We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and easy”

Sopra: An American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Sopra: An American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 94 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sopra, an American Bistro, the premier Lake Geneva dining experience. Ingredient-driven chef/owner, Simon Cumming, designs American bistro classics with a fresh, farm-to-table approach. Using the finest seasonal ingredients, you'll be treated to a fine dining experience, in a casual, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. In addition to the thoughtfully selected wine list, Sopra also boasts an extensive selection of micro-brew beers and a full selection of spirits, including specialty house martinis. Situated in the heart of downtown Lake Geneva, located within walking distance to The Cove and all Lake Geneva hotels. Also, easy driving distance from the Grand Geneva and Abbey Resort.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and easy”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Chose Sopra for a more relaxed dinner option. Definitely the right decision. Pastas ordered were the gnocchi and the paperadelle ..gnocchi has a smoked mozzarella cream sauce that was a bit too smokey and creamy cheesey for my tastes. But the paperadelle with duck and leeks was perfect. Thanks to Aubrey giving us info on the menu choices. Ambiance was very comfortable too. Exposed brick and balanced lighting worked well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    62
    25
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food in center of town”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Sophisticated decor and inventive menu. A bit noisy but people enjoy the ambiance. Must make reservations and check for days and times open.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lawrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another great visit!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in, we were treated like family. We love eating at the bar. Totally enjoyed the specials. The tuna tartare app was so incredible we got another one to go for a late night snack. A wonderful experience and highlight of our night out on the town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

It didn’t knock our socks off but was good enough to make for a pleasant dining experience. On a Saturday night, it was busy and noisy and service was a bit spotty but at least friendly. Appetizers (lobster wontons and warmed olives) were ok. Pastas were the preferred entrees at our table, and they were all declared to be delicious but overabundant. Unfortunately you are not allowed to split orders here, a rule that should be reconsidered in light of the quantity served. Anyway, it’s a nice, enjoyable bistro.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kutskurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty good this time, but...”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have a love hate relationship with Sopra. Food and service, like every restaurant in this area, is uneven. This time our server was great and the food very good. Busy night, so we ended up on the second floor. But that was OK. What could be a dull room has been fixed up with some very nice paintings.

So good food and good server, but why does it take so long to get a drink? 15 minutes! Well, only one bartender. Someone should notify Human Rights Watch for the abusive workload for him and his customers. Getting your drinks served in a timely manner is a problem we have experienced here in previous visits. Secondly, while not outrageous, this is not a cheap place. So why the heavy-weight wine glasses. I think I could drop them from our second floor table to the sidewalk and they would not break.

I am critical at the end of this review because this is a lovely place and there food is good more often than not. They are so close to being a destination restaurant but can't seem to make the final leap.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twotravelers1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sopra: An American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Sopra: An American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing