We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a grand time at the Grand Geneva”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had a grand time at the Grand Geneva”
Reviewed October 18, 2006

Decided to visit beautiful Lake Geneva over the Columbus Day weekend, and enjoy the great fall colors and the Lake Geneva Oktoberfest as well.

We decided to get away from the crowds of downtown Lake Geneva, and stayed at the Grand Geneva Resort... great choice.

From the moment you enter the grounds, you wind through some beautiful sights of flowery gardens and wonderful golf course views.

The facility is absolutely first class, and the rooms are spacious, private and comfortable. We had a nice balcony with a view of the golf course and fountain lake.

Dinner at the Geneva ChopHouse was 5-Star all the way. Great food and great service. We also enjoyed the spa and healthclub facilities. We didn't have enough time for a horseback ride, but they have a nice looking stable and trails right on the grounds.

We highly recommend the Grand Geneva Resort for a romantic getaway - it really is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the Geneva Lakes area.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyd1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    435
    198
    118
    84
See reviews for
535
810
43
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2006

From the second we strode off of Route 12 into the grounds of the Grand Geneva Resort, we could not believe that we were actually in Wisconsin. It was as if they transformed the rolling hills of say, "The Sound Of Music", and moved them to the resort. The best part about the resort is that there is a little bit of everything for you to do. The kids have the pool and Timber Ridge Water Park. My wife could enjoy a first class Spa treatment. I, of course, could not wait to take on the brute and the highlands for a challenging morning of golf. Unfortunately for me, we were having such a good time at the waterpark that I had no time for golf. I guess I will have to return another time for that. There was plenty of staff around to answer our questions and treat us well as their guests. Our room happened to overlook the golf course, a lake, and some beautiful trees that had started to change into their fall colors. It was truly magnificent. Since downtown Lake Geneva was only minutes away we only had one meal at the resort. It was Sunday brunch. Even my picky 9 year old found a plate full of food she liked at the brunch. We we're only sorry we didn't have another day. We missed golf and the haunted hayride. We will be back

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

This past weekend my family decided we needed a relaxing get away that we could all enjoy. My children are eight & thirteen years old. We chose Grand Geneva in Wisconsin. We arrived early and to our surprise a room was ready. The room was wonderful. It was decorated in warm & comfortable colors. We asked for a cot, which was brought up immediately. It was nice to have a coffeepot in the room along with a blow dryer (less to pack). When we awoke the Sunday paper was at our door. I must say I have stayed in many hotels in my life but this one had the most comfortable bed ever!! I must find out what type of mattress they used. It was great in the morning because the room was so dark that we all slept a bit later than usual. We loved the delicious all you can eat brunch in the morning. The price was right and we were full the entire day. The hotel itself is very comfortable and very pleasing to the eye. At night we relaxed in the beautiful lobby, enjoying cocktails, and listening to the piano player. During the day our family enjoyed the waterpark at Timber Lodge. The slides, lazy river, pools, and Jacuzzi were all a blast for the entire family. Although we did not golf, the course is beautiful. In the past we have enjoyed the different spa treatments. The staff at the Grand Geneva was all kind and welcoming. The nicest part about Grand Geneva is that it offers something for everyone. We loved the location because in minutes we were in the town of Lake Geneva enjoying shopping, a boat ride, and more good food. I look forward to returning to The Grand Geneva and would highly recommend it for a fun and relaxing getaway.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank StacyBinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Subburbs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2006

I did not think one night away could be so refreshing. We arrived at Grand Geneva around noon on Saturday and had no problem checking in early. By 12:30 I was in a robe and slippers sipping tea and waiting for one of the best massages I have ever had. The spa was beautiful and the service was excellent.
The room was clean and the comfortable and had a great view of the lake and golf course.
We had time before dinner so we were able to take a long walk on the grounds, taking in all the amazing fall color. Everything about the location was relaxing, especially the comfortable chairs overlooking the 18th green, a beautiful lake and water fountains. It was the perfect spot to catch the sunset.
We ended the evening at the Geneva Chop House where the service was exceptional and the prime rib delicious. It was so nice not to have to leave the facility. We were able to enjoy an after dinner drink by the fireplace in the lounge before calling it a night.
The next morning it was back to the spa for a steam.
Overall the experience was a great getaway from the city and we would definitely go back again.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank taylor18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

we stayed at the Grand Geneva Resort and Spa and had such a relaxing and enjoyable weekend. The hotel is beautiful and you didn't have to leave the resort to go to the restaurants or pool area which we really liked. The lounge was very comfortable and relaxing. It has a fireplace and the view is just amazing. The service was incredible. We ate at the Chophouse which was fabulous, we couldn't believe the amount of food you get and the food was fantastic. Overall I would say this resort is probably the best that we have stayed at and we definitely will go back.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank seeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

My husband and I took a long weekend getaway from Chicago to Lake Geneva. We are so happy with our choice to stay at Grand Geneva. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, and the service is great. Our room on the third floor overlooking the golf course/lake was perfect...always clean. We really enjoyed our relaxation at the spa, and the restaurants at the resort are wonderful. We highly recommend the Chophouse. Overall, our stay was amazing. You cannot go wrong with Grand Geneva.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OctoberHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We just returned from Lake Geneva after staying 5 nights at the Grand Geneva Resort. We have mixed feelings about our stay.

Positives:
Two very beautiful golf courses.
Our room on the first floor overlooked the eighteenth hole and we could walk right out and enjoy the view from our tiny patio, or they had adirondacks throughout the back to sit and enjoy the view.
The Brissago had an incredible meal - we enjoyed the 5 course experience and it was worth it! - with some of the best pizza I've ever had.
The indoor and outdoor pools were very nice, with plenty of seating and towels.
The Cafe served ice cream and starbucks from early morning to late night.
There was a trolley to take you to and from the horse stables, the Timberlodge hotel - with waterpark - and back to the Grand Resort.

Negatives:
There never seemed to be enough employees - and any employee you met would openly complain about anything. They really don't want to help you if they can help it. I went to the spa to set up an appointment and she told me they were closed and to call reservations instead. They weren't closing for another 5 minutes.
Housekeeping wouldn't return the front desks request to see if they had finished our room or not, so even though check-in was at 4:00, we couldn't get into our room until 5:45 when the front desk clerk went and checked it herself.
They booked us in a King bed suite although we asked for a double bed suite. When we complained, they moved us when a double bed room opened up during our stay. It was remarkably larger than the king bed suite, yet both were the same price.
The rate they charged us per night was $40.00 more than what the legal statement on the door said they could charge a night.
They charged us for a waterpark visit and never told us or gave us the passes. We found out when we recieved our check-out bill. They said that they had left us a voicemail to come and pick up our passes - which we never received. It turned out that it was a package deal and ended up being cheaper than a regular nights rate - but we lost out on being able to use the waterpark since they never gave us our passes before checking out. Mind you - we were there for five nights.
The building itself is quite unattractive from the exterior, very dark and boring horizontal arts and crafts idea.
The interior is very low 8' ceilings, quite dark and dank smelling.
I really don't think the resort is handicapped accessible. We could not find elevators and there were no signs, so we dragged our luggage up and down three flights of stairs when checking in and out.
There are NO walking, jogging trails. They only offer the main resort road that leads to the ski chalet as a "walking trail" and refuse to let you walk on the golf course trails. As we walked we were constantly being passed by maintenance golf carts and trucks.

All in all, we enjoyed our double bed room suite and the golfing and Lake Geneva in general, but I don't know that we will definitely go back. We are still crossing our fingers that the credit card will be charged correctly as there were many problems with our final bill. Check yours!

Helpful?
8 Thank Smartymarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
602 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing