

The Hunt Club Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hunt Club Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 94 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 50 and Geneva National Entrance
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We went to the Hunt Club for our anniversary dinner and were very pleased with our choice!

The view was phenomenal. Because I had mentioned it was our anniversary when making the reservation, they had put aside a table for us overlooking the golf course, which was absolutely lovely as the sun started to set (both of us being golfers, it was also quite nice to view their gorgeous course which we hope to play soon!)

The meal itself was great. My wife ordered the grilled chicken and fettuccine. It was absolutely divine. The boursin cheese was a brilliant concept and made this seriously one of the best pasta dishes I've had in recent memory. I ordered the tenderloin medallions, which were very good, but not quite great. The red wine demi was just too salty for my palate and at times even overwhelmed the taste of the steak. The pan seared gnochci, however, were terrific!

We were brought a complimentary dessert, which was just another of the out of the way touches provided to us by the Hunt Club. The berries and cream were a perfect light snack to top off an excellent meal.

The service was prompt and courteous - I never saw any employees standing about, everyone was always on the move with a purpose.

I would highly recommend the Hunt Club. I give it 4-stars only because of my so-so steak, otherwise it is top notch in all other areas!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Downola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palos Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really lovely restaurant”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Drove by a million times going to other Wisconsin attractions and always wanted to try. Looked clubby and wasn't sure open to public. But it is. Wonderful view and outstanding service. Formal but not stuffy and clubby in a good way. The recommendations (we asked, not automatically thrust upon us) were spot on and I never would have ordered bisque otherwise. It was delicious. My martini was perfect and made even better when the server thought I may want more olives on the side. My husband's weird (standard for him) request for the wedge salad without the blue cheese (I mean, why order it) was met with a smile and extra tomato and bacon. All the food was very good. Wine list was very nice as well. For a special occasion or just something a bit nicer than usual, the Hunt Club won't let you down.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mmmmh”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Love the food & the view
The bar was also nice & so was our servers
Always travel with a big party when in Lake Geneva and the accommodated us very well

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank roberta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, WI
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good experience with flashes of great”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had an anniversary dinner at this restaurant. The hostess met us at the door, greeted us and quickly escorted us to our table. It is much bigger on the inside than what it appears from the front. It overlooks the golf course and lake in the back. That said, it is not an intimate place - at times it got noisy. Pacing of the dinner was good, and the service was very good. The food was very good and at times excellent. Most of our party had the filet, which they said was excellent. I had a bone-in ribeye and was a little disappointed. At over $50 (ala carte) I expected chop house quality, and it wasn't quite there. However, I do recommend the brussel sprouts au gratin and lobster bisque. The lobster tail was tender and flavorful, although pretty small for the price. The wine selection was excellent. Overall, we did enjoy it although for the price not a great value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frances564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A very good dining place that has hints of being great…...”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were with another couple Memorial Day Weekend for Dinner. Our Server was quick to greet us, though wait time between requests seemed long. Pacing of appetizers and Dinner orders was fine. Admittedly I did not spend a lot of attention to our friends entrees. I had a bone in Strip cut (aka Kansas Strip by some) which was prepared spot on (Med-Rare) with a mushroom/red wine reduction, not over the top but executed well. My wife had the White Fish (Lake Superior), which I had a taste and almost wished that was what I had ordered. Her fish was grilled, with a very light sauce, capers, and roasted red peppers, very good.
My wife enjoyed a couple of the featured cocktails, I was happy with their Bourbon selection.
No complaints overall, just a couple of steps (service, presentation, attention to little details) away from being a great Dinner destination. Still a good experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hunt Club Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Hunt Club Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing