We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small gem”
Review of Geneva Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Geneva Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

we stayed here last friday. the room was wonderful. the staff helpful and friendly. it costs more for a water view but it is worth it. very comfortable bed. lots of pillows. whirlpool in the room. the restaurant on the first floor is first rate also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glschles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maiaw9, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear glschles,
Thank you for your excellent FIVE star review! Our staff work very hard and and are proud of their efforts, and kind reviews such as yours are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 634 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

The 3 of us spend one night in a lake view room, shortening our stay in downtown Chicago to get away from the city.
The room was pretty nice; initially it was too hot to sit out on the balcony to enjoy the lake view.
We wanted to take a dip in the lake, that looked so inviting. Even with the two docks out front, swimming there did not seem practical (and evidently is not allowed), as there were no ladders or steps to get out of the water (other than wading up on the slimy lake shore). It would be great if there was a swimming area off the docks in deeper water, since this facility wants to be so much lake oriented. The front office instead directed us to the State Park beach a few blocks away; however there was hardly a beach between the road and the water, plus due to the wind direction we had to share the water with numerous dead, bloated fish.

The continental breakfast the next morning was ok (the ones at the Homewood Suites in Chicago, where we stayed prior, were so much better though...). We were hoping for something more memorable for the price. Nice touch to have a coffee setup on our floor, but the coffee was awfully weak, even in the restaurant at breakfast.

Other than that, the room and bath were well appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingDutchman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maiaw9, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear FlyingDutchman54,
Thank you for taking the time to write a note about your recent visit to The Geneva Inn.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the lack of swimming off of our pier. Unfortunately due to boat traffic and liability issues we do not allow swimming.
Our coffee service and free breakfast is enjoyed by many of our guests, and we do have a variety of hot breakfast items for additional charge.
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you want a quiet, romantic hotel with an exceptional view of Geneva Lake, then this is your place. Slightly over-priced I thought. Coffee outside room on each floor. Free continental breakfast but go for anything on the limited (but covers the bases) menu. No privacy on balcony but it makes for conversation I guess. Wooded chairs on balcony were unbelievably uncomfortable :( Throw a few pillows on them and you'll enjoy the view even better. We had Lakeview king. Quite spacious but should be for $350 in Wisconsin? Analog TV? (seriously). Refrig, wet bar, fantastic towels, glassware, turn down service, hotel staff is wonderful - helpful - kind.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swede52497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maiaw9, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Swede 52497,
Thank you for your kind comments about our service and amenities!
We are the only Hotel on Geneva Lake with unobstructed panoramic lake views from every lake view room. Our Lakeview King rate on a Weekend in the summer is $325 plus 5.5% tax; we do not charge additional fees for amenities such as WiFi, Parking, Fitness Room, Continental Breakfast... fees you may find charged at other local hotels.
Landview rooms are less expensive, and rates are lower during the week and from November through May, so please join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I are in our early 60's. We have spent a number of nights at the Geneva Inn over the past 15 years both during the summer months, as well as the winter months.

We have also purchased gift certificates for our adult children so they too could spend time there & have recommended this hotel to other family members & clients.

Up until this most recent visit over the Memorial Day weekend, we have truly enjoyed this hotel.

However, we did not feel the cost of their Landview Room (our reservation was for two nights), coupled with the overall service provided by the Inn was worth the money.

There were a number of issues from lack of table side service on their outdoor patio, which opened Memorial Day weekend, to their knowledge or I should say lack of knowledge, of the cost of a taxi ride into downtown Lake Geneva.

On previous visits, the Inn provided their own shuttle service to/from downtown. We were advised this service would be put back in place during the summer months.

I'm not sure why you would not have this service available during the 3 day Memorial Day weekend, which is effectively the start of summer?!?!

They called the taxi service for us they use. Not sure of the miles from the Inn to downtown? However, drive time might be all of 10 minutes. The fee was $15.00, which we felt was a little high?

After having dinner, we had the restaurant contact a different taxi provider. The cost to the hotel was $8.00.

When I inquired at the Inn desk the next morning as to what the cost of a taxi is to downtown, the person advised "I don't know". Let me call the service we use and ask.

I would think if the shuttle was eliminated/not in operation and a taxi service secured, the Inn would negotiate the most cost effective rate & be able to advise their guests accordingly.

When we plan our next trip to Lake Geneva, which will be in July, my wife & I will be staying at another property in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maiaw9, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Dave C,
We appreciate your loyalty over the years, and we are sorry that you were disappointed with your recent visit.
Many of our summer staff are not yet available to work on Memorial Day weekend, and we regret that we were not able to serve you on the Patio at the time you requested. The complimentary shuttle service that we offer when we can is also affected by staffing.
The local cab services have a variety of pricing determined by how many passengers, if the cab is scheduled in advance, to town or from town & etc. I am sorry that we did not have that information available for you. There are a number of cab companies in the area and we do not specifically recommend one over the other since we cannot control their service.
We hope you will join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe land view king room. Lots of amenities including...turn down service with bottled water and chocolate mints, more bottled water, lots drinking glasses, thick/soft towels, complementary movies, workout room with changing rooms across the hallway, great bathroom with soaking tub and separate very large shower and neat lighting options, refrigerator, robes, elevator, a pretty atrium, morning coffee on each floor along with a complimentary continental breakfast which included assorted meats and cheeses with croissants, pastries, cereal, fruit, coffee, tea, and juice served in the restaurant with very nice lake views and options to pay for other hot breakfast items.

The room was warm and inviting. An easy drive to Main Street. I like that this hotel is close by far enough away from the hub of town. The hotel is right on Geneva Lake and has immediate access to the lake shore path, a must see at various points along the lake, whether the starting point is outside this hotel or from other points around the lake.

Room Tip: You may request a lake view room, however, they do have a large patio to enjoy the lake views if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maiaw9, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear DOChicago,
Thank you for your wonderful detailed review!
We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit, and detailing our amenities as well as the value of our location is very helpful to other travelers looking for a great get away.
Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I needed a get away from our six children. The Geneva Inn is perfection. from the front desk to the beautiful lake that you can sit out and view lake Geneva and all its wonder. The rooms are incredible, We have never had such a quite room ,The beds we slept like a baby. The very first hour we were there they brought to the room a bottle of champagne and cheese and crackers and fruit. At the end of the night They came to the room asking if we needed turn down service and gave us bottled water and chocolate. The decks that each room has that face the lake are big and beautiful but if you are a smoker YOU CAN NOT SMOKE ON DECKS OR IN ROOMS. This is a six star resort but if I can say its not for children and there is no pool, Its really just a time out from the world. Many if not most were 65 and older. I would stay here again It is very costly $335.00 a night. But so worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayme V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maiaw9, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Jayme V,
Thank you for your SIX star award!
We aspire to great service , top quality and amazing memories, so your kind comments are truly appreciated by staff and management!
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary. My top priority was to have a clear view of Lake Geneva and a balcony to enjoy it. The setting was perfect. The grounds are well kept and it is right on the walking path around the lake. There are boat slips here and boat rentals are one block away. Morning coffee service is just outside you door and a continental breakfast was included in the restaurant with great views of the lake. The breakfast was a bit weak, the croissants tasted of freezer burn and the Danishes were institutional. Yogurt, fruit, sliced ham, cheese, and bread was available, but these days most continental breakfasts are much better. The room was average sized and did include a fridge, DVD/VCR (???VCR), great whirlpool bath, bathrobes, desk, and 2 comfortable chairs. The TV is an older, smaller flat screen. It was quiet, no noises from other rooms. Service was very good.

Room Tip: Spend the money for a lake view, the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgal058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maiaw9, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Travelgal058,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your visit!
We are truly fortunate that our location is unique as the ONLY Hotel located directly on Geneva Lake, with unobstructed panoramic full on lake views and nothing between you and the view but clean air!
We are glad you appreciate how quiet our guest rooms can be, and our staff appreciates your kind comments about their service.
Please join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3.8 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
464 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
543 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
465 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
123 reviews
3.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Inn

Address: N2009 S Lakeshore Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-4377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range: $106 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geneva Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only Hotel and Restaurant located directly on the breathtaking shores of Geneva Lake, The Geneva Inn and The Geneva Inn Restaurant and Lounge offers unique features such as a private lake view patio for unforgettable outdoor events, two meeting rooms, great accommodations and first class dining. Free Parking, Free WiFi, Full Service Dining Room, and Saturday and Sunday Brunch. Boat Slips are free for diners, and for an additional charge for overnight guests. Bring your Boat and enjoy Geneva Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Geneva Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Geneva Lake
Geneva Inn Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing