We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a resort”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wesley Inn and Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very very misleading, it is not a resort and the 'cabins' are like a tiny box. Our stay was more stressful than anything as we brought our dogs and had no idea how small this place was. It is also far from the lake/downtown area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 28 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the tiny cabins. First off there were no towels in the room. The remote didn't work at all for the TV. There was no heater in the room so it was as cold inside as it was outside. The place smelt like mold. When it was time to check out it said it was closed and wouldn't be back till 12:30 pm which check out is at 11. Then when she came back from inspecting it she said we had to clean the sheets and the room had to be spotless and since we didn't because she NEVER told us we had to she charged $30 and took it from our security deposit. WHAT A COMPLETE SCAM! NEVER EVER STAY HERE!!!! SUCH HORRIBLE SERVICE AND THE PLACE ALL TOGETHER WAS RUN DOWN AND DIRTY!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank countrygirl2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Don’t be fooled by the name, the “Wesley Inn and Resort” is not a resort. The pictures on their website look good, but you will be shocked when you actually get here.

Downtown Lake Geneva is a touristy area, with shopping, restaurants, beach activities, boating, etc. The Wesley is not downtown, quite a distance from the lake, and shows its age. The room prices are high because it is in Lake Geneva, not because of the hotel’s amenities.

Rooms are run down, cleaning is questionable, service is sub-par.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oaktoncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very old, broken down, dirty. Extremely highly charged and no repairs or maintenance done to show for it. Shower had a large hole on the wall which was covered by a shower curtain (wondered why there was a shower curtain on the wrong side). The rod & curtain fell down after 1st use & had to be repositioned. Broken light bulbs not replaced. Did not use pool which was surrounded by overgrown grass. No daily service for cleaning, making beds, removing garbage or changing towels.
Towels seem dirty too - these too must be from 1800s. Should not be even your last option!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was the only place with a vacancy left for the weekend and now i understand why. I stayed with my family and the first thing we noticed was the terrible smell when we walked into the room. The room was dirty, the pool and is not what i call a resort at all. The only good thing is that it is very close to town but if you spend a little more you probably would have a nicer stay. I also believe it was extremely overpriced for an out dated room with no internet services at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

3 perfect words to describe this place: what the heck!!!>:/

These are our top 10 worst things about our experience at the Westley "Inn and Resort".

1. It took them 10 minutes just to acknowledge the fact that we were there. Finally a 15 year old kid came to check us in.

2. We opened the room and it smelled like moldy carpets and cigarettes. We had to light multiple scented candles to even bare the smell.

3. There was no remote for the 1980's TV which only had 7 channels when half of them didn't even work. The lady came into our room to get us a remote in her age inappropriate bathing suit. The remote ended up not working and she never gave us one for the whole weekend.

4. There was only one coffee pouch and the coffee maker had a giant scissor bug in it. By the way the coffee sucked.

5. The shower drain was clogged and there was no shampoo or conditioner. The housekeeping was bad and they only made the bed ( not washed ) and 2 more clean towels for a family of 4.

6. We went to go checkout the pool and there was garbage all over the tables and the pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a week or 2. There was bugs all over. It was disgusting!

7. Nobody was there at checkout time. The sign said, " We will be back at 9:00 am" ( It was 9:45.)
Honestly, I think they just avoid checkout purposely so they don't have to hear the complaints. We had to put our key in the mailbox by the house.

8. We got charged $200.00 a night for this horrible place! That's ridiculous!!

9. We had finally left, happy get out of there and headed back to our town. We got to our house and unpacked our stuff and a cockroach from the hotel was in the trunk! EW!!

10th and final thing to be aware of is...

10. THIS IS NOT A RESORT OR EVEN A HOTEL, IT'S A VERY CHEAP BUT OVER PRICED, TRASHY MOTEL. DO NOT GO BY THE PICTURES! IT LOOKS NOTHING LIKE THEM!!

WARNING: DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS U WANT TO SLEEP IN A SMELLY, TRASHY, LOW QUALITY, DISGUSTING, BUG INFESTED DUMP!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jose Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is run down and unsafe
The pillars holding up the roof are not anchored, if you lean on them they slide.
The electrical wire from supplying the "resort" hangs so low across the yard a toddler can reach up and grab it.
Our room was next to a tattoo parlor.
The sheets in the bed smelled unwashed, there were a lot of bugs in the room and towels were never changed or washed.
all this cost $200/night. NOT WORTH IT.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wisconsin3348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wesley Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wesley Inn and Resort

Address: 625 S. Wells Street, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price Range: $121 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Wesley Inn and Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wesley Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing